Pick of the Week

Well, it is probably a good thing that I am planning on a bit of a site redesign, since I was playing around with things yesterday and managed to completely delete all of the custom features I had made over the blog since the beginning. Fonts and layout and widgets on the side were all gone. After I got done swearing and hyperventilating at the same time, I managed to get most of the things back to some version of normal. Most. Can I find the feature that will let you sign into WordPress? No. Fonts? Weird. Meh, bear with me.

Anyways, on to my pick of the week. Granted, there isn’t a ton to chose from this week, but I have been looking forward to Breath of Fire by Amanda Bouchet, which tied for first place in the book of the month poll. I was surprised by how well it did, since I figured it would come quite a ways down the list after Feversong, Eleventh Grave and Power Game, but then hype surrounding the series has been building for a while now.

breath of fireSynopsis…

SHE’S DESTINED TO DESTROY THE WORLD…
“Cat” Catalia Fisa has been running from her destiny since she could crawl. But now, her newfound loved ones are caught between the shadow of Cat’s tortured past and the threat of her world-shattering future. So what’s a girl to do when she knows it’s her fate to be the harbinger of doom? Everything in her power.

BUT NOT IF SHE CAN HELP IT
Griffin knows Cat is destined to change the world-for the better. As the realms are descending into all-out war, Cat and Griffin must embrace their fate together. Gods willing, they will emerge side-by-side in the heart of their future kingdom…or not at all.

I so have to go back and skim the ending of the first book again, since I honestly can’t remember what happened at all. I did grab this one for my ipad, but I won’t be able to dive in for a few days. It will be interesting to see if reviews are universally positive, or if they are a bit more divided like Doug Meeks (review HERE). Which side of the line did you fall on for this second book of The Kingmaker Chronicles?

3 thoughts on “Pick of the Week

  1. library addict says:

    Count me on the divided side. I though Griffin did a cross a line in the first scene. Yes he apologized and stated it was his fault, but then it got even more murky and then…nothing. The rest of the book is like it never happened.

    I also got tired of his high-and-mighty attuitude and Cat’s actions/dialogue had her come off as wishy-washy. The big “secret” was easily guessed. And I thought the reveal of her misunderstanding the prophecy was anticlimatic. The plot plodded along, but it never felt they were truly in danger.

    All that said, I like the world she’s built. I want to know more about Griffin’s siblings, particulary Jocasta. And I’d also like to know more about a character who was introduced late in the story (trying to avoid spoilers).

    I was bummed when they initially pushed the March release date for book 3 back to the Fall. Now that it won’t be out until next January there’s a part of me that wishes I had waited to read this book.

    Overall I liked it in spite of the major chatacter and plotting issues I had. It didn’t wow me like book 1, but it does make me want to read book 3.

    • alex says:

      I’m eager to know more about that same character. I definitely wasn’t expecting that person’s introduction so it was a pleasant surprise!

      I mentioned in my other comment how much I love all the action in this series, but it has come at the expense of developing side characters. We got to see a little more Jocasta and Kato this time around with some hints at Carver and Flynn. I also have a theory about Selena… And my spidey senses were tingling about another of the characters introduced toward the end.

      Anyway, I really hope there will be more side character development (and some for Cat and Griffin, of course), though I wonder if there will be more stories and/or series set in this universe when the trilogy is complete. That’s the feeling I get, but what do I know.

  2. alex says:

    Ended up really liking it, though I’m also disappointed the final installment was pushed. When I saw January 2018 on the excerpt page I was like “Nooooo!”

    There are a lot of things I love about the book and series as well as a few quibbles. This might be a tiny bit spoilery, but I feel like the “power” that really sets Cat apart is getting repeatedly mauled near to death by all manner of danger only to get healed and immediately go back for more. She actually says as much herself toward the end.

    I know Cat’s – as well as Griffin’s – character flaws are part of why I like it so much. I agree with Library Addict in that they never seem to be truly in danger, but characters who have real flaws go a long way in making up for that. There are plenty of SFF books that don’t seem to really risk the main characters nor develop their flaws beyond the superficial annoyances or worse, the pretend “flaw” (I’m looking at you, Psy/Changeling series).

    What I don’t think will divide readers is that this series has a fantastic, Greek mythology inspired worldbuilding that on a scale from 1 to Dark Hunter universe is perfectly balanced, especially for a new author. It seems like some of the magic and instances of gods stepping in are a little Deus Ex Machina, but that’s rather fitting, right? The sheer amount of action packed into the pages isn’t anything to squint at either.

Leave a Reply

