Reading Wrap Up

I swear, I have been trying to make the reading wrap up a regular Sunday feature, but it just seems that I keep missing the mark. On the bright side, though, I did get both Silence Fallen from Patricia Briggs and Etched in Bone by Anne Bishop done. With varying degrees of success.

silence_fallen_layout.inddSilence Fallen was up first, and I really liked it. I enjoyed seeing Mercy on her own, fighting her own battles (and winning), but I liked seeing Adam without Mercy even more. I don’t remember any other books in the series where Adam played such a large role – or was seen more as pack Alpha than Mercy’s mate. I liked seeing that side of him, and I liked how much faith he had in Mercy to get herself out of whatever situations were thrown at her. And Bran? So didn’t see that coming. It was definitely a winner for me.

I know that there is a Tom and Moira book in the works, and next March is the fifth Alpha and Omega release, but I would be so happy to see stories for Bran, Ben, Honey. I know it might be too much of a good thing, but I always find myself wanting more of them.

etched in boneAnd I am just finishing up Etched in Bone. Unfortunately, though, I can’t quite tell how I feel about it. Is it good? Yep. Is it end of the story arc, resolve everything good? I don’t think so. There was a pretty good sized chunk of story in the middle of the book where I was just waiting for…it. Something. The set up for the big finale. The progression of Simon and Meg. Hell, someone to get killed. And it didn’t happen. It was still a good book, and the ending kicked the drama up, but I guess I expected more of a finale for this arc. More of a “last book” feeling.

Ok, that wraps things up for me. What have you been up to? I am sure most of you already picked up both of these – what did you think?

10 thoughts on “Reading Wrap Up

  1. deborahkehoe says:

    Silence Fallen was great on several fronts. I did like seeing Adam as Alpha, but love when he and Mercy work together to get out of messes she creates. One of my favorite realizations from this book was when, I think, Bran said that wherever Mercy went Chaos followed? Something like that anyways. I think it was the first time someone else alluded to Coyote being her father, which was cool. I also like getting to know the vampires from a semi friendly angle. We only ever see them as enemies… I have Etched in Bone sitting next to me to read. Do they really not wrap the Simon and Meg arc? That’s going to frustrate the hell out of me!!

  2. cheryl says:

    I had a different problem.. I like Etched in Bone and on Patrica Briggs maybe because I listened to it rather than read it but I was a bit disappointed in Silence Fallen.
    Now after saying that … I would highly recommend them both.
    These authors on a bad day beat others by a mile… I think I had so much anticipation for these new releases that I might have set the bar too high.

    • kaleigha says:

      I think I had too many expectations for Etched, too. I figured that it would be a finale, rather than just a link to a new arc. Still a great read, but I thought it would be different.

  3. Isabel D. Fridge says:

    Oh my god, nothing’s happening between Simon and Meg? *panic* That’s my biggest interest in the whole story arch. Their interactions are what keeps me hooked on the story for the most part. If there is no conclusion, no big finale, I have to keep reading for someone I might not like just so I’ll catch a glimpse of Simon and Meg. I’m freaking out!

    • kaleigha says:

      I got finished last night, and they do make progress. Things are left in a good place, but more is implied than actually shown.

  4. Jan says:

    I listened to Silence Fallen by Patricia Briggs on audio and was disappointed to some extent because they added a male narrator for Adams point of view. This threw many fans off because Lorelei King does such an excellent job with the voices. I don’t understand why they would do that with such a popular long running series.

    I did enjoy the story although I have to admit I missed the rest of the gang and the tri-cities. It was great to see the vampires and other tri-city species working with the werewolves. Oh and the twist at the end! Wow I’m so clueless I didn’t get it until it was revealed. Patricia Briggs is at the top of my favourite authors list. I buy everything she writes both in hardcover and audio.

    I haven’t started Etched in Bone yet by Anne Bishop. Although I like this series it hasn’t grabbed me as much as the Mercy Thompson or Kate Daniels series. It bugs me when an author has a love interest that’s hangs and hangs through the series with limited growth. I don’t need lots of sex scenes but gee, give me some love:)

    • onetoughbelle says:

      One of the things I love about Anne Bishop and Patricia Briggs is that they don’t go for repeated and seriously graphic sex scenes. That said, I agree, I would have liked to seen a bit more progression on that part (although there’s nothing wrong with a fade to black!) of Simon and Meg’s story, especially given her implied history. I think it could have been very sweet and fulfilling and rounded their story out without the readers feeling left a big hanging.

  5. onetoughbelle says:

    I was sadly disappointed in Silence Fallen. I enjoyed having so much of Adam’s viewpoints, but I didn’t like the way Adam and Mercy’s viewpoints where at different time frames within the story. I also felt like the overall “world plot” wasn’t furthered. This seemed like filler to me. And convoluted filler at that! The twist at the end was too much for me. For the first time, instead of dying for the next installment of Mercy at the end of Silence Fallen, I was just “meh”. I love Mercy, but I wonder if it’s time to wrap up her story.

    I adored Etched in Bone, though!! I was on the edge of my seat the whole time! And while yes, I would have liked for there to be more Simon and Meg (is there ever enough?), I thought it was a nice place to leave them. It wasn’t so finite that the author couldn’t go back to Simon and Meg again, although I’m aware she’s said her stories in that world will take place elsewhere now,

Leave a Reply

