Weekly Wrap Up

booksHey everyone, how is the new year shaping up for you so far? Have you been sticking to your resolutions, or do you even bother making them? I am proud to say that I have finally – finally – started to watch Game of Thrones. So far I am very much enjoying it, but the trying to figure out who is who in the secondary characters has prompted me to order the first couple of books, too. I haven’t really read too much straight fantasy before, so that will be a good place to try something a little different.

I have to say, this was a pretty great week for reading, too. Things got to a great start with Feversong, the final book of the main Fever series from Karen Marie Moning. As I said before, though, I pulled an all-nighter (literally all night – I think I finished around 8 in the morning), and my enjoyment of it suffered a bit because at that point I just wanted to find out how it ended. I found myself skimming all of the Mac sections just to get to Christian, Dani, Ryodan, Lor and Dancer, and I was completely disinterested in the Queen and King. So while I didn’t take in the whole book, I did get completely wrapped up in the rest.

While Mac and Barrons’ story is now wrapped up, it didn’t really feel like an “end”. There are still two more books to be set in this world – Dani and Ryodan could (and must) get their own book, and ditto for Christian. We still need to know what happened to Dageus (which could be handled in a Christian book), and more about the Nine (which would work in a Ryodan-centric story). Mac has been, for me, the weakest part of the last few books, so I am very excited to see where things go from here.

I also picked up Phantom Kiss. It is the next-to-last story in Chloe Neill‘s Chicagoland Vampires series, and it was a quick little ghost-story with some lead-up to the Merit and Ethan wedding. It wasn’t bad at all, but if you skip it you aren’t missing anything pertinent, either. I do like this series, but it never did become one of my “must reads”. I am interested in seeing where the spin-off goes, though.

And I am just finishing up a re-read of the whole Dragon Kin series from G.A. Aiken. This has been fun, and as a bonus I can actually keep most of the characters straight now. I had completely forgotten so many of the early stories and characters it was like discovering a whole new series. This one is always good for a laugh, and makes a nice change of pace.

But the absolute highlight of my week, month, and most anticipated of the year was White Hot from Ilona Andrews. I whined, begged, and spammed until I got a review copy, and it was everything I hoped and a whole lot more. Burn For Me is one of my favorite books, and I loved this one even more. It has all of the great characters and storylines of the first book, but we dive even further into the magical side of things, the house structure – and the abilities of Nevada’s family. I can’t quite explain to you how badly I wanted to get my hands on this one – and I worried that maybe I had set my expectations too high. I am so glad to say that I hadn’t set them high enough, because this was one hell of a follow up book. There are currently only three books contracted, but I could honestly see the Hidden Legacy series going on indefinitely. I hope.

So, that long-winded post wraps up my week. How was yours? Did you have any great reads this week? What did you think of the final Fever book – and did you find yourself over Mac’s POV like I did? Where do you see it going from here?

14 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap Up

  1. Angela says:

    Aghhh I’m dying for Wild Hot to come out! So jealous that you know what happens — I’m literally counting down the days in my planner. Can’t wait for more excerpts to come out from Ilona Andrews’ emails.

    • aprilbrookshire says:

      I’m jealous too. That’s the number one book I’m looking forward to this year! And the third book comes out only 2 months later! After only the first book it became one of my favorite series.

      • kaleigha says:

        As much as I am dying to get my hands on Wildfire, I can bide my time. I don’t know why, but I couldn’t for White Hot. I was whiny and desperate, and it was so worth it.

  2. Tracey says:

    I can’t wait for the next Hidden Legacy book to come out. In the meantime I have been reading Ella Summer’s Dragon Born series which is so very much like Burn For Me. Or, perhaps, more like a first draft Ilona Andrews because as good as it is, it is still not as good as the real deal. Hurry up White Hot!

  3. cheryl says:

    You have totally impressed me with your reading marathon and watching Game of Thrones, too. I am in a slump and have several books that are new to me and I just can’t seem to get into them even though I wanted them when I got them. Sigh.
    So I am doing a complete series re-read of Charlie Davidson series by D. Jones and I am up to book 5… I forgot so much.

    • kaleigha says:

      I loathe those slumps, and I just know that when I get into one I am not being fair to the books on my radar. And then I don’t feel like going back to them later, either.

      It never fails to surprise me how much I forget when I do a re-read, even of a favorite series. Like with the Dragon Kin books – I had no clue about some of the stories at all, and it wasn’t like I read them decades ago, either.

  4. pals20 says:

    Yaayy, you finally started watching GoT. You should make a post or two about the series as you are watching it, I would love to read about and comment on your rants (and there will be rants!!) about the series and the picturisation. I too started reading the books but got stuck about halfway through book 2. I dunno why I got stuck because the writing is incredible,

    Also, I was supposed to start Feversong this past weekend but real life got in the way. I’m travelling this coming weekend so hopefully I can read then.. 😦

    And I am STILL jealous that you got an ARC of White Hot. All I got was that tiny little snippet of Wildfire (Nevada’s book 3) that Ilona shared few days back… Waiting eagerly for the release Cheers!!

    • kaleigha says:

      I have been pretty sucked in so far. Over the years, even though I didn’t watch the show, I did manage to keep current with episode recaps and youtube videos, though. But I still find myself doing homework because some of the names aren’t sticking.

  5. Shannon c says:

    So glad to here Ilona Andrews next book is as good as I hoped it will be. Can not wait to read it! Loced the first one. 😊

    • kaleigha says:

      I am so ready for a re-read of White Hot, too. I want to get some of the magical designations straightened out in my head.

  6. bfmason50 says:

    I love Game of Thrones the show. The books are way different then the series itself. There is stuff that happens on a different time table then in the books. A Lot of the changes are not the more subtle changes that happen in movies and books like maybe Harry Potter series. Like how in the final movie the battle between Voldemort and Harry Potter was changed. But drastic changes like the movie vs book of Divergent. I tried reading the books of Game of Thrones but it was brutally hard to do it. I ended up listening to the books since it was easier to get through the amount of extra detail that was not really needed in my opinion. Like in one of the books their was like 20 minutes of 2 characters discussing all the flags, and leaders of one of the groups fighting for control of the realms.

    Ps. I just purchased the 11th book of Charlie Davidson series. I wont be able to download it for about another 90 minutes since I am in Pacific Time zone.

  7. lemonamour says:

    Must warn you the secondary characters in GoT books are more numerous than any other series you will probably ever read. He can spend 100 pages telling you a story about someone’s life you may never hear from again. Many times I wish I had one of your guides to go along with his books. LOL

    And thanks for letting me know Dageus’ fate was still up in the air. I too pulled an all-nighter and thought perhaps in my haze I missed what had become of Dageus.

Leave a Reply

