Book of the Month

I honestly can’t believe that I am typing this, but it is time to take a look ahead and pick the first book of the month for 2017. Holy crap, this year flew by. It looks like 2017 is going to continue the 2016 trend of having one month of a ton of great new releases, followed by a month that is pretty bland. January has a lot I am looking forward to, and it should be a pretty close competition between a few different titles. So, I have chosen a few that look promising (and that I personally can’t wait for), but if you have a different anticipated book, just select “Other” and leave your choice in the comments section. A complete list of January’s new releases can be found HERE.

Ok, I maybe wasn’t the biggest fan of the last couple of Ghostwalker books (since they had a totally different vibe and didn’t even feel like the same series), and I might still really like the Charley Davidson books, but I think I am going to have to give this one to Feversong. I thought the last one felt like a filler book, but with all of the threads left to wrap up this one should be anything but. Surprisingly, my second choice is Breath of Fire. I very much enjoyed the first book, and I hope the second one lives up to it.

16 thoughts on “Book of the Month

  1. dougmeeks says:

    For anyone who voted for Amanda Bouchet – Breath of Fire I suggest you go to Amazon and read the teaser where once more he treats her like dirt and she takes all the blame like any other abused spouse IMHO, it is free so take a look. Remember all those wife beaters that show up at the hospital with roses πŸ™‚

    NOTE: Something odd is that you can only see the teaser (at this writing) by viewing the paperback page, not showing up on the Kindle page?????

    use this link

    http://www.amazon.com/Breath-Kingmaker-Chronicles-Amanda-Bouchet/dp/149262604X/

  2. Emily says:

    Just seeing Power Game listed kind of makes me want to puke. The last Carpathian novel was back on track after a couple of failures, so maybe the Ghostwalkers will be, too. But I’m still convinced (and super ticked off) that Feehan had a ghostwriter for a couple of years. It might have been more palatable if she hadn’t given them anticipated characters just to reel in the sales, like Wyatt, then Elijah in the Leopard series, and even using the Gary/Gabrielle storyline for the Carpathians. I can really hold a grudge and it’s not going away anytime soon. Sooooo… as I obviously didn’t pick that one, I’m going with Eleventh Grave. The last book was slightly less satisfying than usual, but I still love Charley and Reyes. Especially Reyes. Mmmm. lol.

  3. library addict says:

    I am looking forward to the second Amanda Bouchet Kingmaker Chronicles Book. Not too keen on paying hardcover prices for the new Feehan since I’ll only buy the digital version, but I am hoping the new release is a success because I need it to last long enough for her to go back to writing about teams 1 and 2 in the GhostWalker world.

  4. pals20 says:

    Oh definitely Feversong for me. It’s the conclusion to this incredible dramatic intense story and I hated that it ended on that massive cliff-hanger so yeah, definitely my BOTM.

    I’m also eagerly waiting for Kristen Ashley’s Rock Chick Reawakening (Rock Chick #0.5). It’s a contemporary and a long awaited novella of a couple that’s been there throughout her 8 book Rock Chick series.

    Plus there’s a new series from Eve Langlais. She usually writes snarky paranormals and Becoming Dragon is book 1 of Dragon Point series. I’ll probably pick that one too.

    • Iain says:

      I’m confused… Are you picking your book for January?, or 2017?… cause Magic for Nothing isn’t due out till March 7th… McGuire books come out like clockwork… InCryptid the first Tuesday in March, October Daye the first Tuesday in September… I do see a new standalone McGuire book coming out in January, tho, that I didn’t know about until I double checked on InCryptid

  5. alex says:

    I’ve been re-reading the Fever series in preparation for this month’s release. Kind of rediscovering my love, you know? I’d like to be friends with Karen Marie Moning. Her books are peppered with these little tidbits of life clarity but she seems super chill.

    In other news, A Promise of Fire was one of my favorite books of last year, and I already know this series is going into my all-time favorites as well. I absolutely adore the way Amanda Bouchet writes, and just one book was enough to make her an auto-buy author for me.

