Other Stuff

I know I have been a bit quiet the last few weeks, mostly because there hasn’t been a ton to bring up. But also, there have been a few behind the scenes moments that have crept up, and I thought I would do one post to clear the air in case anyone had similar concerns. I hope this doesn’t come off as whiny, since I mean it only to answer a few issues which have been brought up by readers here. Some of these are variations on the same theme, so bear with me. This is guaranteed to be long winded.

It was brought to my attention that I can unfairly tend to focus on certain authors while barely giving others a passing mention. Why is that? Do I get freebies out of it? The answer is yes I do focus more on some authors, and no I don’t get anything out of it. Well, let me rephrase and say that in all my years of blogging, this is the grand total of my “payoffs”…

IMG_0011.JPG

That is six ARCs, one print book, and just recently Ilona Andrews e-mailed me and gave me an e-pub AND a mobi copy of One Fell Sweep (and let me tell you, seeing an email from Ilona Andrews? Surreal). And I got excited for every single book I was sent. I was grateful for them all, enjoyed them all, and felt a bit guilty that I was getting them. This is such a small blog that I what I say or do doesn’t have much of an impact, so I don’t pull down copies of things left and right.  I do quite often get offered books, but since I don’t review I don’t think it is fair to accept them. Honestly, there are really only two reasons some authors get more page time than others. One big factor is how active each author is in keeping their own info updated. I can’t talk about what I don’t know, so the writers that are active on Facebook, who blog and keep their release schedule current, and who make a point to keep their readers in the loop about what is going on are the ones I talk about. The other is that, bluntly put, I like some authors more than others and so I keep better track of them. It might not be completely fair, but it is true. The ones I get excited for are the ones I stalk follow the most, so they are the ones I am most likely to talk about.

That is why I make it a point to ALWAYS state where I stand on an author and their work. You might wonder why I always yammer on about being a fan girl for Ilona Andrews, Nalini Singh, or Kelley Armstrong, or ramble on about someone being on my TBR or the fact that I haven’t read them. When I talk about Christine Feehan, I want you to know that I have every book and get them all on release day, no matter how many times I roll my eyes. When I comment on Sherrilyn Kenyon, I want you to know that I am working my way through her books on my TBR pile. That way, you know where I am coming from and can take what I say accordingly.

In a similar vein, it was also mentioned that I seem biased against indie-authors. I don’t mean to, but I can see where it comes off that way. I do very much tend to focus on traditionally published authors, and most of it comes down to what I said above – I can’t talk about what I don’t know, and in many cases it is much harder to keep track of indie releases. For example, we know that Nalini Singh’s next Guild Hunter book will be released on September 21st, 2017. But in many self-pubbed cases, you are lucky to get a weeks’ notice before a story is released. So a lot of the time, a book has already come out before I find any listing for it. I guess I should say that they just slip through the cracks. But feel free to recommend a favorite indie author for a spotlight post, or send over a review, and we can get them the page-time they deserve.

Finally, it was mentioned that I shouldn’t comment on authors I haven’t read, or I shouldn’t say I have no interest in reading something because it isn’t fair to the author. This came up after a recent cover lover post where I said that I probably wouldn’t be picking up any of the books I had featured. This is tricky because while I can see the person’s point, it was just me being honest that since I don’t read YA much anymore, I had no intention of buying any of them. I didn’t say that they sounded bad, or that I had heard bad things about them, just that they didn’t appeal to me. I do still have personal opinions, and they are bound to creep in once in a while. I am going to try and be more conscious of this from now on, because I don’t want to come off as negative about perfectly good books. It is like the Anita Blake series. I do the cover lover posts for it, and keep track of it in the new release sections, but from what a lot of you have mentioned here over the years I know it isn’t my thing. Others love it, which is great. I need to be more conscious of not letting my lack of interest in something come through in what I post.

