I’ve Turned to the Dark Side

heartsIf you have checked out Wicked Scribes for any length of time, you have probably heard me rant about several things – but the big one is probably e-books. Yep, I have always been a die-hard physical book lover, but over the last year or so I have gone from barely contained disdain, to a grudging admission that perhaps they are not the devil’s handiwork, to a cautious foray into all things digital. But all that has changed.

Yep, I have gone to the dark side over the last month or so. Honestly, I have been loving my e-books. I mean loving. I would never, EVER have thought it possible, but there it is. I ended up with both a physical and an e-book copy of the same book a couple of weeks ago (duh, it happens more than you would think), and I found myself reaching for the digital copy. I mean that I never even cracked the spine of the print book at all. That was a bit eye-opening, I have to admit.

On top of that, I spent all day yesterday cleaning my books. I actually don’t mind doing that, but what I did notice was that my paperbacks were not faring well. Even though most only had one read, a lot of them were looking shabby. Dirty and discolored, with the pages turning brown and the covers getting scuffed. I don’t like scruffy, and it was probably the final shove that pushed me over the edge. That and my recent dislike of clutter didn’t help, either.

And the best part is like what you all said all along…no worrying about format changes, crap covers, nothing like that. I have been picking up some duplicates for a while now, and I have been having fun editing the books to have covers I like, organizing them into collections, that sort of thing. My plan is to keep getting physical copies of my hardcover series and my UK book versions, but other than that? I am making the switch to e-book. I plan on swapping out all of my mass markets over time, and I am having fun keeping an eye out for Kindle sales. I got the first couple of IAD books (with pretty new covers) for only a couple of dollars each. Beauty.

I figured that since I was so vocal about my dislike, it would only be fair to say that I had changed my mind. Never thought I would see the day, but there you go. Now if I could only get a handle on my Blu-ray collection, too.

25 thoughts on “I’ve Turned to the Dark Side

  1. Kathleen says:

    I read both formats, but ebooks checked out of the library are super easy (they deliver and return themselves) and there are some fun authors that are ebook only. You might check into Heather Long’s Wolves of Willow Bend series and RL Mathewson’s Pyte series (her Neighbor from Hell series is lots of fun but straight romance).

    • kaleigha says:

      I never thought of borrowing e-books, but it sounds interesting. I didn’t consider that there is now a whole world of new authors that I haven’t explored yet, too. Could be fun.

  2. pals20 says:

    OMG, I totally welcome you to the Dark Side, you’ll never go back now. I’ve been an ebook convert for more than 5 years now. The sheer convenience especially for someone who travels and reads as much as I do is unbeatable. Unlimited number of books to carry, can read any time, no need for light if reading at night, multiple tags, multiple bookshelves… I can go on and on..

    • kaleigha says:

      I fought it forever, but finally surrendered. And with my weirdness and over the top tendencies, I will probably OCD the crap out of it, too.

  3. cheryl says:

    I never thought I would like an e-reader and it took me a long time to feel comfortable with that tablet… fast forward in time and here I am trying to decide how to get rid of my large horde of paperbacks and hardbacks. I am at that point in life that just the larger font feature has made reading so much easier on the eyes. I occasionally get a book from the library and am annoyed by the fact that I can’t listen to it while doing other chores.
    I love the text- to – speech feature with me e-reader more than audible books because I can finish a read in 4 or 5 hrs where an audible can average 8 hrs or more. The other downside is some narrators on audible can ruin a story.

    • kaleigha says:

      Crap, getting rid of the physical books is a pain. No one I know wants them (and they look weird at me for having that many books), and I can’t make myself throw them away. The library made me feel like I was dropping off garbage, so that’s out, too.

  4. Charleen says:

    I commend you on the change-over. I was pushed to it because of similar reasons. Now I just order everything in e-format.

    1 – Font: I’m in my late 60’s and the font on paperbacks in particular was so small, even with reading glasses it was hard. Being able to read all the time with font the same size and type is big for me.
    2 – Storage: I had many boxes sorted by author in my attic – which is not a walk up; age has a way of making difficulties out of anything that requires extra effort and climbing a pull down ladder to get to books is not viable any longer.
    3 -Series: All of my favorite authors write series – I love all things J.D. Robb; J.R. Ward and Anne Bishop (thanks for recommending The Others). Having them in the cloud and just being able to download 5 or so at a time to read them again is my idea of heaven.
    4 – Travel: I was used to taking 20 or more books on vacation or family visits; after all I never know when I’m in the mood to change genres or just looking for something different. Now I just pack at least 3 kindles and I have my entire library at my finger tips!

    And the other bonus is I have books that have been pulled from print that I can still download and read! And if you’ve ever loaned out books and never got them back, being able to loan a book and know it will not be gone for ever and very special.

    Enjoy the new freedom!

    • kaleigha says:

      I am liking it, and I am the absolute last person in this world I ever thought who would. Like, ever. I am all about the organization, and having series spread over three or four formats made me nuts (mass market, switch to hardcover, with a trade paperback novella collection and e-format short stories. Ugh).

