Happy Endings and New Beginnings

I must be getting old, because I could swear I did a post like this not long ago. A search of the site showed me it was way back in July 2014. Huh.

Whenever I see that I series I love is wrapping up, it always gives me a feeling of loss. No one likes to say goodbye to favorite characters and worlds, and it seemed for a while that 2017 was shaping up to be a big year for finales. Turns out that “finale” might be too strong a word, though.

Come this January, we will be getting the final book from Karen Marie Moning‘s Fever series. Sort of. From what I have been seeing around, Feversong will be the end of Mac and Barrons arc, but there will be more stories to come. Karen has signed on for at least two more books set in this same world. She hasn’t shared much in the way of detail, or who will be getting their story told, but it does mean that this “final” story isn’t really a finale after all.

In February, Jeaniene Frost will release the final book of her Night Prince series. I enjoyed this one, but I would’ve been just as happy to see this one wrap up at a trilogy, as originally planned. The first three had great momentum, but I seem to have lost some of it for Into the Fire. But even though we are winding down Vlad and Leila’s story, it has recently been confirmed that Jeaniene is going back into the Night Huntress World once more. Next up? Ian’s story. I have hoped for this one since the beginning, so I am very happy this is another world that will continue in some way.

There are actually two series in March that will be taking a new direction. Anne Bishop‘s very popular The Others series is set to wrap up at book five, Etched in Bone. But while it may be the end of the stories focused on Meg Corbyn and the Lakeside Courtyard, it has recently been announced that a new book will be released in 2018 that will be set in Thaisia and feature a new character named Vicki DeVine. And it looks like the story after that will be about the folks in Bennett and Prairie Gold.

Also in March comes the final book from Christine Feehan‘s Sisters of the Heart series, Bound Together. But once again, it seems like this is just the end of this part of the story. Starting in 2018, the psychically gifted spy/assassins of Viktor Prakenskii’s brutal Russian school will be getting their own spin-off series, Torpedo Ink.

April will see the end of the Chicagoland Vampires series from Chloe Neill. Well, sort of. This past August, a deal was made for the first two books in a new series set in this same world. The first book follows what happens when a brutal murder threatens the peace between humans and supernatural creatures, and it will focus on an all-new heroine. I will be keeping my eyes open for more details, but I do hope that the shifters will play a decent sized role.

Those are the ones that we know will be going on in some form. These next ones? Maybe not so much. Or at least word hasn’t tricked down to us readers yet.

I didn’t know that Faith Hunter‘s recent Soulwood series is supposed to be a trilogy. Really, I thought it was a new series. If that is the case, things will be wrapping up next year with the release of Flame in the Dark. Of course, she could always move on to other characters stories, people maybe like Rick since things seem to be changing for him, but I am not sure I am ready to let go of Nell. I will be hunting for more info on this one, too.

These next three fall into the I-refuse-to-let-go category. As of right now, Ilona Andrews is rumored to have not one, but two, series calling it quits in 2017. Kate Daniels is set to wrap up with book number 10, but honestly I find that hard to grasp. I could so see this series going on for several more books without slowing down at all. How do you say goodbye to Kate and Curran? Hopefully, there will be other stories set in this world (Roman. Derek. Julie. Hugh. Barabas. Christopher…you get my point) to tide us over, but that is going to be a dark day.

And even though only the first book of their Hidden Legacy series has been released at this point, I am a huge fan.Ā  Burn for Me from Ilona Andrews was one of my favorite reads of 2014, and to think that it is only contracted for three books is a major bummer. I am still holding out hope that this one gets picked up for more, though. Seriously, how can it not? Ilona Andrews can’t have their two big series end that close together. Right? Right?

Sadly, I do believe Cainsville might be a done deal, though. Kelley Armstrong is usually pretty firm when she announces something is done, and while she might revisit a world with a short story here and there, she seems to tell the story she wanted to tell and move on to something completely new. Part of me enjoys that, but part always hopes for more.

Can you add any to the ending-or-changing direction series for 2017? I don’t remember a year like this in…ever, actually. I have seen things end, or spin-offs start, but not in the numbers we will be looking at next year. Do you have any predictions for where things will go for these “new chapters”, or are you as in the dark as I am?

17 thoughts on “Happy Endings and New Beginnings

  1. shannon c says:

    Oh my goodness….Ilona Andrews….I will be in major depression with the ending of those two series. Kate Daniels is my all time fav. I hope there is something else planned!!

    Glad to hear that Anne Bishop is continuing in the same world. I also really enjoy that series.

    • kaleigha says:

      I know, right? I figure from a professional and financial point of view they must plan on at least one of them continuing on past 2017, surely?

