Reading Wrap Up

Hey everyone…time to check in and see what we all have been reading this past week (or so). Time is flying, ain’t it? Might be mild spoilers below, so proceed with caution.

blade boundI did get to Blade Bound from Chloe Neill, which I reviewed below. Not bad, but not as epic as I was hoping for. I did manage a solid liking for it, but then that was pretty much my feelings on the whole series right from the start. Good, but not one of my top picks. I am interested in checking out the upcoming spin-off, though, since I thought it looked like there were hints of who it would be about in the epilogue. Maybe. Does anyone else see a time jump with Connor and Elisa, or is it just me? I could be reaching, but finding out about the next series was what had me so interested to pick this one up. And I really like the idea of more about the shifters.

ward_comp.inddI also finished The Chosen from J.R. Ward. I went into it with a major case of the gags about Layla – she annoyed me to no end every single time she showed up in previous books. I went into her story prepared to loath every scene she was in…but I didn’t. I ended up liking her, honestly, which I never would’ve thought possible. But Qhuinn? Yeah, he was a tool who was in need of a really good beat-down, and Tohr rubbed me wrong with all of his woe-is-me crap for most of the book. And reading about V was like watching a train wreck. As much as I felt for him, he is straying into territory that you just don’t come back from. Ever. I am assuming his book is up next, and that could get ugly fast. I ended up really liking this one, even though the ending was a little heavy on the happy in happily ever after, but that was nice for a change. At least no one got a horrible wasting disease and died (cough*Selena*cough).

And for something a little lighter, I am just starting the newest Dragons of Eternity story from Alexandra Ivy, Charred by Darkness. I like these Guardians of Eternity spin-offs – they are fast reads, you don’t have to do a crash-course on past books to try and keep things straight, and you always get to see characters from previous books again. Of course, being a self-pubbed e-book, I had no clue it had even come out on March 28th. But no, I am not going to rant about trying to keep track of books for the new release pages that all of a sudden just appear. Nope. Not one word. Just read and enjoy.

What have you been up to this week? Anything new catch your eye, or are you working your way through any old favorites?

4 thoughts on “Reading Wrap Up

  1. Kim says:

    I’ve started the Midnight Breed series by Lara Adrian. The first one 0.5 Touched By Midnight, I liked. I had to start there as I’m obsessive about reading in order but it felt like it might have been written later than the others. I haven’t checked the publishing dates, it’s just even for a novella there wasn’t much world building. The second one I read, Kiss, I was a little creeped out by the sneaking in after the first meeting (hope that’s not too much of a spoiler!) but he kinda grew on me. Preferred the third one and starting Midnight Awakening today. They are not really doing it for me yet, but I don’t hate them enough to ditch them! Here’s hoping they get better πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

    • kaleigha says:

      I ditched the Midnight Breed books a couple of years back. They were always one that fell into the like-but-not-love category for me. I chugged along to get to Harvard’s story – which was an awesome book, with a great twist – and then I let it go. I weirdly enough seemed to enjoy most of the books, but they never stuck with me at all. Like the next day I couldn’t even remember the main character names.

  2. Gabrielle says:

    I finished reading The Chosen and loved it. I never really liked Layla either but in this book I was so rooting for her, especially when she took on Tohr. I agree the ending was very mushy but I’m just glad noone died. Its exciting that the Band and Brothers are going to be living and working together – though theres potential for a lot of problems.
    And V – what the hell!!
    Ward announced the next book is called The Thief and will be Assail and Sola’s story. I have a feeling it will be more about V though whose storyline is gling through a crisis the moment.
    I also thought that it was Balthazar who was known as the thief , so maybe we’ll see more of the Bastards – hope so.
    I also finished Obsidian Butterfly by Laurell K Hamilton. Out of all the Anita Balke books I liked this the least. Anita basically argued with mysoginist men, travelled and descibed every weapon and its history which I really don’t care about. It didn’t need to be 700 pages. Hopefully it was one a one off and the next book is better.

    • kaleigha says:

      That was like me…I was so rooting for a nice, happy ending since it really isn’t a guarantee anymore. I was glad to hear it was Assail and Sola, since I don’t know if I would’ve been looking forward to V being the main focus.

Leave a Reply

