Pick of the Week – and Best Day Ever!

2017 looks like it is going to be the year where a lot of series I faithfully follow are either wrapping up, spinning off, or changing direction. The Fever series from Karen Marie Moning is one of the latter. This week’s Feversong is the end of the second arc that focused on MacKayla Lane and Jerricho Barrons – or at least that is my understanding of it. Either way, Feversong is my pick of the week, and my pick of the month, and it was probably one of my picks of the year.

feversongSynopsis…

As Mac, Barrons, Ryodan, and Jada struggle to restore control, enemies become allies, right and wrong cease to exist, and the lines between life and death, lust and love, disappear completely. Black holes loom menacingly over Dublin, threatening to destroy the earth, yet the greatest danger is the one MacKayla Lane has unleashed from within: The Sinsar Dubh—a sentient book of unthinkable evil—has possessed her body and will stop at nothing in its insatiable quest for power.

The fate of Man and Fae rests on destroying the book and recovering the long-lost Song of Making, the sole magic that can repair the fragile fabric of the earth. But to achieve these aims, sidhe-seers, the Nine, Seelie, and Unseelie must form unlikely alliances and make heart-wrenching choices. For Barrons and Jada, this means finding the Seelie queen, who alone can wield the mysterious song, negotiating with a lethal Unseelie prince hell-bent on ruling the Fae courts, and figuring out how to destroy the Sinsar Dubh while keeping Mac alive.

This time, there’s no gain without sacrifice, no pursuit without risk, no victory without irrevocable loss. In the battle for Mac’s soul, every decision exacts a tremendous price.

I have the hardcover copy coming, and I was desperate enough to order the Kindle copy, too. And I waited up until 4:00am until it was delivered to my i-pad, just so I could “read the first few chapters”. Yeah, I finished it around 8:00am, but I have to admit that by the end of it I was just skimming things to find out what happened to Jada/Dani and Ryodan, Dancer and Christian. This one has a lot to wrap up, and it will need a much slower, more thorough read for me to get a handle on what I thought about it. My greed didn’t do me, or the book, any favors, and I won’t pull that again. I hope.

And on to the best news ever. I have been spamming Edelweiss with requests for a review copy of White Hot from Ilona Andrews. I mean at least three or four times a week I hit that “submit request” button. Today, I finally got a yes (and it didn’t come with a restraining order, so double win!). While Feversong is one of my most anticipated books of the year, I would go so far as to say that White Hot is tied for third as the book I am most excited for, along with Rituals from Kelley Armstrong and Silver Silence from Nalini Singh. Any guesses as to what I will be doing tonight?

3 thoughts on “Pick of the Week – and Best Day Ever!

  1. alex says:

    Are you me? I prefer ebooks and with the long excerpts added to reading until I fell asleep last night plus waking up early…it still wasn’t enough. I may have also got the Audible version just so I wouldn’t have to stop and could listen at work :/ And…

    IT WAS SO AMAZING ARGHGAHRAHHAAA!!!

    I mean, my mind was already blown at like 20 of 60ish chapters in and I knew it would be one of my favorite books of the entire year (really!). But it was so much more and over far too soon. I’m basically exhausted so I will embark on my re-read tomorrow. I honestly don’t think any other book will take top spot this year and it’s only just started!

    My greed didn’t do me, or the book, any favors, and I won’t pull that again. I hope.

    I can’t tell you how many times I’ve done this. Just can’t help myself.

    I do have a request: maybe later in the week or next week can we have a discussion post when everyone else who actually has some semblance of self control has had a chance to finish it? Because I NEED to talk about it!

    Can you tell I literally just finished reading? I’m still riding that reading high but I’m also exhausted and will crash soon.

    P.S. I don’t like to listen to fiction on Audible but this series is super worth it. I had a few credits, but it’s only $4.99 if you already have the Kindle version, which actually gets you the ebook and audiobook for the same price as the hardcover.

  2. kaleigha says:

    I will absolutely do up a discussion post later on in the week. This one needs to be gone over – not just for how things wrapped up, but as to what might be coming in the next couple of books.

Leave a Reply

