Reading Wrap Up

Happy Easter, everyone. This has been a busy week, but I still managed to get a few books under my belt, and to say that I covered a rather wide variety of books is a bit of an understatement.

a twist in timeI got started with A Twist in Time from Julie McElwain. It is the second book in her time-travel murder mystery series featuring former FBI Profiler Kendra Donovan, who is accidentally pulled back through time to Regency England. I enjoyed the first book, but it took a while for me to get into the swing of things for the second. I don’t read much in the way of historical, and it makes a nice change of pace. What threw me off for the first half of this one, though, was Kendra herself. I get that she is stuck in a time not her own – a time where women are incredibly limited as to what they are supposed to be or do, but she was on the edge of being whiny for a while. It didn’t last long and then things got rolling, but it still made the first part of the story drag a bit for me.

shadows-seductionTo continue my trend of reading something different, I finally got to Shadow’s Seduction from Kresley Cole. I am not a big fan of m/m stories, and I even though of giving this one a pass what with my dwindling interest in the IAD series. But since I needed it to keep the character guide current, I decided to take the plunge. I ended up liking the overall storyline, and Cas and Mirceo were great. But it was way, way more explicit than I was expecting. My only other m/m story was Lover at Last from J.R. Ward, and while Qhuinn and Blay had some scenes of their own, they were a very small part of the overall story. Not so much here. So not bad at all, I liked the story better than the last few full books of the series, but I was surprised by the hot factor.

the struggleAnd finally, I flew through The Struggle, the third book of Jennifer L. Armentrout‘s New Adult Titan series. What makes this one different for me is that, by and large, I am not a huge new adult fan. And by that I mean I usually just plain don’t like it. But honestly, this one reads as more adult, and I am pretty much a fan of all things Armentrout which is a double win. This was a nice change of pace – it was a fast, easy read, and even though it has been quite a while since I picked up the previous book I had no trouble getting back into the swing of things.

So, that wraps up my unusual reading week. Have you been trying anything different lately? Found anything interesting?

4 thoughts on “Reading Wrap Up

  1. Lisa says:

    I LOVE Jana DeLeon’s Miss Fortune Mystery series and Shaye Archer Series (both series are Contemporary Murder Mysteries),
    and standalone Contemporary On The Island by Tracey Garvis-Graves w/short sequel called Uncharted, The description made me leery, but all the positive reviews made me try it. I’m glad I did.

    • kaleigha says:

      I enjoy a good murder mystery/action story every once in a while. Alexandra Ivy’s ARES security is one I have been enjoying so far.

  2. Shannon c says:

    I was pleasantly surprised by Shadow’s Surprise. Also not my usual thing, but it ended up being an entertaining read.

Leave a Reply

