Next Up From J.R. Ward

It was recently announced that J.R. Ward‘s upcoming 16th book of the Black Dagger Brotherhood series will be called The Thief, and it will be Sola and Assail’s story. But while we have to wait until April 3rd of next year for The Thief, we also have another story to look forward to. The third Black Dagger Legacy book will be called Blood Fury, and it will be released on January 9th. Looks like it is Novo and Peyton’s turn.

blood furySynopsis…

A tough vampire warrior in training and her fellow aristocratic trainee struggle to deny the attraction they feel for one another as they prepare for the looming war ahead. The latest in a new paranormal romance series set in the world of the #1 New York Times bestselling Black Dagger Brotherhood.

Brothers at the Black Dagger Brotherhood training center push recruits to the limit to become faster and stronger than ever before as they continue preparing for the fight against the lessening society. Novo, a resilient survivor and a bit rough around the edges, has overcome a great deal, including her intense attraction to suave, aristocratic Peyton. The two fighters shared a passionate physical connection. But when Peyton finally comes to terms with and admits his true feelings for Novo she rejects him for a more stable male. Now they must train in close quarters and eventually confront the feelings they still undoubtedly harbor for one another.

I’m not sure how excited I am for a Peyton/Novo pairing at this point, but things could change once I get into their story more. I think I am more interested in who the featured Brother will be. Maybe Qhuinn? He could use some major image rehabbing after his complete douchbaggy-ness in The Chosen, so maybe he can redeem himself a little helping out Peyton and Novo. But it would have to be pretty epic, because it is going to take me a while to get over how huge a tool he was.

6 thoughts on “Next Up From J.R. Ward

  1. Raven says:

    The other brother who needs a bit of rehabilitation besides Quinn and the douche-bag way he acted in The Chosen is V WTF thinking about cheating on Jane, ignoring her, that s@#$ needs to be fixed too. However, from what JR said I believe V will be handled in The Thief and hopefully Quinn gets the rehab. Blay may have forgiven him, however, many fans have not!

    • kaleigha says:

      Exactly. 2 pages of being a decent guy do not wipe out 400 pages of being an asshole. Hopefully V gets his stuff together, too, or I should say both he and Jane do. I did wonder about him being the one to have contact with Jo, though. Maybe he is the one who helps her get more in touch with her fangy side?

  2. Emily says:

    I was thinking V would be the Brother. While Quinn could use a little work, V’s “issue” never got to play out in The Chosen. While some fans might still be mad at Quinn (not me), his conflict is resolved. I’m way more interested in a Vishous story. I can’t decide if I want him to end up with Jane or not. She’s never been a favorite of mine, and I was really disappointed in her at the end. V almost died and she forgot about him the second she left the room. Not that there’s ever a good reason to cheat. But J.R. Ward proved, in The Shadows, that HEA is not guaranteed. And going on a tangent from that thought, I really thought Selena would be the one to replace the Scribe Virgin. The look-a-like Selena just isn’t good enough for me. Although, maybe there’s more to that story. Lassiter, the not-so-virgin angel in charge, did set that meeting up when he invited Trez to dinner. Anyway, I’m sure it’ll be awesome no matter who the Brother is. And I’m excited for The Thief, too. Assail’s story has been put off for awhile.

    • kaleigha says:

      I wouldn’t be sad if he and Jane went their separate ways either, honestly. Especially since during Ward’s recent Q and A session she said Lassiter can give Jane her corporeal body back. Jane could go live a “normal” life, and V could move on. I was bothered when she left the hospital room and seemed to forget him, too. It was just so sad, and what was even worse was that V didn’t expect anything else. Assail and Sola should be a great story – and more of the twins won’t hurt, either.

  3. Deb says:

    I really like where the BDB series is heading these last few books. Not only do I like the Legacy series but I like how an original member is also integrated in the story. Also liking the original stories again now that they are back to being character driven instead of all about the war and fighting. I refuse to tell myself I’m not happy about a Novo and Peyton story since that’s what I said about Layla and Xcode and I really enjoyed it. I just want Vicious to be happy. He’s one of my favorites.

    • kaleigha says:

      I’m like you. I went through a spell a while back where I found the books a bit hard to read. Not bad per se, but so big and complex and involved that I had to psych myself up to dive in. Hell, at one point I was writing notes to keep track of all of the various plotlines going on. The last few, though, have been way better. At least for me. Still lots going on, but not so much that the main couple fades into the background. Here’s hoping Novo and Peyton’s book continue the trend.

Leave a Reply

