Now It’s Your Turn

booksA couple of posts ago, I asked whether anyone still used the 101+ Series to Read Before You Die page, and I figured I would get a solid “Meh. What?” Since I had totally forgotten it was even there, I thought everyone else had, too, and I was figuring it was time to just get rid of it. But since many of you said that you still use it as a reference, it is time for an update. It hasn’t been touched in a couple of years, and I am sure we can all come up with new series that deserve to go on the list.

For me, it would be Innkeeper Chronicles and Hidden Legacy from Ilona Andrews, and In Death from J.D. Robb. Monika suggested the Irin Chronicles from Elizabeth Hunter, Stormwalker from Allyson James, and Emperor’s Edge and Dragon Blood from Lindsay Buroker. What would you like to see added to the list? Leave any suggestions in the comments section, and if you could include a description of what the series is about, genre, that sort of thing, it would be very handy. If not, I can always just add the blurb for the first book, or something along those lines.

37 thoughts on “Now It’s Your Turn

  1. April Brookshire says:

    The Night Prince series by Jeaniene Frost. The 4th and final book is coming out next month. I listened to books 1-3 on audiobook at the end of 2016 to refresh my memory on the series since book 3 came out quite awhile ago. I’d forgotten just how good the series was and how dark book 3 was.

  2. Heather says:

    The chronicles of Elantra by Michelle Sagara

    These follow the adventures of Private Kaylin Neya, a young woman who serves the Hawks in the towering Halls of Law. She’s Elantra’s version of a police officer, a mortal in a city ruled by Dragons.

    Book one blurb:
    Seven years ago Kaylin fled the crime-riddled streets of Nightshade, knowing that something was after her. Children were being murdered–an all had the same odd markings that mysteriously appeared on her own skin…

    Since then, she’s learned to read, she’s learned to fight and she’s become one of the vaunted Hawks who patrol and police the City of Elantra. Alongside the winged Aerians and the immortal Barrani, she’s made a place for herself, far from the mean streets of her birth.

    But children are once again dying, and a dark and familiar pattern is emerging. Kaylin is ordered back into Nightshade with a partner she knows she can’t trust, a Dragon lord for a companion and a device to contain her powers–powers that no other human has. Her task is simple–find the killer, stop the murders…and survive the attenions of those who claim to be her allies!

      • Heather says:

        I just finished the last book and while I agree that Kaylin hasn’t evolved in knowledge of her abilities and at times it can be frustrating, I have to stop and take into account that the events of the series has so far taken place in less than a year. Each book picks up either immediately after the last book or just a few weeks after the last book. So it’s understandable that she hasn’t had the opportunity to truly evolve. However I think she does evolve slightly in her understanding of people and racial differences. Her relationships with the other characters have evolved as well.

    • Monika says:

      I’ll absolutely second the Night Prowler series by J. T. Geissinger! Had forgotten about it since it finished a few years ago. J. T. also has an amazing rock romance series going, Bad Habit, with two books out so far. And Wicked Sexy, a contemporary romance/romantic suspense was one of my favorite books last year.

  3. library addict says:

    The In Death series is futuristic, but not paranormal or urban fantasy. It’s one of my favorite series ever though, so any list that encourages others to read it is a good thing.

    I would maybe add the Sin Brothers/Blood Brothers series by Rebecca Zanetti. The original series was only 4 books, but she’s currenty writing a sequel/spin-off series.

  4. dougmeeks says:

    Let me just add a second vote for “Emperor’s Edge”, almost our whole forum on Amazon read it and loved it. Pretty much anything by Ilona Andrews goes on the list and “The Irin Chronicles” are only marred by the fact that the first book is so unforgettable and emotionally draining that it was hard for the other books to live up to it. The “Stormwalker” series is a great read but I found it to be somewhat forgettable after a time so I would not put it in here but again, that is only my opinion.

  5. azteclady says:

    I would like to recommend the Razorland series by Ann Aguirre. It’s a Young Adult series set in a dystopian future; its main character is a 15 year old girl, Deuce, and it’s fantastic.

    Full disclosure: I beta read the first novel, and devoured it in one session. I think it’s seriously under appreciated. There were three books released fairly closed together, but I’m happy to see that there’s another one coming out soon-ish.

    You can read more about it here, and the blurb and excerpt for the first one, Enclave, here.