  2. Monika says:

    I have to say I can’t bring myself to care one way or another, except for Ilona Andrews. I do hope she will make the Hidden Legacy series more than just three books, and didn’t she post a longish snippet of the Hugh book a while back? Also I hope she will continue with the Innkeeper Chronicles, so that would sustain me, at least partially.
    Karen Marie Moning; I haven’t even finished the “filler” book, the series has just somehow lost its momentum.
    I really, really loved Vlad and Leila’s story, except for the last book which sort of left me feeling disconnected. I still feel the way Vlad and Leila meet (before they really meet) is one of the most compelling beginnings in the genre. The Night Huntress series was one of those I was really sorry to see end and I am very much looking forward to Ian’s story.
    I haven’t tackled the Soulwood books yet, so I can’t tell whether I would prefer it to Jane Yellowrock, which I love. So I might not mind if Faith Hunter then had more time again to devote to Jane Yellowrock.

    • kaleigha says:

      I was kind of bummed in a way when they mentioned maybe doing Hugh’s book online like Innkeeper. Although it is great of them to do that, I like the thought of Hugh having a “book” book, if you know what I mean. Ah, Ian. My absolute favorite – so cannot wait for his story. I think what has me most excited about Vlad’s last book is that his story will be set up in this one – and we will meet his better half.

  3. gallifreyan1218 says:

    As a member of the Beast Claws (the Faith Hunter street team), I actually talked to Faith on facebook about Soulwood. She has said the initial contract is for three books, and if they sell really well, it has the potential to continue. The first book did well, but Faith lost a parent about two weeks before the second book came out, so wasn’t able to be as heavily involved in marketing the book as she did with book one. Book two seems to still be doing well, but we have to make sure to push push push!!!

    Books one and two were REALLY good, and I ADORE Nell. So get the word out, make sure people get their copies, read them, and write good reviews to spread the word. šŸ™‚

    We might not be able to do much about all the other series ending next year, but we can help Nell keep going!!!

  4. gallifreyan1218 says:

    Oh, and to comment on the rest — I am going to be emotionally devastated all next year… two Ilona series ending? (god, it would be amazing if the Hidden Legacy got a few more books!) And the end of Meg (at least as the main character, I can imagine her showing up or being mentioned in other Others books)

    I’m lucky in that the other series you mentioned I still have on my to-read, but I am feeling the pain of loss already on Kate and Meg and potentially Nell and it’s heartbreaking!!!

    • kaleigha says:

      Yeah, I haven’t seen one year where there are so many totally different series wrapping up (or changing direction, whichever). It is weird, and a bit disconcerting.

  5. Iain says:

    I read a lot of these as well… Hidden Legacy, Kate Daniels, Chicagoland Vampires, Others, Night Huntress World… luckily most are continuing on in one form or another…

    I also have a bunch more ending it seems… Hellequin Chronicles, Iron Seas (hopefully finally… writing it now after long hiatus) and some trilogies in several genres: Linesman (might become an expanded universe), Shades of Magic, and Kingmaker Chronicles

    Might have missed a few since I’m sporadic in updating my future releases TBR shelf… but that’s more than enough regardless

  6. cheryl says:

    Dang it…. Hellequin and the barely found and loved Linesman series both ending, geez.
    I am gonna be so bummed. Wait, I am bummed now just thinking about it. Sigh.
    New authors are so hard to find, at least, ones that I really love their writing and unique stories.
    Eileen Wilks series in the World of the Lupi seems to be winding down and that list makes a big hole in my favorite author stories that I follow.

    • kaleigha says:

      I had thought that World of the Lupi had already wrapped up a while back since there was such a long period with no word of it at all. Same as the Downside Ghosts books from Stacia Kane – there has been no word at all about anything that it makes me wonder if there will ever be any more books.

      • Iain says:

        There’s been SOME news on Downside Ghosts… she said she turned in a first draft to her editor LAST summer (2015)… not much news since… there was high hopes that her book coming out Feb 2016 was in fact Downside 6, but that was Made For Sin, her first published thing in awhile not including the Downside anthology that was 75% re-releases…

        Similar is Kelly Gay’s Charlie Madigan series… it was dropped years ago and the fifth book was nearing completion as an indie release, then the author got a new YA publishing contract and backburner’d the book for the foreseeable future…

        Authors like these I just give up on… if it ever comes out I might check it out, but there are so many other reliable releases to read that then again I might not…

  7. Kathybaug says:

    Diana Rowland”s Kara Gillian series is ending in 2017. I know she made many people mad when she changed heroes in mid-stream, but it’s been an interesting series for me. I just finished a re-read of the series and I am impressed with the little hints she dropped early in the books that became clear later in the series. Great world-building, sort of paranormal with mysterious elements that are slowly evolving. Light on romance but I don’t mind for a change šŸ™‚

    • kaleigha says:

      I hadn’t heard about that one. I so enjoy things more on the second read through, especially if you marathon, too. I find, like you say, little things I missed the first go round, or when I did a stand-alone read.

Leave a Reply