      I have Kindle on my i -pad air, so I have all of the pretty covers in color all lined up, then organized into collections so I know the right reading order. Plus, I am not known for my saintly patience, so being able to want a book and get a book 2 seconds later is awesome.

  5. snapdragon says:

    It’s nice and toasty here on the dark side. I still get books from the library and than if I especially love it will wait until it comes out on paperback than buy. I refuse to buy a e-book that costs over $13. But I am more than happy to get one that won’t get damaged, lost or create dust that I than have to clean.
    I still have 3 bookshelves but now I mostly buy e. But I keep paper backups of my favorites just in case there is a extended power outage or the e-readers are out of power.

    • kaleigha says:

      That’s my plan, too. I do love my hardcovers and my uk paperbacks (they are so, so pretty), and I plan to continue my series I already have on the go in them. But the rest, and any new series I start up, I am e-booking it.

  6. Monika Wernli says:

    I used to be a physical book lover, too, but I switched to the dark side about 3 years ago. And the advantages far outweigh the disadvantages. I love that I can carry all my favorite books with me anywhere anytime. Also (a consideration for me), e-books are a lot cheaper (before I used to have to pay double the price here in Switzerland) and sometimes I had to wait up to three weeks for a new book to arrive at the local bookstore. I have since become addicted to Amazon one-click: I see a book I fancy, and presto, I can start reading it right away. Also there are quite a number of free e-books, some of them actually pretty good: a great way to discover new authors, many who offer the first book in a series at a discount of for free (my two biggest finds from last year: Elizabeth Hunter and Lindsay Buroker). Also, it is quite a bit easier to get e-copies of ARCs and I don’t have to feel bad because the author paid over 20 bucks postage for 5.99 release.

  7. cheryl says:

    Kaleigha: Good luck with that. It took over 2yrs before I said to myself it is okay to wait for a new release and get it from the library or wait for a price drop. That said I still spend way too much for my book habit but I am getting better. The selling point for my patience was the $13 price tag for my favorite author’s release ( I can get the hardback for a few bucks more so that made me blink). Now I can’t say I am good when the price is 4.99 to 7.99… I can talk myself into once clicking very easily for paperback price.

    • kaleigha says:

      I have spent the evening shopping, and there is a line. The ones that run around 10 bucks are out because I am just replacing titles I already have, and the ones that are only a couple of dollars are easy. It is the ones in the 5-7 range, like you said, that make me hesitate. It is fun shopping, though.

  8. Emily says:

    And even better, you get to take your entire library with you wherever you go! That’s probably one of my favorite things about ebooks. I’ve got the Kindle app on every device I own, even my phone. I remember when I first went digital a few years ago. I thought it’d be harder to get used to but it wasn’t at all. I haven’t read a physical copy of any book since the first time I read an ebook. And the instant gratification when you order a book, from the comfort of your home, and it immediately starts downloading. Love it. Glad you made the switch. How you felt about ebooks is how I feel about audio books. The main problem I have with them is the narrators. I haven’t run across a good one yet, and that really stinks! Dude, if I could switch to audio books, I’d literally never have to stop “reading.” Great for the car, or while I’m cooking or cleaning. I’d be in heaven. But nope, horrible narrators have ruined it for me. If anyone on here knows of any good ones, I’d be grateful to hear of them.

    • snapdragon says:

      I have found some great narrators but your mileage may vary.
      Khristine Hvam does a great Nell from Soulwood and Kaylin Neya from Elantra.
      Luke Daniels does a excellent Atticus O’sullivan from the Iron Druid Chronicles
      Scott Brick does a decent narration of basically anything – Jurassic Park to Dirk Pitt
      Susan Erickson is amazing as Eve Dallas from the In Death Series.
      But you are correct that some people should not be reading aloud. It can kill a book for me in no time.

    • kaleigha says:

      I loved my little ipad mini, but since I broke down and bought the ipad air about 6 weeks ago, I have been using it a ton just for streaming shows and reading. Definitely worth it for me, at least so far.

  9. alex says:

    As you are looking to replace physical books with ebooks I can’t recommend http://www.ereaderiq.com enough.

    You can set up alerts for price drops by author, for a specific book, etc. There are also some extensions you can make use of to add books to your price drop list directly from Amazon. It’s a great resource!

  10. pals20 says:

    I forgot the biggest advantage – you can get and buy any author/ any book you want.

    Living in India, this is a huge problem because Romance and Urban Fantasy are very very niche markets. You can easily get a Nora Robert or a J R Ward because they are international bestsellers. But get into niche genres like paranormal historicals (Kirsten Callihan’s Darkest London series) or a new series like Anne Bishop’s Others and you would not find those easily sometimes not at all. Getting into ebooks meant that I could get my hands on literally any author’s book that I wanted. I felt so good when I realised this.

    • kaleigha says:

      Even in Canada, two hours away from the border with the US, there were some things that I couldn’t get, too. Or if I did order them, I had to pay double and a crap-ton of shipping on top of it. Meh.

Leave a Reply