So, very long story short – yes, I do favor certain authors and I always will. Can’t help it. Not because I get anything out of it, but because they bring me joy and work hard to publicize themselves. I own my fan-girlyness proudly. I try and be as inclusive as possible, but many self-pubbed authors do slip by me no matter how hard I try, however if there are authors you would like to see featured here just let me know. And while I might be a blogger, I am first and foremost a reader who has opinions, likes, and dislikes, and sometimes it shows. And most importantly?

ILONA ANDREWS E-MAILED ME AND SENT ME A BOOK. 

26 thoughts on “Other Stuff

  1. Kristi says:

    Well, I enjoy your blog. And, as a reader, I have: 1) favorite authors that I autobuy; 2) authors/genres I will never read for various reasons; and 3) a bunch more that I may or may not read. So, it makes perfect sense to me that you would be the same.

  2. pals20 says:

    I second what Kristi and Josephine say. Yours is one of the few blogs I actively comment on. Probably because I connect with your style – not reviews yet not a blog-blog but somewhere in between.

    If I ever get over my own laziness and start my own blog, I imagine it will be exactly like yours – fangirling over my fav authors, complaining about the size of my TBR, discussing random book related issues and talking about eccentric reader habits.

    So ignore what others may say and do what you want. At the the end of the day, it’s your blog and no one elses.

  3. Jan says:

    Although I may not comment on this blog, I follow it precisely because of the way you write it. It’s honest and fun and covers books and authors that are of interest to me as well. People are always free to comment and post other titles, authors or points of view so we get that too. I’ve picked up great info on authors I haven’t read before. I don’t follow many blogs because they try to be too much and lose something in the process. You’re real. I like it. Please keep doing what your doing. A big fan.

  4. May says:

    I normally do not comment on anything but reading this I feel I need to express my voice.

    I LOVE you blog and feel that here is a very few place now that are sincere. A lot of blog I follow became so commercial that I did not recognize.

    There already are too many fangirl blog in the world. I almost quit reading because of them.

    Just be you. And I think there are many people like me who like your blog the way they are. Please do not change.

    Here is the few safe place I have in romance world that it is REAL, not the commercial tools.

  5. Barb (boxermommyreads) says:

    I enjoy visiting your blog and it’s YOUR blog so can’t you write what you want? You are never rude or cruel, so what’s the harm in showing some new books but saying you may never read them? Everyone has personal tastes and hey, you’re showcasing them just by releasing them right? I’m pretty sure EVERYONE has their favorite authors so I guess I just don’t see the problem.

  6. cheryl says:

    I have just read all the comments and I agree with all of them. I post on only two blogs and you are the number one spot and I rarely post on the other ( and that is an author) and the main reason is your love of reading comes across loud and clear. I love your monthly release list because I so often miss a book coming out for lack of knowledge. Don’t take comments from some disgruntled soul to heart… we all have an opinion but this is your site and you have a right to do it your way.
    Sinatra song comes to mind… geez, makes me feel a mite older with that thought, although in my defense it was my Mom’s generation for that old time singer.
    Thanks for all the work you put in to make this such a wonderful place to check on books and other readers commentary and rec’s.

  7. asthebeadturns says:

    You cant make everyone happy. I love your blog, and it is the only one I follow. It is very rude to suggest that you only showcase authors because you get something out of it. It is your blog, and as such my only expectation is that you recommend books and authors that speak to you. Any other effort from you to keep us informed about stuff that you don’t even read, or are interested in is icing on the cake. I love what you do. I appreciate you.

    PS- I would die if I got an email from Ilona. Fan-girling so hard right now.

    For the people complaining:
    This is why we cant have nice things. You nag, and nag to get your way until the person just gives up on something that they feel passionate about. Please do not ruin it for the rest of us that very much enjoy, and look forward to the updates on this blog. Be of good courage and find another blog to supplement the information you are getting here. This blog is a labor of love and it should be appreciated as such.

  8. Melindeeloo says:

    Kaleigha, I don’t comment often, but I’ve been following you since the beginning. I so appreciate all your hard work here. I used to do the hunting myself, so I know how time intensive that can be – and that doesn’t even take into account all the time to present the info in a pretty way ( or those guides!) I am happy to leave the stalking to you and it’s your blog so it should be what you want it to be. Thanks, for all you do and Congrats on the Ilona Andews ARC.

