Book of the Month – Etched in Bone

Even though March continues to be a pretty epic release month, I’m sure that there aren’t many of us who are surprised that the new Others book from Anne Bishop was quite definitively chosen as the book of the month. Etched in Bone is the final book in this first arc featuring blood prophet Meg and the Lakeside Courtyard, but there are thankfully more stories set in this world to come. Some series are hard to let go of, and this would be one.

etched in boneSynopsis…

After a human uprising was brutally put down by the Elders—a primitive and lethal form of the Others—the few cities left under human control are far-flung. And the people within them now know to fear the no-man’s-land beyond their borders—and the darkness…

As some communities struggle to rebuild, Lakeside Courtyard has emerged relatively unscathed, though Simon Wolfgard, its wolf shifter leader, and blood prophet Meg Corbyn must work with the human pack to maintain the fragile peace. But all their efforts are threatened when Lieutenant Montgomery’s shady brother arrives, looking for a free ride and easy pickings.

With the humans on guard against one of their own, tensions rise, drawing the attention of the Elders, who are curious about the effect such an insignificant predator can have on a pack. But Meg knows the dangers, for she has seen in the cards how it will all end—with her standing beside a grave.

11 thoughts on “Book of the Month – Etched in Bone

  1. bfmason50 says:

    How about some predictions for this book?
    1. One of the characters with a PoV will die in this book, my guess a Sanguinati either Vlad or Nyx.
    2. Prairie Gold will get a blood prophet.
    3. Meg is a descendant of the old women that gave Simon the prophecy when he was younger.

    What are your predictions?

    • kaleigha says:

      I hope not Vlad – I still have hopes he will one day get his own story. It wouldn’t surprise me if we lost a couple of the wolves, though.

      • bfmason50 says:

        Kaleigha, Note you have a small error on your “The Others character guide” I noticed one under Jesse Walker. You have it as “first appearance in Marked in Death” not “Marked in Flesh”. I did a quick search you also have the wrong book title for 2 other characters of (Floyd Tanner – Intuit, Wyatt Beargard – Bear Shifter). BTW I really enjoy these character guides they help out so much!!!

  2. Cassandra B. says:

    I think all your predictions could be right. I have a feeling something bad will happen, this is not regular romance. I am not sure if the Meg’s family will come up. Has there been any suggestion that they could find her family? I haven’t done a reread in a while. I used to reread before a new release, but the deaths at the flea market hit me hard and a straight reread is not something I want to do right now, so I am not as fresh as I could be.

    I am curious what trouble Monty’s brother causes and how it is resolved. I doubt he kills anyone or causes any one to die or it seems like the Elders would kill all humans. Regardless, I am very excited to read this book.

    • bfmason50 says:

      If a re-read may be hard you may want to listen to the audio books. The audio books for the Other series is really great. They are almost as good as the reader that Ilona Andrews for the Kate Daniels series. Since I work multiple jobs I mainly listen to books not reading.

  3. cheryl says:

    Longest week ever for new releases to come out:
    I am so torn… want to read Etched in Bone and Silence Broken by Patricia Briggs at the same time.. no have to be strong and pick one and devote my time to it. I love all the releases in March but kind of wish they would spread them around a bit more.
    Heck … I even want to read the next Others book based on new characters and town and that baby is down the road awhile before it releases.

    • kaleigha says:

      That is actually my problem…too many good ones (and finales) too close together, and I get greedy and don’t take my time and enjoy them as I should. I always enjoy the re-read down the line, though.

  4. bfmason50 says:

    I have been curious about Monty brother. I wonder if some how he is linked to the “Big-Wigs” that Asia was affiliated with. Those backers in many ways are a big reason why there’s so much strain between the humans and the others. Who they were is one of the loose ends that was never tied up in Written in Red (bk 1). The HFL movement became the big nemesis after the elimination of the controller in book 2. But Asia was a key part in the troubles, that got the war going.
    There has been no direct references to finding out who Megs family, besides some allusions to family references. She has referred to vague memories of a little boy that was like a brother to her. In Marked in Flesh (bk 4) Jesse Walker says she has a vague memory of who the old women when she saw the vision drawing of a young Simon, and Meg with the Trailblazer deck of cards.

  5. bfmason50 says:

    So those that have read or listened to this book what are your thoughts? Mine is very hard to give a rating review, since this book did not completely seem like a finish of the Arc book. Don’t get me wrong I love the others world that Anne Bishop created, but the whole Jimmy thing seemed annoying at times. It was like after sever of his missteps they never disciplined like they normally would if he was not Monties brother. Yes the Elders said you can not kill him but they never said they could not do serious discipline. Monty’s character always has been a bit of a bug for me since he understands why the others do discipline but he never really wants them to do that.

    Where was the romance that we had hints of at the end of Marked in Flesh? I am relistening to the book now. The more I hear Jimmy and his wife makes me think I was listening to politicians.

  6. peeeeaches says:

    I was also disappointed by this book…it fell very flat for me and is probably my least favorite in the series…I found myself skipping over the parts about Jimmy and his family.

Leave a Reply

