Pick of the Week

There aren’t a lot of series that you can point to that have 40+ highly successful books. There are even fewer yet that still feel fresh and exciting that far in. Hell, to be honest, a lot of series half that length are starting to show their age and make me think that they are overstaying their welcome. But J.D. Robb‘s In Death books are still going strong, and show no sign of slowing down. My pick of the week is #44, Echoes in Death.

echoes in deathSynopsis…

After a party in New York, Lieutenant Eve Dallas rides home with her billionaire husband, Roarke, happy to be done with cocktails and small talk.

After another party, not far away, a woman retires to her bedroom with her husband—and walks into a brutal nightmare.

Their paths are about to collide…

When the young woman—dazed, naked, and bloody—wanders in front of their car, Roarke slams on the brakes just in time, and Eve, still in glittering gown and heels, springs into action. It’s been a long night for the tired homicide cop, and it’s far from over.

Daphne Strazza is rushed to the ER, but it’s too late for Dr. Anthony Strazza. A brilliant orthopedic surgeon, he now lies dead amid the wreckage of his obsessively organized town house, his three safes opened and emptied. Daphne would be a valuable witness, but in her terror and shock the only description of the perp she can offer is repeatedly calling him “the devil” . . .

While it emerges that Dr. Strazza was cold, controlling, and widely disliked—and that he treated Daphne like a trophy wife—this is one case where the evidence doesn’t point to the spouse as the first suspect. So Eve and her team must get started on the legwork, interviewing everyone from dinner-party guests to professional colleagues to caterers, in a desperate race to answer some crucial questions:

What does the devil look like? And where will he show up next?

I am only on In Death #12, I admit, but I am still loving them and I can’t see that changing. I do spread them out a bit, but I could honestly see myself happily marathoning a bunch of them and not getting bored at all. I look forward to each new story, and every book is a treat. How far are you into the In Death series? Has your interest waned at all, or are you still a fan?

14 thoughts on “Pick of the Week

  1. Monika says:

    Actually I read quite some Nora Roberts books before she started her in Death series almost 22! years ago. I don’t read much Nora Roberts anymore, but after all this time I am still a huge fan of Eve and Roark and the whole crew and I am still looking forward to each new book. There have been a few installments now and then that I didn’t find as strong as the others, but I still love the series after all this time and I still read each new book as it is released. I do think this is the longest running series I have followed and that I still love. I hadn’t even realized that the series has been running for 22 years as in “book-time” only about 3 years or thereabout have past.

    • kaleigha says:

      I did pick up a couple of Nora Roberts books a while back, mostly because I thought they had beautiful covers. They weren’t bad, but I didn’t like them enough to continue on, if you know what I mean. Definitely don’t have that problem with the In Death books, though.

      • library addict says:

        Her NR books are all obver the map. Waht’s nice is that she’s written in so many subgenres there’s something for everybody. But I have never met anyone who loves all of her books. Even within her trilogies, I usually don’t like all the characters. But you can’t really judge her NR books by a small sampling. She’s written many books I loved, a few I’ve hated, and a lot somewhere in the middle.

  2. Jan says:

    I’ve only read 2 books in this series so far and I’m really enjoying them. I’ve been getting my copies from the library because there’s just to many to buy. I probably won’t do a marathon read but can see myself reading them on and off. Love the mysteries. The discussions on this site are what got me interested in this series and I’m really thankful for that.

  3. MJ Hunter says:

    I own all of them in audio format and have read each of them multiple times. I announced yesterday to partner, that the next audiobook would arrive today and I will start it tonight. Love this entire series. I do still read/listen to Nora’s stand alone books, but the In Death series is my favorite of all of her series.

  4. library addict says:

    I think the earlier books had more a sense of discovery, but then again I have also reread them the most. I used to do a complete series reread with every new release, but that got to be way to much by the time the series went hardcover.

    Some of the books in the latter half of the series are hit-and-miss. However, a “bad” In Death book is still miles above a lot of “good” books by other authors. I just hold this series to a very high standard.

    It’s impossible to talk about the book that disappointed me the most without spoilers.

    I am so glad I read the series as it released spoiler free because the most memorable books are the ones with personal revelations and I wouldn’t have wanted to know any of those details. The surprises are what made the books. There are also books in the series I love for the cases. And the really best ones are the ones that work on both levels.

    I would put Echoes in the top half of the series, it just wasn’t up to “instant fave” status. But again, the series is held to a much tougher standard.

  5. cheryl says:

    I have so many of her books it is kind of scary to see how many their are.
    I don’t go out and buy the hardbacks anymore … I get the digital now.. saves room.
    I have to admit she rarely writes a bad In Death book and her early books in her career are some of my favorites. As I age my tastes change so her Nora Roberts books are more of a hit and miss. I have to absolutely rave about two of them, though: THE WITNESS AND WHISKEY BEACH

    • snapdragon says:

      I just finished listening to Whisky Beach on Tuesday. I really enjoyed that the main character was male in that book. I believe it made a huge improvement to the story.

  6. Maria says:

    I’ve read all her books, even though the last 2 or three trilogies looked and felt exactly alike. But I can’t help it, if there’s a book out by her, I’ll read it. As years pass, I find myself more atuned with the various in Death than her contemporary. About the last one, I read it yesterday afternoon, non stop. Maybe it’s not her best, but she delivered, as always.

  7. saidahgilbert says:

    Wow! This series is 22 years old?! That’s almost as old as I am. I have read all of the In Death series. I have all the paperbacks except for the last three in the series. I don’t collect the novellas but I have read those as well. Long-running series are my favourite kind of books but most series of that kind tend to get repetitive or filibuster-y. In Death hasn’t gotten there yet so I am still looking forward to each book. I prefer the books where the focus is more on the characters in the world rather than how the murder mystery reminds Lt. Dallas of her past, though. Unless the murder mystery and past parallels lead to new revelations.

  8. Charleen says:

    I just finished it last night – this series never gets old to me! Great book but the topic may be too disturbing for some (rape). I do think it was handled in a very sympathetic manner.

  9. snapdragon says:

    I just picked up my copy from the library last night. I have paperback, CD and e-book Audible editions of this series. I just refuse to buy them in hard back.

Leave a Reply