  6. Shira says:

    I recommend Stormwalker series, too. I also really liked Southern Witch by Kimberly Frost, and Wraith Kings by Grace Draven. And, though this may be a little too early, but Sinful Supes by Xandrie Kovak, who’s just published her first book, is becoming one of my favorites. I joined her review crew and read two other books. The series is both funny and sexy, and comes with great characters.

  7. dougmeeks says:

    I am ashamed I somehow forgot Wraith Kings by Grace Draven, it would be pretty close to the top of my list even if it is only 2 books into the series. You can see the wonderful stories that are coming in the future

  8. bfmason50 says:

    Sorry I have not being commenting lately (I have been checking out the sight often though) but I have been very busy working 3 jobs. But on the subject mater of this post I would like to recommend two great series by Sarah J Maas. 1. A Court of Thorns and Roses (New Adult), and 2. The Glass Throne series (YA).

    Then the Blood Brother Daggers Legacy (The spinoff) series is actually pretty good,.

    • onetoughbelle says:

      I enthusiastically second the “Court” series by Sarah J Maas. It. Is. Amazing!! The second book is out with the third on the way this spring. The Crystal Throne is very good, too!

  9. Redbutterfly says:

    I second:
    Innkeeper Chronicles and Hidden Legacy by Ilona Andrews
    In Death by J.D. Robb
    Wraith Kings by Grace Draven

    Recommend:
    Cambio Springs by Elizabeth Hunter
    Kingmaker Chronicles by Amanda Bouchet
    Cainsville by Kelley Armstrong
    Souls of Fire by Keri Arthur
    Healer by Maria V. Snyder
    The School for Good and Evil by Soman Chainani
    Uprooted by Naomi Novik
    Weathermages of Mystral by C.L. Wilson
    Jessica McClain by Amanda Carlson

    And can I recommend a M/M series?
    If yes, I would totally recommend PsyCop by Jordan Castillo Price

  10. Monika says:

    I don’t mind a M/M series, but it should be clearly indicated. I’ve read (and liked) the Captive Prince Trilogy by P. S. Pacat. If I can get anybody to second me, I would also like to ask for Laurann Dohner’s New Species series to be included. It contains quite a lot of sex scenes, but it is held together with enough of an interesting story. Reminds me a bit of Lora Leigh’s Breed series.

    • Redbutterfly says:

      I totally second the Captive Prince Trilogy by P. S. Pacat, I really liked this series. I haven’t read Laurann Dohner’s New Species series yet but I’ve heard lots of good things about it, thanks for the recommend.

  11. deborahkehoe says:

    One of my favorites is Patricia Briggs Mercy Thompson series if you like fantasy. Jill Shalvis Lucky Harbor and Heartbreaker Bay Series for sweet romances and Kristen Callihan’s Darkest London series for fantasy-romance, VIP series for rocker romance and Game On series for sports romance. Anything by her is amazing. I could go on and on about my favorite series… Lol..

    • dougmeeks says:

      “Kristen Callihan’s Darkest London series for fantasy-romance, VIP series for rocker romance” – I read all of the Darkest London series and it was exceptional although the last couple felt a bit rushed to get to the ending but the VIP series (I HATE rock romance BTW) is exceptional and the first few chapters of “Managed” are some of the best reading I have done in years 🙂

    • Monika says:

      Guys, you are killing me. I (used to) hate rock romances, too, but I am already following four at this time, and now you have whetted my appetite for another one (VIP). I think it’s going to start sounding hollow if I continue insisting I hate them 😉

      • dougmeeks says:

        The VIP series (IMHO) is on a whole different level but it could be because Kristen Callihan is a really great writer at whatever she writes and there is no “formula”, I LOVE Nalini Singh but I could not begin to get interested in her rocker series (I tried) but VIP grabbed me in book 1 (I was asked to review it) because as with book 2 the opening chapters are amazingly entertaining and once you are hooked into the books you can’t let them go LOL

    • Redbutterfly says:

      I tend to hate rock romance too, but I’ll give the VIP series a try.

      Also I read the 1st book in the Darkest London series and I loved it, have to find time to read the rest.

  12. Jackie zamora says:

    I am glad you are keeping it. When ever I am in search for something know, that’s the first place I look

    Thank you.