  9. Dee says:

    SOOOO cool! So glad Ilona Andrews made your day, you totally deserve it! I love your blog and all the information you share with all of us.

  10. snapdragon says:

    As a huge reader and book lover I appreciate your time and effort. I also seriously enjoy your blog and voice. I connect to you just because. Keep being you, it works.

  11. Maria says:

    Totally agree with the comments posted. And I would add that please please, don’t let a few haters ruin your fun (and ours!). It is your blog, and I (we) love it as it is.
    The ones that don’t like it: please, just quit reading and refrain from making kaleigha doubt herself.

  12. DebbieF says:

    I love your blog as well. You are the girlfriend I go to when I want to talk books and favorite authors as we have so much of the same tastes. There are a few times I tell you to give your head a shake over your fascination with a series, but to be fair you really don’t understand my love of Laurell K Hamilton either. Don’t change a thing – we love you just as you are. 🙂

  13. cc says:

    I first came by because Ilona Andrews posted a link. I like that you seem to read and enjoy the books you talk about. I don’t read blogs that do lots of reviews unless its a book I’m already thinking about. I don’t read every book you talk about but I always figure that is ok because we bring our own life experiences to everything we read. So sometimes I can’t stand a certain book or writing style, doesn’t mean I don’t think you should not read or talk about them. Please keep doing things your way that is what makes your blog an enjoyable read.

    A couple on independent authors I like are. Linsday Buroker and Ann Charles.

  14. library addict says:

    I’ll echo what others have said above. It’s YOUR blog, write about what interests you.

    I also agree, it’s much easier to keep track of authors who update their coming soon pages. I keep a list of “Upcoming Releases” every year and it can be difficult to find out information for some of my autobuy authors, not to mention authors I don’t follow as closely. Especially since I am not on Facebook, so if that’s the only place the author is posting about what they are working on I probably will not see it.

    I found your blog because of your Psy/Changeling character list. Actually I found the list, but didn’t realize you had a blog until the list got moved :p I don’t read Singh’s Guild Hunter series, but have read a lot about it. Same with a lot of urban fantasy. So there are a lot of authors you blog about I know I’ll never read simply because that’s not what I’m interested in. But there are also times when a blog post or cover reveal may be just the thing that makes me pick up a book.

    It’s not your job to be the publicist for authors or talk about ALL the books. This blog should bring you joy or what’s the point? Post about what interests you so that interest can shine through.

  15. alex says:

    You’re not a kindergarten teacher who needs to make sure everyone gets an equal amount of sharing time. The Internet is full of content, and if some readers are that concerned I’m sure they can find book discussions elsewhere. You do you, girl.

    And while I might be a blogger, I am first and foremost a reader who has opinions, likes, and dislikes, and sometimes it shows. And most importantly?

    ILONA ANDREWS E-MAILED ME AND SENT ME A BOOK.

    LOL. That’s super exciting 🙂

  16. Dawn says:

    I think it’s all been said. Oddly enough, I also found your site originally through the Psy-Changling Character Guide. Then I started fooling around, and saw that your posts revolved around what I was mainly reading, so I started reading them daily. If I don’t agree, I usually stop & go onto something else, since (and I know I’m repeating here, but maybe those “negative Nancys” will finally get the point) it’s YOUR site and you’re entitled to YOUR opinion.

    I hope you continue this blog for a long time to come. I don’t post often on Facebook because I feel it’s not as safe & secure as it should be, but here I do.

    And very cool to get the ARC from Ilona.

  17. Jean says:

    Congrats on the Ilona Andrews arc! That’s a beautiful full circle because I learned about your blog from reading a post on the Ilona Andrews website that referred to your blog. Very cool.

    I love your blog. You keep everything positive and produce an outstanding product. Please do not place any weight or merit in what a couple negative people say. Happy holidays and keep on with what you’re doing and how you want to do it.

