Pick of the Week

Welp, two days and two different Ilona Andrews‘ posts, but there are definitely worse things to have. Any week that Ilona has a new release coming out is a good week, and it is pretty much guaranteed to be my most anticipated. One Fell Sweep is absolutely no exception.

one-fell-sweepSynopsis…

Dina DeMille may run the nicest Bed and Breakfast in Red Deer, Texas, but she caters to very particular kind of guest… the kind that no one on Earth is supposed to know about. Guests like a former intergalactic tyrant with an impressive bounty on her head, the Lord Marshal of a powerful vampire clan, and a displaced-and-superhot werewolf; so don’t stand too close, or you may be collateral damage.

But what passes for Dina’s normal life is about to be thrown into chaos. First, she must rescue her long-distant older sister, Maud, who’s been exiled with her family to a planet that functions as the most lawless penal colony since Botany Bay. Then she agrees to help a guest whose last chance at saving his civilization could bring death and disaster to all Dina holds dear. Now Gertrude Hunt is under siege by a clan of assassins. To keep her guests safe and to find her missing parents, Dina will risk everything, even if she has and may have to pay the ultimate price. Though Sean may have something to say about that.

I was very kindly sent a copy of this one by Ilona, and I can’t wait to do a whole re-read when I am off in December. I followed along pretty faithfully with the online serial releases, but it will be nice to marathon the whole thing. Let the countdown begin for the next one…

8 thoughts on “Pick of the Week

  1. dougmeeks says:

    I took about a week off and marathon read a series of pure insanity called Shopping for a Billionaire (10 books and I got through 7 before my guilt made me stop, great series if you need a laugh) and I am now so far behind on my reviews I am drowning, I need to get to this book NOW for my own reading enjoyment but i have a couple I must finish first, it is the first Ilona Andrews books I have not had a review on release day in years. If this one is even close to as good as the first 2 it will be awesome.

      • dougmeeks says:

        and here I am LOL, reading a really good book but wanting to put it down and grab One Fell Sweep, the sacrifices I make as a reviewer 🙂 BTW don’t know if I told you that Amazon invited me to be one of their VINE reviewers which added MORE stuff than books for me to review. I may need an intervention

    • Iain says:

      Something new to try… I have a hard time finding new Contemporary reads… I’ve read most of the comedic ones I can find already…Penny Reid, Tara Sivec, etc…

  2. cheryl says:

    Just finished One Fell Sweep and even though I read it as a weekly chapter, I can honestly say I forgot some of it. Yep it was good and it had a few more scenes than in the serial release.
    I really like this one and the ending is so tantalizing… tingles for the next one.

    • Iain says:

      And the pseudo-cliffhanger isn’t nearly as bad for the people reading it weekly on the website… unlike me who has to wait another year…

      Noticed 2 things in the ebook… did their editor pass away in the last few weeks?… Because the book is dedicated to her… Lisa Gasway/Gaasway… and the back pages list White Hot as a re-release next year… if there’s somewhere I could read White Hot right now I’d be all over that

Leave a Reply

