Pick of the Week

Posts have been kind of scare for the last little while, but honestly there just hasn’t been that much to talk about. There have been a few young adult cover releases, but not enough for a full post. There hasn’t been much in the way of new release info, or any word on the countless upcoming spin-offs of soon-to-end series, either. Hopefully business will pick up soon.

Anyways, there were a couple of solid books released this week, including the final Merit-and-Ethan Chicagoland Vampires book from Chloe Neill. I figured it would be my pick of the week, but for some strange reason my interest in the newest Immortals After Dark book has grown over the last few days. I have been on a bit of a downwards slide with Kresley Cole‘s last few books, and honestly the thought of a beauty and the beast redo didn’t get me all that excited, either. But then I started to get a bit optimistic, and I found myself looking forward to Wicked Abyss. I am a couple of hours in, and so far I am enjoying it. Is my IAD rah-rah back yet? Not really. But it is a start.

wicked abyssSynopsis…

The terrifying king of hell…

As a boy, Abyssian “Sian” Infernas had his heart shattered by a treacherous fey beauty who died before he could exact vengeance. Millennia later, a curse has transformed him into a demonic monster—just as she’s been reincarnated. Sian captures the delicate but bold female, forcing her back to hell.

Meets his match.

Princess Calliope “Lila” Barbot’s people have hated and feared Abyssian and his alliance of monsters for aeons. When the beastly demon imprisons her in his mystical castle, vowing revenge for betrayals she can’t remember, Lila makes her own vow: to bring down the wicked beast for good.

Can two adversaries share one happily-ever-after?

As Calliope turns hell inside out, the all-powerful Sian finds himself defenseless against his feelings for her. In turn, Lila reluctantly responds to the beast’s cleverness and gruff vulnerability. But when truths from a far distant past are revealed, can their tenuous bond withstand ages of deceit, a curse, and a looming supernatural war?

I would so love to go back to being IAD-obsessed rather than just mildly interested, and hopefully Wicked Abyss can help pull that off. What is the biggest-name series you have ever found yourself drifting away from, and did you ever manage to come back to your former level of enjoyment of it?

15 thoughts on “Pick of the Week

    • kaleigha says:

      That one was hard what with the change of direction back to Mac and Barrons. I figured their story was wrapped up and it was time for Dani and Ryodan. Took a few extra books to get there, but they still interest me more than Mac does.

    • Jan says:

      I really enjoyed the first books in the Fever series. loved Iced and the focus on Dani and Riodan. Then she went back to Mac and screwed everything up. But I’m still reading them. I can’t help it.

  1. cheryl says:

    Jennifer Estep and her Gin Blanco … spider series. I can’t explain it except that I started to lose interest in the story. There are only so many bad guys and similar plots that you can read and realize it doesn’t change much from book to book.
    MaryJanice Davidson and her Undead series she lost me about book 8. I won’t go back.
    Not paranormal but I have given up on Patricia Cornwall and James Patterson.

    • kaleigha says:

      James Patterson is the bane of my existence – and I have never read a word of his writing. He is one of my father’s go-to authors, and that man has his name on about three books a month. I know he doesn’t write all of them (or maybe any of them), but it seems like every couple of weeks I am shelling out another wad of cash for his stuff.

  2. aprilbrookshire says:

    I still call IAD my favorite series even though starting with either Declan or Lothaire the heroes of the books started to change, as if they had less respect for their heroines. I mean, there were always species and personality clashes (which made the books awesome), but the heroes seemed to kind of have real hatred for their heroines starting with Declan and Lothaire.

    Also, did anyone notice the big change in blurbs for Wicked Abyss? *POSSIBLE SPOILER ALERT* The original blurb that I remember for the book had the hero changing back and forth from his beast to human-like form and tricking the heroine with his non-beast self. That totally didn’t happen in the book and as a result the blurb changed. In the original blurb Sian was tricking the heroine into thinking his non-beast self was another prisoner of the beast. That could have been interesting, if she’d fallen in love with both the beast and his true self.

  3. Crystal says:

    Just so you know, I just read two Sherrilyn Kenyon’s back to back (what was I thinking?!) and if you tossed back a shot at every appearance of the word “honestly”, you’d die of alcohol poisoning halfway through the first book (Born of Legend – an 800+ page pity party).

    That…is my author who has managed to kill my interest. Her latest – Born of Betrayal – is NOT a pity party, but don’t get excited as it is one choppy hot mess of a book. It’s like without all the mental whining and sniveling, she couldn’t come up with anything to connect the dots. Fortunately it was a library book so I’m not out anything (other than time)

    • kaleigha says:

      You were brave. I pulled a mini-marathon of the earlier books, back when they were only 300-400 pages, and it was draining. Her “honestly” would be like some of the Feehanisms I have come to obsess over, then.

      • Crystal says:

        It’s been a while since I’ve read more than one of hers in a row. The League series didn’t start off that bad but…there was that one – Paradise City – that she rewrote, and since she couldn’t make the poor H’s life miserable (he was the darling only son of Syn), she dragged the poor h through some of the awfullest crap – that wasn’t in there in the original version. Agh! Why?

        She abuses the words “cruelty” and “bitterly” too, the latter for no reason I could see. I need to go read something else, obviously. Haha!

        • kaleigha says:

          I know that there has to be some angst to add drama, but having everyone get the crap kicked out of them over and over again gets old.

  4. nicki442 says:

    Just wanted to say that I wish you’d reinstate the Larissa Ione info. Her Demonica/Lords of Deliverance/ Underworld series is still going strong with Base Instincts (her first M/M!) and Razr (1001 Dark Nights novella), and her Moonbound Clan Vampires series is going to continue with more books published in 2017 and beyond. Yes she’s done some CR with the Rising Storm books, just as she did sorta-CR as Sydney Croft. Larissa Ione is my favorite author, and she’s still active in PNR, so please reconsider posting her information on your blog?

    • kaleigha says:

      Hey Nikki…I do plan to keep updating all of her PNR releases and covers, blurbs, that sort of thing. I do try and keep up-to-date with her release dates, too. I honestly only got rid of all of the stand alone author pages because there was so much time involved in keeping everything updated. Plus, I figure I ended up posting everything on the main site, anyways, so it worked out.

  5. nicki442 says:

    PS
    In answer to your question, I quit reading the BDB series after The King. I could go on for days the many reasons why, but the biggest are: the world-rule breaking, lack of consistent timeline, plot holes, character personality mutilations when they got “their own” book, the unannounced switch from PNR to UF (just say so!), and the way Ms. Ward interacts (or doesn’t) with her readers.

    • kaleigha says:

      Sometimes it just all adds up and pushes you away, doesn’t it? At least you can articulate why, where as I usually go “meh, not feeling it anymore”, but can’t for the life of me tell you why I am not in love with a series anymore.

Leave a Reply