  18. Van P. says:

    I too, don’t often comment on blog post. However, I am a big fan of your blog and I go to it weekly, if not daily! I love your blog and love hearing what you have to say/share! But yeah, I agree with everyone here, this is YOUR blog and you can say and do whatever you like. Haters are always gonna hate! Lol. If they don’t like it well too bad. No one is forcing them to come here and read it.

    I mean seriously, I can’t believe people even emailed you to complain about those things. So trivial.

    But anyways, don’t change, we love you and your blog Kaleigha!

    P.S. Super awesome about Ilona Andrew’s book!!!! 😀

  19. kaleigha says:

    Thanks everyone. The support is very kind, and I just wanted to make sure that if anyone had any lingering questions about what was going on, maybe my post would address them. I do love it when readers here email and make suggestions or comments, or sometimes let me know something I missed, but getting so many negative emails so close together got me wondering if maybe I was missing something. And yes…I AM STILL EXCITED I GOT AN EMAIL FROM ILONA ANDREWS. It ties with the day I got one from Nalini Singh as the highlight of my reading life (sadly enough, not even kidding). Both times, I sat here with my mouth open reading it over and over to see if they were fake.

  20. Stephaniec says:

    Your blog is one of the few that I follow, religiously read and look forward to.
    I appreciate your time and effort…..so thank you !!!!!
    And OMG Ilona Andrews email 🙂
    HAPPY HOLIDAYS

  21. azteclady says:

    It’s your blog. It’s your time–and since you are hosting it, it’s also your money.

    You have no obligation to be fair on anyone else’s opinion; you go well above and beyond signal boosting stuff, getting nothing in return but the pleasure of sharing your love of books. If someone doesn’t like how you do your thing, on your dime and in your space, they can go start their own blog, and see how much time, effort, and money it takes to do it–then they can come back and apologize for being demanding, entitled twits.

  22. Charleen says:

    I don’t have any issues with how you comment on or about authors. I do get amused at your cover rants but, if that’s your biggest problem, you’re doing okay. I can be totally OCD about little things and its great to know I’m not the only one. Since this is your blog, isn’t the purpose that you express your views on the subjects? It’s like TV to me, if I don’t like a show, I change the channel. If I disagreed with your opinions, I wouldn’t read the blog – easy solution. You are not a reviewer, so you don’t have to maintain an unbiased opinion.

    I love Nalini Singh, I started out reading Anita Blake but it became to far out there for me. I don’t read, Ilona Andrews even though I’ve purchased a few of her books in the effort to get into her – not happening. I also love Indie authors, but I understand your views, a week is usually the most notice I get from them. You recommended The Others and I thank you everyday for that!

    Unfortunately, our society has become so focused on telling everyone why they are not perfect, that we tend to forget, that we aren’t either. I appreciate all the effort that you put into this blog. You’re not being paid, you do it out of the love you have for PNR books. Thank you! The service you provide is fantastic and you have a great POV on a lot of subjects and authors, keep it up, its what makes this blog so great. Maybe the people who have the time to critique it, should find someone who is more in tune with their desires. I love you just the way you are!

  23. Monika says:

    I concur with the comments of the previous speakers. I like your blog precisely because it is personal, authentic, quirky and a bit opinionated (in a good way). I share your enthusiasm for some authors (Nalini Singh, Ilona Andrews), and not for others (can’t warm up to Kelley Armstrong, for instance) and I adore some authors you don’t care about. But that’s alright, if we all had exactly the same tastes there would be nothing to discuss.
    I also want to state that even if you deliver rants about the type of heroes some authors write (Feehan’s alpha-assholes), or about the lack of any information about upcoming books by some authors, you have always been respectful to those authors.
    Also, I really appreciate that you let people (like me, for instance) have some input on the content of YOUR blog by being kind enough to feature reviews or doing the Wednesday Spotlight. So, if those nasty complainers wanted to see their favorite author featured they could just do either of these two things. But it is easier just to complain than to make a positive contribution. So, in order to avoid this type of aggravation in the future I would just mark the senders of those types of email as “junk”!

Leave a Reply

