Weekly Wrap Up

ceremony in deathOnce again, I didn’t get as much read this week as I had originally planned on. I am doing a re-read of Ceremony in Death from J.D. Robb for the character guide, which is always great, and it made me notice how much things have changed. While Ceremony is the 5th book of the series, I am also doing a “first-time read” of Seduction in Death, which is something like book 13. What is really standing out from reading them at the same time is how much Eve and Roarke’s relationship has evolved. Eve especially is much less wary and much more accepting of the realness of Roarke’s feelings, and I can image that that only continues as the books go on (and on. And on). It is so nice to have a consistently good series to look forward to, and with 30+ more books to go, I won’t run out of reading material for the foreseeable future.

into the fireFor some weird reason, I wasn’t that excited to get my hands on Into the Fire by Jeaniene Frost. I was looking forward to it in a general way, but not in the whole “countdown the minutes” fangirlyness I can sometimes pull. But weirdly enough, when I got my copy in the mail, I couldn’t wait to dive in. I read almost all of it in one overnight stretch, and it turns out I really enjoyed it. Details from the previous books came back to me pretty quickly, and there was lots of Ian to keep me happy (so looking forward to him and Veritas in the Night Rebel books). I might be wrong, but did anyone else get a whole Maximus and Gretchen vibe? Not sure how I feel about that, since Gretchen annoys me a bit. She always gave me a Justine-lite feeling, which isn’t a compliment.

What did you pick up this week? Any great reads to share? What did you think of the Night Prince wrap up?

21 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap Up

  1. cheryl says:

    I am impatiently waiting for the new Patty Briggs bk and trying to get psyched up for the new Incrpytid book coming out by Seanan McGuire but not feeling it.
    Sadly to say haven’t read the newest J.D. Robb book … I am in a slump.
    I am hoping that the new Mercy book will start my motor and get me outta the book blahs.

    • kaleigha says:

      I am going to do Etched in Bone this week, and save Silence Fallen for next week. Hopefully I won’t get greedy and rush through the first one to get to the second one that way. I hope.

      • kaleigha says:

        You can pretty much always depend on a Patricia Briggs book to be great. Not a ton of authors you can say that about, but she is one.

        • deborahkehoe says:

          Mercy Thompson is one of my favorite female protagonists and Patricia Briggs is consistently great. I wonder if the loss of her husband this year will influence her writing?

    • kaleigha says:

      It is the final book in Vlad and Leila’s story, yep, but Ian will get his own series called Night Rebel. And from the vibes I got, it wouldn’t surprise me a ton if Maximus and Gretchen didn’t get their own little spin-off somewhere down the line, too.

  2. Kathleen says:

    I just read a really fun ebook, “Playing with Fire – A Magical Romantic Comedy” by RJ Blain. It reminded me somewhat of Lisa Shearin’s SPI Files (which I like) and had fun romance and snarky humor. Amazon US has it on sale for $0.99 πŸ™‚

    • kaleigha says:

      If I recall correctly, I read one of the SPI Files novellas a while back and liked it, but not sure why I didn’t continue on with it.

      • Kathleen says:

        The novella of the SPI Files was in the Night Shift anthology where our heroine uses her ability to see through glamour to track a leprechaun on his bachelor party.
        The author of “Playing With Fire” appears to have tried a number of themes on past books and doesn’t have much on Goodreads, but Diana Pharoah Francis tweeted she liked this book so I tried it. The heroine’s major ability is an immunity to magic that qualifies her to clean up scenes for the CDC and she can be pretty crabby about it. The book doesn’t end with a cliffhanger, but there are lots of interesting characters and an interesting take on magical bureaucracy so I really hope for a series.

        • RJ Blain says:

          This is probably going to be a bit weird, but hello!

          There’s going to be more Magical Romantic Comedies, but Quinn and Bailey’s next book won’t happen until later. (Maybe book #5 or so?) So far, new couple each book, but… yes. There will be more! The second one is finished, I just have a line of books and my editor keeps giving me the death glare. (Eep!) So, I’m hoping the end of the year for book #2. Book #3 is about half done as well.

          As for goodreads, thanks for the reminder–I need to get a librarian to merge Playing with Fire with my author profile.

          (Sorry to butt in, just… saw the comment about hoping for a series and wanted to confirm it will be a series. The next book is called Hoofin’ It, and book #3 will be called No Kitten Around.)

  3. library addict says:

    I loved Ceremony in Death. There’s a part of me that envies you discovering the books in that series for the first time. You’ve got some great ones still to come.

    This week I enjoyed Shannon Stacey’s return to her Kowalski series with What It Takes. She writes humorous contemporary romances.

    And I started my Psy/Changeling reread early this year. I am rereading everything in chronological order for the first time (usually I reread in published order). I am just starting Mine to Possess.

    • kaleigha says:

      It is kind of weird, because while I am only 13 books in, each story is still distinct in my mind. You would figure that they would start to blur together, but nope.

      I envy you the Psy/Changeling re-read. I did it for the character guide, and I picked up so much more from it the second time around.

  4. Kim says:

    I’ve got the new Sherrilyn Kenton League book Born in Vengeance for this week. I always find them hard to start and get into but love them and the characters when I’ve finished them. I’m not sure why. I can’t walk away from any of her series but find them almost a chore to read. Looking forward to the next Others though 😘

    • kaleigha says:

      I read the League back in my early days and enjoyed them, but I gave up all of my Kenyon books a few months back. You nailed it, though – I did enjoy most of her books, but it became a chore to make myself read them.

  5. Jan says:

    Just finished “Into the Fire” and it didn’t catch me like the other books did. I think ending that series at three books would have had more impact. This book felt more like a bridge to Ian’s book. The best part for me was Ian. I’m really looking forward to him and Veritas. It should be fun. I

    I’ve started “Darkness Absolute ” by Kelley Armstrong book 2 in her City of the Lost series. I love her writing. I’m also a big Cainsville fan. But what I’m really waiting for though is Patricia Briggs’ “Silence Fallen”.

    • kaleigha says:

      Ian was the star of Into the Fire for me, but I don’t remember him being quite so over the top. I mean he always had his ways, but it seemed like it was turned up to 1000 in this one. Definitely looking forward to seeing where his story goes. I really liked Darkness Absolute, too – it is different for me since I don’t read much that isn’t PNR or UF, but I tend to follow Kelley through whatever she writes.

  6. Loverofromance says:

    I really have enjoyed the Night Prince series, Vlad and Leila are just great. I am so excited to see Ian though. I am going to be picking this up soon just debating if I want it in e book form or audio since I hear the narration is fabulous. I so agree, Gretchen is so annoying and I don’t like her attitude, pretty selfish.

    • kaleigha says:

      I think it was Maximus who said that Gretchen is only annoying when Leila is around, which is the only time we saw her, so there might be hope for her yet.

Leave a Reply

