Welp. Bored.

Actually, I never get bored, so the title of the post is a lie. But it is a better title than “nothing has been interesting enough to post for a week and I didn’t want you to think I was dead”. I am working my way through Luke Cage on Netflix, season four of Sons of Anarchy on Blu-ray, and the first Dream-Hunters book from Sherrilyn Kenyon. None of them has grabbed my attention as yet, so I am mixing them up to keep things fresh. Fresh-ish, anyways.

On the Dark-Hunter front, I am a bit torn. Chronicles of Nick Nick is sweet and funny and very engaging. Dark-Hunter Nick needs a punch in the throat. I am having some difficulty reconciling that the two characters are one in the same. I started with the Chronicles of Nick, so part of me is majorly disappointed by the whiny douchebag he turned into as an adult. Blah-blah-mommy-blah. I hope he pulls himself together, or Acheron kills him, whichever comes first. Does he get any better, or is he going to stay all emo and annoying through the rest of the series?

And I think it is time for another site redesign. I am thinking of a new look, maybe black and grey and gold, if I can  pull something off. Nothing too exciting, but it will keep me amused.

On to you. What have you been watching/reading/planning lately? Has any excitement come your way, or are you finding things a little dull, too?

18 thoughts on “Welp. Bored.

  1. Iain says:

    Nick just gets worse and worse really… if you read the vamp hunter twin’s book, I think you know the catalyst… and he still gets decent page time wt least until Acheron’s book… then I think he hits the backburner…

    My reading has included Kara Gillian #3-7, Heartstrikers #1-3 and a few others… got a few new releases to catch up on still… Hellequin 6, Expanse 5-6, etc

    Heartstrikers is the closest to Dragon Kin I’ve found, mixed with some similarities to ML Brennan’s Generation V plot

    • kaleigha says:

      I can’t wait for Nick to take a powder, honestly. I just got the latest Chronicles of Nick book today, so hopefully I can read a book where I still like him to get through the ones where he is a tool.

      • PhoenixFyre says:

        It’s NIck’s future son I am worried about. He will be more vicious and powerful if NIck can’t change the future.

        Dark-Hunter Nick is the reason for Nick in DH is the reason for Chronicles of Nick where he goes in the past to change his future and protect the ones he loves…even Acheron. But, you should read Dark-Hunter up to Time Untime before Chronicles of Nick. CON also had many secrets answered from DH that will spoil DH if you read it second.

        As for the reason Nick in the future is the way he is….hello…the Malchai is born to destroy and is more evil and powerful than Noir and Azura. Nick does have a chance to change his future because of his mother, Nekoda and all his good friends that love him…including Acheron. Nick meeting Simi at a much younger age also helped even though in CON he still doesn’t know that Acheron is Simi’s daddy. But you can already see small changes being made. By the way, if you read the books that Sherrilyn has put together on her website…Dream-Hunter and Were-Hunter are all in order to which to read first. I followed SK’s reading order where it made more sense.

        I can’t wait for the next CON book. It will be FANTASTIC and can’t wait till Nick and is son have to fight it out…

        PS…. Sorry I haven’t caught up with my up-dates. I just returned my six grandchildren to their parents after a long summer. Two of which are two year old toddlers.

        I haven’t even had a chance to read the whole summer. Got to worn out by the end of the day, lol.

        • kaleigha says:

          I imagine you did get worn out, for sure. I am pretty much following the order now, after starting with CoN, including the short stories. The Dream Hunters are a bit meh for me at this point, but I am just getting started on them so that might change.

  2. Iain says:

    (I tried finding the post where we discussed Hugh/Roman/Grey Wolf books post-Kate Daniels)

    If you havent noticed in all my post-flooding this morning, I got bored myself and started perusing the Ilona Andrews blog post backlog

    Just found this reference to Hugh D’Ambray’s book in a post about the necessary PG-13 rating of all Innkeeper content on the website vs published ebook smut:

    “On a related level, we had toyed with the idea of putting Hugh’s book up chapter by chapter, but in light of our current demographics, we are soooo not doing it. If it will be posted, we’ll have to do it on a password-locked member site.”

