Reading Wrap Up

I am hoping to have a Weekly Wrap Up feature every Sunday, looking back at what we all read over the past week. At least, that is the plan. Maybe we can even have it as an open discussion thread for the books that were released in the past week, that sort of thing. At least, that is the goal.

eleventh grave in moonlightIt took a while, but I finally got around to Eleventh Grave in Moonlight from Darynda Jones. I find myself torn over this one, honestly, and it probably isn’t going to be the popular opinion. The first half or so didn’t really work for me. I didn’t feel the usual connection between Reyes and Charley – they came of more as adversaries than a couple, at least to me. Once they get back on the same page, I got more into the story, but it took a while.

I have found myself struggling a little bit with the Charley Davidson series the last few books, and I couldn’t figure out why. Then it finally clicked when I was reading this one – I am not a huge fan of the God angle. I like Charley the reaper and Reyes the son of Satan, whose daughter is destined to save the world. I don’t even mind Charley with her “extra” powers. But God Charley and God Reyes and the Gods of Uzan and the bad God Eidolon and Gods in the God Glass and Reyes’ big brother the God Jehovah doesn’t quite do it for me. I find myself skimming all of those sections just to get back to the day-to-day of Charley and Reyes and the great supporting cast. Hopefully I can get more on board with it, since it doesn’t look like that storyline is going anywhere soon.

power gameNext up was Christine Feehan‘s Power Game, the thirteenth GhostWalker book (and the first to be released in hardcover. The last two books were ok, but different. Like way heavy on the Alphahole and the Doormat scale of things. They didn’t feel like they belonged to the series at all, but Power Game seems to bring things back in line again. I liked this one quite a bit, and I have to say it was a relief to back to the “old style” GhostWalker books. In fact, Wyatt and Trap don’t even make an appearance, so it was like their two stories never happened.

I wasn’t completely thrilled when I knew this book was going to be a return to the swamp, but Power Game got me interested in team four again. I still miss the first teams, and I would like to see a return to some of the original girls like Cami, but I am ok with more of team four, too. All in all, I like this one. A few missteps and changes in tone gave my love of the series a few hits over the last couple of years, but things seem to be back on the right track.

betrayal-in-deathThere really isn’t much to say about Betrayal in Death from J.D. Robb. It is the twelfth book of the In Death series and I show no signs of slowing down on the series. I am still excited when it is time to pick up a new book, and I find myself compulsively devouring them.

The supporting cast is great in this one, and I so enjoy getting glimpses of Roarke’s past life. The bad guy in this one was a particular scum-bag, and his takedown made me very happy. I don’t always like Eve, honestly, and sometimes I think that Roarke gets the short end of the stick when it comes to where he falls in her life, but she is getting better at putting him first. I save these in the UK paperback version, and they look awesome on the shelf. Onto the next one!

how to tame a beast in seven daysI wasn’t too lucky with How to Tame a Beast in Seven Days, though. It was my first Kerrelyn Sparks book, and since this is a new series I thought it would be a good chance to check one of the authors on my “must try” list off. Unfortunately, though, I wasn’t a big fan of the book. I won’t go into details since it was a NetGalley copy and I will be upping my full, rambling review probably next week, but it fell pretty flat for me. It wasn’t a bad story, and I liked the potential, but there wasn’t any tension, any drama, any sense of excitement. It was almost a DNF – not because I hated it, but just because I found it too easy. It is hard for me to get involved in the story when it seems like the characters themselves aren’t. I am probably going to be in the minority for this one, but I guess it just didn’t work for me. If you are looking for a light, breezy read with a decent love story, it might work out better for you.

I picked up A Game of Thrones and A Clash of Kings from George R.R. Martin, and I picked up e-book copies of The Sweetest Dark and The Darkest Night from Shana Abe, to go along with The Fiercest Joy. I already have them in hardcover, but I think the third book (which is supposed to be out this week) will be e-format so now they match. And I got Blade Bound, the final Chicagoland Vampires book from Chloe Neill, as a review copy. Looks like I won’t be bored this week, either.

How about you? What did you manage to read this week? What did you think of any of the “big” releases from the last couple of weeks?

16 thoughts on “Reading Wrap Up

  1. dougmeeks says:

    Kerrelyn Sparks books are a mixed bag, some I really liked and some crossed the line into really silly. I have this one also but since it does not release until 7 Mar I have not read it yet, I was hoping it might be really good, sounds like I might be wrong LOL

    • kaleigha says:

      Nah, I think I am way in the minority on my thoughts for this one. I looked around Goodreads after I wrote mine up, and pretty much everyone else really liked it.

  2. Anthea says:

    I can guarantee that your interest in the In Death serious will never decrease. I have read all the books in the series (With Anthologies). You must read the Anthologies as there are snippets that is referred to in later books.

    You will LOVE Innocent In Death. Totally awesome.

    Currently patiently waiting for Echoes in Death to be available in South Africa.

    Regards
    Anthea

  3. Barbara says:

    Glad I am not the only one bothered by the God angle in Darynda Jones’s series. Let’s hope it will go back to Charley. Reyes and the gang.

    • kaleigha says:

      Yeah, as soon as the God stuff comes up, I find myself drifting off. As soon as Osh and the gang show up, I am back on track.

