Pick of the Week

January has been a pretty decent reading month so far, and this week continues the trend. There are a couple of books I have been looking forward to, but I am going to have to give the nod to an old favorite. Today is the release day for Christine Feehan‘s Power Game, the 13th Ghostwalker book (and the 1st one to be released in hardcover). A couple of years ago, this series was at the very top of my favorites list, but a few changes and inconsistencies over the last couple of stories has dropped it down my list a bit, but I still have high hopes. And I am interested to see what changes (if any) happen with the format change.

power gameSynopsis…

When radical terrorists take hostages in Indonesia, Captain Ezekiel Fortunes is called to lead the rescue team. Part of a classified government experiment, Zeke is a super soldier with enhanced abilities. He can see better, run faster, disappear when necessary, and hunt the enemy along any terrain. There are those in the world willing to do anything for power like that…

A formidable spy genetically engineered to hide in plain sight, Bellisia rarely meets a man who doesn’t want to control her or kill her. But Zeke’s different. His gaze, his touch, they awaken feelings inside her she never thought possible. He’s the kind of man she could settle down with—if she can keep him alive…

It was Power Game or Eleventh Grave from Darynda Jones, but I still have hopes that the Ghostwalkers can go back to the “old” style and climb back up to be one of my favorite series. Do you think it can pull out of hole it was in for the last couple of books, what with the total change in tone and style? Are you holding out any hope for a switchback?

6 thoughts on “Pick of the Week

  1. library addict says:

    I’m still holding out hope. But really the only way I see it happening is if she shifts the focus back to teams 1 and 2. And makes the characters less like superheroes who can do ANYTHING. It was partially the vulnerabilities of the first two groups that made those stories work so well.

    I’m stil debating if I want to buy it for Agency price in digital or wait for my library to get it. A few years ago it would have been a no brainer, but like you the last few books have made me leery.

    • kaleigha says:

      Yeah, I got my copy yesterday and I didn’t even start it yet. I dove into my review copy of A Darkness Absolute instead.

  2. cheryl says:

    I am 60% into Power Game and it reads more like the earlier books in the series.
    So far so good. I hope it continues.
    Darynda Jones is on my list to read next or at least soon.

    • kaleigha says:

      I am finding myself meh on the latest Charley Davidson book. Not bad, but it just seems off to me. Or maybe it is just me. MIght have to whine about that in a post later if my interest doesn’t kick in.

  3. library addict says:

    I checked it out from the library, then ended up buying the digital version as well.

    There were parts I really enjoyed, and others not so much.

    She’s now added even more characters to what was already a huge cast. There are people from the original group of ophans and teams one and two I really want stories for. I like team 4 more than team 3, but honestly Joe is the only one of the later teams who’d make my “really, really want a story for” list.

    I was very happy we finally got some forward momentum in the overarching plot with this book. And I was also happy to be right about two of the characters’ motivations (trying not to be spoilery for those who haven’t yet read it).

    • kaleigha says:

      At least it sounds better than the last two. Well, I didn’t hate them or anything, but they didn’t feel like a Ghostwalker book to me at all. This sounds promising, though.

Leave a Reply

