Pick of the Week

There isn’t a lot coming out this week, but there is one that I am guardedly looking forward to. Even though I often poke some fan-girl fun at Christine Feehan, I do still faithfully grab all of her books as soon as I can, and this week’s Leopard’s Fury won’t be an exception. But even though I still read all of her series, some recent changes in tone and feel have made the books hit or miss for me. I did check out the excerpt that was recently released for Leopard’s Fury, and I can confirm that, as per my Feehan Female Formula:

  • the female lead is indeed small and curvy
  • she has long, thick dark hair
  • works hard, but doesn’t have much
  • is a brilliant baker, so has the homemaker thing down

Still to be determined:

  • sweetly submits to his every command, usually involving using the word “honey”
  • wears floor-length skirts and soft, vintage blue jeans
  • is at some point bought ruffled boots by her leading man

So, my pick of the week is Leopard’s Fury. Let’s see how this one goes.

leopard's furySynopsis…

With her own bakery in San Antonio, Evangeline Tregre made a new life far from the brutal lair of shifters she was born into. Though she is all too aware of her leopard-shifter blood, she never felt the sensation of a wild animal stirring inside her. Not until Alonzo Massi walked into her bakery. The powerful shifter is as irresistible as he is terrifying, but his icy demeanor tells her to keep her distance.

Alonzo knows better than to let himself get involved with someone like Evangeline. She doesn’t deserve the type of danger that follows him, or the threat of his Amur leopard. But even with his lean muscle and iron will, Alonzo isn’t strong enough to stay away from the one woman who can make him feel at peace. And when their secret lives draw a mortal threat, Alonzo unleashes the feral passion he keeps pent up inside himself.

I liked Alonzo in the last book, so hopefully that will translate into this one. So, yes or no for you on Leopard’s Fury? Did anything else catch your fancy this week?

16 thoughts on “Pick of the Week

  1. Iain says:

    yea… sometimes reading all these PNR and Romance novels I feel like I know way too much about women’s clothing… so much description sometimes… not to mention acronyms like FMPs and LBDs,

    • kaleigha says:

      Yeah, a while back someone mentioned how Nalini Singh will stop everything to mention in detail what someone is wearing or doing. I hadn’t noticed it before, but now I see it all the time and it makes me laugh. There was story – I think in the recent novella collection – where she mentioned that they were eating a dip or something. Then described the ingredients. Then mentioned that the character chewed. Then swallowed. Christine is the same, but it makes me laugh because all of these chicks always dress the same.

      • Iain says:

        Yeah… azteclady… I perused her blog to get the details in her review… if I’m reading an ebook and get tired of excessive descriptions, I can just skim ahead and focus on the dialogue…its harder with audiobooks… so I usually just quit audiobooks when I’d rather skim them

  2. Rosa Duron says:

    (In advance, sorry for my english, but I hate this book so much that I don care my gramatica) OMG don´t bother this book is awful really awful, I dont know who this writer is anymore….. So no velvet helmet, but the main caracther is the worst he is a stoker a criminal and a murder but it is ok because in his heart is loyal and bla bla bla… Evangeline has a really original back history but it does not matter because Feehan do not spend much time in that, for me thats the problem I really do not care about the main character it is all the same every single book, bad temper male, nice women (always virgin) a violent inner leopard.
    It just me or she changes the dinamic whit the leopards in this book??
    Why in all the new books in every series of feehan are Russian guys in it?? she has a russian fetiche now?? Why all the russian are in a mafia??
    I dont know what is worst Feehan for write the same book every year or me for reading it…

    • Iain says:

      I think the problem is Feehan reached enough success early on, and churns out so many books between her 3-4 similar series every year… that it doesn’t matter how bad/repetitve the plots are, because enough people are paying for them to make them profitable…

      It’s the difference between an author who publishes 1 book per year or 1 book every few years, and an author who publishes 2-3-4-5+ books in a single year

      For Feehan in particular… I find it funny that she publishes so much that she has to write “Never Before Published” on her newest releases so her fans can keep track…

      • kaleigha says:

        You know, it is true. Nalini, Ilona have multiple series, but each one has its own tone and voice and world. Christine’s are blending together in pretty much every way. The characters look the same, speak the same, dress the same, think the same. There are always Russians and human trafficking and “honey this” in their “soft, vintage blue jeans”. It is like one big series now.

    • kaleigha says:

      I am finding a lot of the books seeming to be pretty much the same, too. Just a change of character name, and that is about it. I still laugh at how here, like the Carpathians, each hero is more deadly than the last. And each female looks, acts, and talks the same as the others. It is getting sort of funny.

  3. pals20 says:

    Without being much of a CF reader, I can guarantee “sweetly submits to his every command, usually involving using the word “honey”” would definitely be in the book. That’s how alphahole heroes and bakery owner heroines work.

Leave a Reply