  4. Monika says:

    I think I share your trouble with the “god angle” development in the Charley Davidson series, although I couldn’t put my finger on what was bothering me until you pointed it out, but that’s exactly it!
    I seem to suffer from “reading fatigue” since the beginning of the year, I have hard read any fiction books, mostly I am just reading US related political commentary and there is some new outrage every day. I still have to finish Breath of Fire by Amanda Bouchet (after the promising start of the first book I find it quite disappointing) and I have downloaded Feversong (I think I have to re-read the whole series since it has become kind of hazy in my mind), Power Game by Feehan (the reviews I have read so far sound promising) and the Eleventh Grave (which, after your remarks I am in no hurry to tackle).
    I did read Echoes in Death by J. D. Robb and although I knew who the perpetrator was after 40% there still was a twist at the end that I didn’t see coming and Eve did manage to attend a function with Roark without having to be forced at gun point
    I don’t know whether I am allowed to mention it here since it is more of a Sci-Fi deal of the kind alien-invaders-conquer-the-earth-and-end-up-with-human-mates, but I loved Infinity’s Embrace by Anna Carven (Dark Planet Warrior’s #6) and it is a lot less cheesier than it sounds and my favorite book of the series so far. It’s about a blind assassin that has been put under a mind compulsion to kill the enemies of his mistress and in order to to so he has been deprieved of his sense of sight and of speech in order to hone his other senses and to keep him from interacting with others. He is taken prisoner when he all of a sudden discovers another mind that he can communicate with. My only gripe with Anna Carven’s book is that they tend to be a bit on the short side (just over 200 pages) and could stand to be more fleshed out.
    I also waited impatiently for Cyborg Legacy by Lindsay Buroker (also more of a Sci-Fi book, minus the romance), where Leonidas teams up with another former cyborg to solve the murders of some of their own. Loved seeing Leonidas as a father and also seeing that he can still kick ass.

    • kaleigha says:

      Actually, both of the sci-fi books sound interesting. I don’t wander into sci-fi too often, but it might be an interesting change of pace.

      • Monika says:

        Cyborg Legacy is actually a spin-off (or continuation) of Buroker’s Fallen Empire series, so you should probably start with Star Nomad, the first book in the series.

  5. cheryl says:

    I actually had a hard time finishing Eleventh Grave and it isn’t the God angle, although it is getting a little overblown… it is just not as funny or I want more of a group interaction instead of world killing stuff.
    I haven’t got to the new J.D.Robb book yet. Hoping to get it from the library.
    I ordered and read Power Game in one sitting… it was so much better than the last 3 books. It was a pleasant surprise.
    I also got the new Wen Spencer book, The Black Wolves of Boston… book one in a series and it was great. I would give it 4 stars out of 5. Not bad for a first book and different type of set up.

    • kaleigha says:

      Yeah, there was a distinct lack of “the gang” this time around. Maybe a brief sighting of Garrett, no Quentin at all, and a bit of Osh. I did like Shawn, but…yeah. Hope to see him again.

  6. onetoughbelle says:

    Read the new J.D. Robb this weekend. Great book as usual! I had to laugh at your comment about not liking Eve very much sometimes and Roarke getting the short end of the stick. I think that’s one of the major things that keeps this series going: Eve’s continued personal evolution and the deepening of Eve and Roarke’s marriage. I really enjoy that she didn’t just turn into this great wife. It’s a lot of work for her to stop and think about other people and what they need. And it makes sense that it would take years of work for Eve, given the trauma she experienced and never even began dealing with until that first case where she met Roarke. As of Echos, I think they’ve been married going on 4 years, which really isn’t that long, but Eve becomes more human with every book. This will always be a favorite series of mine.

    • Monika says:

      I think they have been married for less time. The whole series encompasses less than 3 years. Naked in Death was set in 2058 and now (Echoes in Death) we have winter of 2061… I have to admit it seemed a lot longer to me, too. (I don’t remember in which book they got married, but it wasn’t right away, was it?)

      • Kim says:

        I think quite often the books follow almost immediately, sometimes only a day or two after, so that’s why the time frame is actually quite short. I too like watching Eve’s evolution into a more connected human being, not just with Roarke but almost everyone in her life. There’s a few times when she makes an effort for Roarke, often with help from supporting characters, her angst when things don’t go to her plan make me just want to hug her…although she would be horrified by that. One of the other things I like is how supporting characters pop in and out just like friends and colleagues do in real life.

        • kaleigha says:

          I actually kind of like that I don’t always like Eve – I like the rough angles. Over the last couple of books I have read, I do see her instinctively putting Roarke first more often, even before whatever case she is working on. She seems to be “settling in”, for want of a better word, but it is a process.

  7. Haylo says:

    I was coming to say the same thing about Eve. I think that her not being perfect is what makes it work. It would seem completely false for someone who went through what she did as a child to just be able to get over it. She wasn’t a fully functional adult until she met Roarke. She had friends in Mavis and Freeny buy even then they weren’t really integrated in her life. They were at arm’s length. So her evolution is just so real to me.

    There’s one book (I;m not sure if you’ve gotten to it yet) where she lashes out at Roarke because of something similar that has come up in each of their lives but it turned out good for him and rotten for her. I found that moment so poignant because I think that’s exactly how someone would react. Like christ after everything i’ve been through can’t this one thing work out?

Leave a Reply