    For the first time I actually won a Goodreads giveaway…for A Breath of Fire. Couldn’t believe my eyes when I read the email last week. It said allow a few weeks for shipping but was waiting for me when I got home from work yesterday. I had to travel for a wedding this weekend and will be stealing minutes with it as much as possible!

    I’m not sure about that first comment regarding Griffin treating Cat like dirt and calling him a wifebeater? Excerpts are often taken out of context. I’m just over 50 pages in, about to start chapter 6, and have loved every word. Some readers may not like it, I guess – reading is incredibly personal, after all, especially romance – but Cat and Griffin’s relationship, particularly her being the “bad” one in the relationship who doesn’t believe she’ll ever be good enough for him and his family is one of the main reasons I find it so compelling. That’s still something I feel like there isn’t enough of in romances, where the heroine has issues coming out of her ears and the hero is a successful, steady, well-grounded guy (in my mind, category romance and others that adhere to the “billionaire” or alpha hero trope don’t count). But as always, to each reader their own.

    I’m interested to know what others think after they read. It would make for great discussion!

    • Iain says:

      Different people react differently to the same material for sure… I see tons of people that enjoy Kresley Cole, but personally I found the few IAD books I read too rape-y…

      I enjoy Mercy Thompson for the most part, but have read reviews on Goodreads by people who don’t like how Mercy feigns submission to the wolves when needed or the use of rape as a plotline in that one book…

      I really enjoyed the first Kingmaker book a few months ago, despite being wary early on… planning on reading the 2nd one when it comes out

  6. dougmeeks says:

    Let me expand on Breath of Fire a bit with this review AND in the “strange things happening” category the teaser on Amazon has suddenly been edited not to include several of the most egregious pages of that initial abuse scene after I have been pointing it out to many people on Goodreads and other places (not just here), I gave the book 4 Stars for a great plot but that does not mean I have to keep my eyes closed to what Griffin really is BUT books/reviews are ultimately in the mind of the reader so I still enjoyed the book overall for the plot but detail my objections better in the review. I did not submit this review to Wicked Scribes because I thought it might be a bit more divisive than most of my reviews πŸ™‚

    Breath of Fire (The Kingmaker Chronicles Book 2)

    https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1760138551

    • Alex says:

      Note: some may consider the rest of my comment a little spoiler-y. You’ve been warned.

      Thanks for the link. I’m now almost 150 pages in. Definitely Griffin’s overprotective behavior despite seeing Cat in action numerous times now is getting on my nerves. I just got through this line “And if he thinks for one second he’s wrapping me in glass and pushing me up onto a pedestal along with his sisters, he needs to get his head examined.”

      When I read it, I didn’t see their initial confrontation – the one you referenced in your review – the way you did, but I see it differently now. Everything you said makes perfect sense. For sure when Griffin said “I can’t be with you” I would have taken it exactly as Cat did. And for sure in real life I would see that confrontation as abusive. It does go back go what readers see as acceptable. Iain mentioned finding Kresley Cole’s IAD series and heroes rape-y. I’ve really enjoyed that series, yet agree; they are rape-y, some more than others. I’d like to examine that more, both personally and regarding romance and/or other works of fiction.

      Like I said, I’m still reading. Some real relationship development and working through their issues is definitely needed. Pretty much everything else about this series is stellar so it will be too bad if that aspect ends up falling short.

      • dougmeeks says:

        Sometimes we accept things in our fictional reading that we would never tolerate in real life, I think this is one of these times πŸ™‚ It seemed clear to me but many (most?) people did not see it the way I described it in my review. I will be reading the next one obviously, it is a riveting story but the romance falls flat for me.

        • dougmeeks says:

          It had 3 negative votes in the first hour, thanks for the help but I think the rabid fans will bury this one LOL. It happens anytime you post a review that goes against the main hype, this was a great story , it just was not the “greatest thing ever” genre that I keep seeing πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

