Reading Wrap Up

Hey everyone, time once again to do a check in and see what everyone has been reading and loving (or not so much) recently.

Personally, I had a really good run. My read of Wicked Abyss was a happy thing since I have been a bit blah on the last few books of Kresley Cole‘s Immortals After Dark series. I enjoyed this one (and Shadow’s Seduction, as well), so things are moving in the right direction. Has it crawled back up to the top of my favorites list? Nope. But I won’t be so ambivalent about the next one, either.

My best read, though, from the ones I have had lately, came from Kelley Armstrong. I never bothered picking up her Lost Souls book because honestly I thought it was just a graphic novel – nope. I guess the print edition did have some illustrations, but the e-book version was just a Gabriel-centric novella. A whole story with a Gabriel POV?!? Why the hell didn’t I pick this up before. This one gave me a more in-depth look at just what makes Gabriel tick, how his mind works, had how badly he wants Olivia in his life. Total winner, and I am just annoyed that I didn’t get it sooner.

Oh, and I finally got off my ass and finished Richelle Mead‘s Bloodlines series. The final book, The Ruby Circle, has been sitting on my shelf for over two years, and I just decided it was time. I am horrible about not wanting to read the last book in a series because I don’t like things that end, but on the other hand I don’t like things left undone, either. Try and balance that one if you can. Anyways, it was a decent send-off for the series, and while it has been a few years since I was involved in the storyline it didn’t take me long to pick things up again. I still say there could easily be a Jill and Eddie series, but it doesn’t seem like that is in the cards.

Your turn. What have you been up to for great reads lately? Have you gone back and dusted off any old TBRs, or are you still on the new-release reads?

3 thoughts on “Reading Wrap Up

  1. pals20 says:

    I finally started the Jane Yellowrock series.. I knew about this series but was never really motivated to pick it up. Then I saw positive reviews for the 9th or 10th book and that really piqued my interest. Besides, I’m super-into into PNR lately so I was happy to start this paranormal series.

    Book 1 is going a little bit slow though. I did roll my eyes initially at the old-school “crosses affect vampires but no other religion”, but I can see an explanation developing as the story goes so I’m not bothered too much. Also no romantic interest so far. Or rather there are too many options, which I definitely liked!!!

    Eagerly waiting for May-end tho!! 😀 😀

  2. saidahgilbert says:

    I read Ilona Andrews’ Burn For Me last month because of your endorsement and that inspired me to pick up the Kate Daniels series. I read it all out in less than a week. Also this month, there was The Dark Prophecy by Rick Riordan, I totally enjoyed it and can’t wait for the next one.

  3. JoAnne says:

    I am rereading the entire psy-changling series by Nalini Singh as prep for the June release of Silver Silence. I am up to book 8, Bonds of Justice and I have to say I am amazed at the connections she created. I haven’t read the early books in quite awhile so to see how intricate her story building was is truly impressive. She dropped many small, just in passing characters and events that became critical connections ok later. This re-read just confirms what a talent and hard work an author of her caliber must have to be that good. I have gotten swept away all over again.

Leave a Reply

