April’s Book of the Month

Honestly, I figured April’s book of the month was a toss up between Kresley Cole‘s Wicked Abyss, Chloe Neill‘s final Chicagoland Vampires book Blade Bound, and the ultimate winner, The Chosen from J.R. Ward. I would be way more excited about The Chosen if I could somehow rip Layla out of the book and choke her, but since I don’t see that happening I guess I will be grumbling a lot while reading it. And if you had told me even a few years ago that I would ever, ever be meh about the IAD series, I would’ve point blank laughed at you. But here I am. So, big books this month, but I still can’t get excited.

I think if there is one series I have that I badly need to re-read, the Black Dagger Brotherhood is it. About the only thing I remember about Wrath and Beth’s book is…Wrath and Beth are in it. Seriously. Nothing else at all. I am pretty much a blank on everything up to Phury’s story, honestly, and hazy after that. Are there any series that you think are desperately in need of a re-read on? I don’t know if I am getting old or just getting stupid, but I doing a re-watch of True Blood for the same reason – I know I liked it, I just don’t remember why. Oy.

6 thoughts on “April’s Book of the Month

  1. shannon says:

    I am not thrilled with this month’s releases. I gave up on Ward and Neil’s series. Cole’s IAD release Sweet Ruin was good – reminded me of her earlier books. I am going to give her next one a try.

    Someone told me Ward got better, so maybe I will give those another try sometime.

    • kaleigha says:

      I went through a spell with Ward where I really had to psych myself up to read one, because trying to keep all of the various storylines straight in my head was like studying for an exam, but I found the last couple much easier. They might have three or four plots going on, which is completely manageable, rather than the ten or twelve that some books had. As much as I tried to love the Chicagoland Vampires, I could only ever manage a like. The final book was the same.

  2. cheryl says:

    I get it … I really do. I just tried to do a re-read of Black Dagger Brotherhood because I loved the first 5 books. I cuddled up in my favorite chair with a tall glass of iced tea to the left of me and hunkered down for a good read.
    I lasted 3 chapters of book one and closed it and tried another one. I was bored and wondered why I didn’t like them anymore.
    I assume my tastes have changed and the book hasn’t. Sigh.
    I then tried a re-read of the early books of Nalini Singh’s Psy series and it had been so long it was like they were new again and I loved them.
    So some authors I can remember fondly and never re-read and some are like a hug just waiting for another visit.

    • kaleigha says:

      I know my tastes have changed, too. I think that is why I just can’t on the young adult anymore where I used to really enjoy them. Sad, really, but I don’t try to make myself read something that I am not involved in. Seems like a waste of time.

  3. Emma says:

    I recently went back to Women of the Otherworld and I found going back to Bitten was such a breath of fresh air. It had been years since I last read them. Way before 13 was published.
    I miss reading Keri Arthur, I haven’t read any of her older books in forever and I have them all.
    I wish I could go back to them, Lara Adrian, Ilona Andrews. I miss them all so much, but I just don’t have the time, so many other books I have to read. It’s kind of sad

    • kaleigha says:

      That was why I enjoy doing the character guides, honestly – it is necessary to do whole-series re-reads, and I don’t have to feel guilty about reading old books with so many new ones waiting for me.

Leave a Reply

