It’s Like the Book Version of Grounhog Day

I have a few goals to achieve before 2016 wraps up. One of them is to get my TBR pile below 50 – which is doable. And to finish the Dark-Hunter books up to Acheron – which is also very on track. Yay me. And I am still on my anti-YA thing, too. So you can imagine my surprise when my attention got caught out of the blue by none other than Harry Potter.

Yes, Harry Potter. I went to get my car serviced, and I had forgotten to take a book. The dealership had a little library, and I randomly picked up Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone. Well, four hours later (after they had apparently forgotten I was there, but that is another story) I had finished the first book and was ready for the second. It worked out perfectly, too – I remembered enough from the movies to be able to follow who was who and what everything meant, but I had seen the movies long enough ago that I had forgotten enough that I wasn’t spoiled for the story. All of them are on for free on the Canadian Amazon site through Kindle Unlimited. Bonus.

So, Harry Potter was probably my reading highlight for the last couple of weeks. I haven’t built a shrine or anything, but I did very much enjoy them so far. The truly funny thing is that this will actually be the third time I have bought the books – but the first time I have read them. I had the whole series in their original adult hardcover style, like so…

harry-potter-adult

…but I got rid of them in an early book purge. They were a weird size and always looked out of place on my shelf. So I decided to pick them up again, but in this style…

tumblr_nf6rcmUBR11sx5u6eo1_1280.jpg

Of course, they disappeared in my un-haul when I decided I was over young adult. Sigh. So now, it is round three (four if you count the free Kindle versions) of my Harry Potter book buying. I quite debated between several looks, but I decided to indulge my strange fetish for UK paperbacks and try this style for a change…

harry_potter_new

So, there you have it. Sometimes I just have to shake my head at myself. I am late to the party again, but at least I have done my part to support J.K. Rowling.

Are there any out there like me who haven’t given this a shot yet? What is the most times you have ever bought the same book or series? I think this is tied with the Throne of Glass books from Sarah J. Maas for me – which reminds me, I really do need to check that out next year. I wonder how many more times I will be getting that one…

15 thoughts on “It’s Like the Book Version of Grounhog Day

  1. dougmeeks says:

    I never got past book Harry Potter book 3 but I did see all the movies which I understand kept to the books pretty well. Keep up the Dark-Hunter books but after it being one of my favorite series of all time the 2 books I read after Acheron were serious disappointments and I have given it up, I read a couple of the Nick books but they also did not catch my attention well enough to make me read anymore of them sadly.

    • kaleigha says:

      I have been giving Acheron the evil eye just based on the size of that sucker, honestly. His and Styxx’s books will take a while to get through, for sure. The good thing is that I just finished the Dream Hunter, where Tory is introduced, so that has me intrigued. But still, those are two monster books to tackle.

      • Iain says:

        Acheron and Styxx can really be looked at as 2 books in 1 binding (Acheron moreso than Styxx)… they both tell a pretty cohesive 12,000yrs ago Greece backstory… then there is a seperator and it jumps ahead to present day to tell a separate but connected story… When I was reading, I didn’t realize Soteria = Tory until I reached Acheron’s book and did some google searching

        • kaleigha says:

          That should be interesting – mucho torture, but still interesting – to see way back when since it has only been mentioned to this point.

  2. Christine says:

    I saw all of the movies, but never read the books until recently. I actually just finished listening to the last book about two or three months ago. I loved listening to the books! Jim Dale does such a great job with all of the different voices and some of them really sound like the people from the movies! I started listening to audio books several months ago, and the Harry Potter series are still my favorite ones that I have listened to so far.

  3. cheryl says:

    Never read the books and watched the movies but wasn’t blown away by it when it got to,however, many movies … I got bored with it. I always thought the books were probably better than the movies but just never kept me interested enough to try.
    I am jonesing for a new Faith Hunter book or Eileen Wilks (new one coming out in December)
    So far away.

    • kaleigha says:

      The movies actually freaked me out at times, what with giant snakes and spiders and all. It always made me wonder if they could really be considered kids movies.

  4. Iain says:

    The early Harry Potter movies are more true to the book than the later ones, mostly because the books got so long… book 1 is 300pgs maybe… book 5 is around 800… she just couldn’t stop writing about side plots throughout the school year

    I read Harry Potter a LOOOONG time ago… my Grandma brought the first 2 books over with her as gifts during one of her visits from UK as a kid…

    I didn’t buy too many books as a kid… went to the library a lot… I bought some books in college and after, but not many… my main book buying has been post-Kindle, so 1 purchase and its in the cloud forever…

    The movies… and the books… get darker as the series progresses… and as the characters get older… in hindsight, its crazy how cutesy the earliest books are considering how evil Voldemort & Co. ARE

    • kaleigha says:

      It’s true…I decided on the UK paperback editions, which look like fun. But I do have to wonder how those monstrous books in the middle will hold up since they are so darn big.

    • kaleigha says:

      And it wasn’t like I didn’t have the books (a few times) to use as an excuse, either. For me it is always the age-old problem – read the books and spoil the movie, or watch the movie and spoil the books. Never know which to do first.

      • Iain says:

        I usually only do 1 medium… watch the movie or read the book… sometimes a movie makes me want to read the book just because a movie exists…

        If its one or the other, though, you should probably watch then read since most people say “The book was better”… so less chance of disappointment at the end…

        One of my few exceptions was I read the Golden Compass book and 2 followups after seeing the movie and having the rest of the trilogy never be made because of the 2007 Writer’s Strike…

        • kaleigha says:

          Yep, that is always my battle, but if it is a situation where I have already read the book and the movie comes out later, I am all rabid fan-girl. Usually I end up disappointed, but it hasn’t stopped me yet.

Leave a Reply