  13. dougmeeks says:

    OK, since we have left paranormal behind, another thing I hate is historical romance but 2 series have made me change my tune a bit on them,

    I only started reading this one because everyone in my forum were loving them, they were right, first historical romance I have read in years (ever?) http://www.amazon.com/Pennyroyal-Green-11-Book/dp/B0159NRE2O/ is a very well done drama with enough comic relief and action/adventure to make it entertaining to anyone. Some folks were not happy with the final book but I enjoyed it. (this is a finished series)

    This is one of the best series of ANY genre I have read in years, the last book The Duke was slightly less but The Hunter makes my Top 10 of the last few years if not Top 10 ever

    If you never read any more of them I suggest ANYBODY read the first 2 books, they are exceptional and don’t require you to read more (but you will want to) WARNING: She starts The Hunter out in HORRIBLE shocking circumstances so not for the easily offended, he becomes the best assassin in England so you have to know how he got there before an amzinf woman tames him BUT you need to read book 1 to get a bit of his history with the hero from book 1

    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01IC0IRD6/

  14. Jan says:

    Most of my favourites are already on the list. I love everything from Ilona Andrews and Patricia Briggs. Other favourite series are the Hollows by Kim Harrison, Psy-Changling by Nalini Singh, Fever series by Karen Marie Moning, Morganville Vampires by Rachel Caine and Night Huntress by Jeaniene Frost. Series I didn’t see on the list that I like are; Devil’s Isle by Chloe Neil, Black Dagger Legacy by J.R. Ward and The Others by Christine Warren. One other short series (2 books):) I’d like to mention is Tales of an Extraordinary Girl by Gena Showalter. It’s funny, the heroine has attitude and it’s a neat take on the paranormal world. Excerpt from Goodreads:

    Earth, wind and fire aren’t just a band anymore…

    Tales of an Extraordinary Girl features Belle Jamison, a twenty-four year old barista who develops unexpected superpowers over the four elements. She’s hunted by super sexy PSI agent –Paranormal Studies and Investigation — Rome Masters, who’s got a secret of his own…

    Many of these I’ve listened to on audio and the narrators are great.

  15. Sakshi Chopra says:

    Supernatural Prison series by Jaymin Eve….It is a finished trilogy with one more super awesome outtake full length book. Plus, Kate Daniels series is my absolute favorite pnr…

  16. renpuspita says:

    Hey K,

    Some recommendation from me:
    – Shadowbound by Bec McMaster, book #1 from Dar Art series. Currently 2 books on release, trilogy planned. It’s as good as her London Steampunk series
    – The Twelve Kingdom series by Jeffe Kennedy. I wonder why not much reader here recognize her work. Imho, she write a good fantasy romance. The first POV kinda put me off at first, but she get better with each installment.
    – Heartstrikers series by Rachel Aaron. I like the concept about beta heroes and also meek dragon. It’s very unique and refreshing. Only read book #1, but I plan to read the next. Very recommended for UF lovers alike. The romance is just a subtle hint, tho.
    – The Fallen series by Cynthia Eden. One of PNR with angel elements that I liked. I enjoyed all her books. Full of action.
    – Hearts and Thrones series by Amy Raby. Another underrated fantasy romance out there.
    – Sylph series by L.J. McDonald. Only read book 1, but its have interesting concept!
    – Black London series by Caitlin Kittredge. If you love your UF dark and gritty
    – The Curse Keeper by Denise Grover Swank. I like how she use Roanoke and the lost colony myth and combine it with Native God/Goddess. A little bit let down for its 3rd book, but still a good book nonetheless. Anyway, the author seems like focus only to her cozy mysteries/romance, so for right now, there’s no news for this series. I hope she continue write it.
    – The Golem and The Jinni by Helene Wrecker. Whether you like your fantasy with romance or not, this one is a MUST READ. And even at first, this book released as stand-alone, the author just said that she currently write the sequel.
    – The Horngate Witches by Diana Pharaoh Francis. Again, just read book #1, but its blown me away. Plan to continue read tho.

    Welp! That’s it! Hope I can help you 🙂

    • dougmeeks says:

      “The Twelve Kingdom series by Jeffe Kennedy” – an excellent trilogy, I am not as enthralled with the follow-on series

      “The Horngate Witches by Diana Pharaoh Francis” – A truly exceptional 4 book series but she lost her contract and the last book (“Blood Winter”) seemed horribly rushed and was a very poor ending for the series but I thought I read some months back that she was going to publish more as an indie writer but nothing has emerged yet and there is nothing about it on her webpage so that might have been a comment in passing, I used to subscribe to her webpage but her blog/newsletter drifted into political type BS too often so I dropped it.

Leave a Reply

