White Hot Review…and Giveaway

I don’t make any secret of my love for all things Ilona Andrews, but even I was surprised by just how much Burn For Me grabbed me. Honestly, I can’t remember a first book ever getting me that excited for a new series before. Unfortunately, things came up and the second book, White Hot, had a rather major release date push-back, but a few lucky souls have gotten their hands on early ARC releases, including Larissa from Larissa’s Bookish Life. She kindly offered to share her review here on Wicked Scribes, and I am happy to say that it sounds like it doesn’t disappoint…

quotation marksI was in utter awe last year when my favorite writing duo, Ilona Andrews, released “Burn For Me”; the first novel in a brand new urban fantasy series. Their world building is always on point, and that along with fascinating characters and amazingly intriguing stories got me completely in love.
Nevada Baylor’s world is one full of magic, but magic and power is something the elite controls for the most part, so when she finds herself neck deep in politics, intrigue and all out war it takes all of her will and fledgling power to deal with the threats against her simple life.
White Hot starts two months after the events in Burn for Me. Nothing has really changed, but things go from staled to worse very fast keeping the action fast paced and this reader on the edge of her seat from beginning to end.
Mad Rogan is back and whenever him and Nevada are in the same room sparks fly so strongly that I bet it’s hard to stay in the same location with them. I absolutely loved their relationship. I loved how their obstacles are not just fabrications to help the story along, but actually make total sense in this world they live in. Even though we might think that it’s obvious they will get together, I spent the whole book doubting it in parts, because their issues are so believable.
Besides the possible romance, we also get tons of new info on Nevada’s family and heritage. We also get to find out more about Rogan’s past and understand him more. One of Andrews talent is being able to give us much history and extra info without turning into obnoxious info dump, making the reader’s eyes glaze over and feeling like maybe there is something more interesting you could be doing. No, the pace is so perfect that you can’t help but keep yourself glued to the story until the very end.
Let’s not forget the incredible cast of secondary characters that help color this fantastic world. Nevada’s family is back and more lovable then ever. We also get to meet plenty of new characters to fall in love with and I guarantee that you will.
Hidden Legacies is series the surface seems to be about magic, but is in fact about family, loyalty, love and power. Any of those can be amazing but they can also be corrupted to a point where they are not even recognizable anymore. Hidden Legacies is about all of that, both sides of these coins and how people deal with them, for better or for worse.
If you have yet to experience Burn for Me I could not recommend it more, I am absolutely sure you won’t regret it. Then, dive right into White Hot and I guarantee that you will have the ride of your life.
I cannot wait for Wildfire, the third installment in this superb trilogy and I hope that we get more stories in this world because I don’t want to say goodbye to it anytime soon.

Ditto on hoping this is way, way more than a trilogy. Don’t be surprised if I harp on this a bit, because hopefully more publicity means more books. Not that I figure I can make much difference, but at least I can give it a shot. So, in that vein, I thought I might do a giveaway of the first book, Burn For Me. I figure most have already picked it up, but just in case there are still a few who haven’t given it a shot yet, here’s your chance.

burn for meSynopsis…

Nevada Baylor is faced with the most challenging case of her detective career—a suicide mission to bring in a suspect in a volatile case. Nevada isn’t sure she has the chops. Her quarry is a Prime, the highest rank of magic user, who can set anyone and anything on fire.

Then she’s kidnapped by Connor “Mad” Rogan—a darkly tempting billionaire with equally devastating powers. Torn between wanting to run or surrender to their overwhelming attraction, Nevada must join forces with Rogan to stay alive.

Rogan’s after the same target, so he needs Nevada. But she’s getting under his skin, making him care about someone other than himself for a change. And, as Rogan has learned, love can be as perilous as death, especially in the magic world.

And, I will preorder a copy of White Hot for you from The Book Depository as well, but you will have to wait until the June 1st release date for that one.

white hotSynopsis…

Nevada Baylor has a unique and secret skill—she knows when people are lying—and she’s used that magic (along with plain, hard work) to keep her colorful and close-knit family’s detective agency afloat. But her new case pits her against the shadowy forces that almost destroyed the city of Houston once before, bringing Nevada back into contact with Connor “Mad” Rogan.

Rogan is a billionaire Prime—the highest rank of magic user—and as unreadable as ever, despite Nevada’s “talent.” But there’s no hiding the sparks between them. Now that the stakes are even higher, both professionally and personally, and their foes are unimaginably powerful, Rogan and Nevada will find that nothing burns like ice …

So, if you would like to win a mass-market paperback copy of Burn For Me now, plus a reserved copy of White Hot to come in June, now’s your chance. Winner to be chosen at random, giveaway closing at midnight Atlantic time on December 24th. Good luck.

23 thoughts on “White Hot Review…and Giveaway

  1. Monika says:

    June seems such a long time off. Please count me in for the give-away for White Hot, though naturally I will also buy it in the likely case I don’t win and of course I already have Burn For Me (but only as a Kindle). Burn For Me was for me also one of those books that got me most excited about reading more of the series.
    P.S. Kaleigha, did you use the old cover on purpose (without the 70s horror movie font) or did they change it back?

    • kaleigha says:

      Guilty…totally used the old one. The new one just doesn’t do it for me, even though I like the colors. And my OCD demands that two covers from the same series in the same post match as much as possible. Oy.

  2. Adaiah La Vonda says:

    Thank you, for all your references to Ilona Andrews, Kate Daniels series. I’ve read Magic Bite, and Magic Burns. This is my first Urban Fantasy series, and I’m really enjoying the series. I’ve purchased Magic Strikes and plan on reading it this weekend. I’d loved to win a paperback copy of Burn For Me and a reserved copy White Hot. The synopsis of the Dark Legacy series, sounds good.

    • Adaiah La Vonda says:

      After all of the great comments and the 5 stars Burn For Me received on Amazon, I purchased the ebook version for $1.99. I plan on reading Magic Strikes as well as Burn For Me this weekend. Champagne, snacks and books will hold my attention this weekend. I can wait!

  3. Angela says:

    YESSSS I can’t wait for White Hot!! Ilona Andrews never disappoints and I agree – the world building and characters in the Burn for Me is incredible. I would love to win the physical copies for both books!

  4. Cassandra B. says:

    I also love this series. I own the ebook version, but I would love to have it in paperback too. Thanks for the giveaway.

  5. Jenny Schwartz says:

    Sounds brilliant! Thanks 🙂 I’ve just picked up “One Fell Sweep” (already out here in Australia). Ilona Andrews is one of my favourite authors – great review!

  6. Céline G. says:

    It looks like this is one more great series from Ilona Andrews! I havn’t picked up this one yet because of mount TBR but I would love to win a copy! Thanks a lot for this awesome giveaway and I am sure the little publicity here helps spread the love for Ilona.

  7. Jennifer @ TBN says:

    I hate that the publisher pushed the release date back. I’ll have to reread the first book before reading the 2nd so I remember all the little details. Thanks for the giveaway. Happy Holidays!

    • kaleigha says:

      I will be checking things out again before the next two come out, too. I have already read it a couple of times, and haven’t gotten tired of it yet.

Leave a Reply