    • kaleigha says:

      I saw that, too. Part of me was all “yes! Something to look forward to every week”. And the other part of me was “no! Needs to be a mass market paperback release after Kate Daniels wraps up the main arc”. Guess I am good either way at this point.

  3. Pilar Seacord says:

    Reread Ice Bound by Tiffany Roberts. It’s a short story but I love it. Been reading Christmas romances. Christmas at the Castle by Melissa McClone loved it. Right now reading Castle in the Air by Diana Wynne Jones. A companion to Howl’s Moving Castle.

    • kaleigha says:

      You are getting into the season early! Sounds like fun. I read a few back in the old days, and I always liked a good Christmas romance.

      • Iain says:

        I read Christmas From Hell a few months ago… I dont put much effort into reading seasonally appropriate stories… I think that one came out last Christmas in the Neighbor From Hell series… a series that kinda reminds me of Dragon Kin… only its contemporary romance… but all the men in it have paranormal appetites

  4. Emily says:

    I didn’t read the other replies so if I’m repeating something, get over it. Oops, I meant “Sorry”. Geesh, I’m a grouchy witch in the mornings. lol. You might want to start reading those Dark Hunter books in order. She builds certain important characters book by book (Nick, Ash, Jaden, Savitar, and Apollymi just to name a few) That could be why you’re a bit frustrated with Nick. He’s THE Malachai who’s pretty much destined to be evil and destroy the world. He had 3 people whom he loved so much that it kept his dark side at bay, and lost them all in one night- his mother, the woman he was destined to spend his life with, and his best friend, Acheron, who was the one to kill both of the others; unintentionally of course, but still. So now, he truly HAS to cling to the memory of his mother in order to keep fighting the darkness within him. It’s going to be quite a while before those issues get resolved, but I’m sure it will be worth the wait. Kenyon is a unique author in that she doesn’t cut corners, or rush to a happy ending with her characters. Within this freaky fantasy/paranormal world, her characters are written like real people. I remember when I read Christine Feehan’s “Dark Storm” how Riley just seemed to magically recover from her mother’s death – her mother is brutally mutilated and the next day, the only thing on Riley’s mind was getting it on with Dax. I understood that she had to set aside her grief in order to move the story along, but it still really bothered me. So, as frustrating as Nick’s whining is, it’s definitely more realistic. Especially since that event could literally have caused the world’s destruction.

    • kaleigha says:

      The one that struck me as weird was I think Dark Side of the Moon, where Susan’s best friends were killed and literally an hour later she was cracking sarcastic jokes. It was weird.

      • Iain says:

        I think that’s the problem with PNR in general… Contemporary romances can tell a love story over weeks/months/years… but PNRs have the action of an Urban Fantasy, so the story gets condensed into hours/days/weeks… a lot of unrealistic moments crops up

        When I read the first Cat and Bones (Night Huntress), it was probably one of the first PNRs that told a story over a whole year that I read…

        • kaleigha says:

          What always makes me laugh is when a group of fellas – like say the BDB – have been around for hundreds if not thousands of years, but all of them find their one true love within like a two year period. One right after the other. That was one thing I can say about the Carpathians – they have covered a bit of time at this point.

      • Emily says:

        Yeah, I didn’t care much for that one either. I’ve only read it twice, and I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve read a lot of the others. That was one of those weird filler books that authors slip us from time to time. Not much for the whole Dragon theme in the past 3 books either. They were good, but haven’t given us hardly any new info for the arch of the series. Kind of how novellas work, but these are the actual full length books. That’s what I’m frustrated with.

        • kaleigha says:

          Yeah, it didn’t do much for me, either. It wasn’t bad, but it didn’t stick with me either. I so wasn’t a fan of Susan for most of the book, so that probably played a big part in my disinterest.

  5. pals20 says:

    This. This is the reason why I could not get into the Chronicles of Nick. I had seen Nick from book 1 the Dark Hunter series and adored him and understood why he changed and became the raging d*ck that he is now. And then to suddenly get Chronicles of Nick was too much of a disconnect for me. I could not get into Chronicles at all and have not read beyond book 1.

    • kaleigha says:

      It is weird for me, like two different characters with the same name. I am looking forward to seeing how his story ultimately plays out.

Leave a Reply

