Cover Lover – This Fallen Prey

Usually, I quite strictly follow my own rule of only posting about PNR or UF books. But once in a while, a favorite author branches out to a different genre, and I break down and show a little tidbit. In this case, the favorite author is Kelley Armstrong, and she has released the cover and blurb for her third Casey Duncan/Rockton book, This Fallen Prey. From what she has said, the publisher has decided to change direction with the cover art, and I am not so sure that was the best idea. I really liked the first two, but this one is…dirt. And roots. But mostly dirt. Meh. And I still can’t wait to get my hands on it when it is released next February.

this fallen preyWhen Casey first arrived at the off-the-grid town, an isolated community built as a haven for people running from their pasts, she had no idea what to expect, with no cell phones, no internet, no mail, and no way of getting in or out without the town council’s approval. But the very last thing she expected was for the council to drop a dangerous criminal into their midst without a plan to keep him imprisoned, and to keep others safe.

Of course Oliver Brady claims he’s being set up. But the longer Brady stays in town, the more things start to go wrong. When evidence comes to light that someone inside Rockton might be working as his accomplice, helping him to escape, Casey races to figure out who exactly Brady is and what crimes he’s truly responsible for committing.

Having this to look forward to in no way diminishes the pain I will feel when Cainsville wraps up this fall, but it doesn’t hurt, either. What are your current non-PNR/UF favorite reads? Do you have any favorite cross-genre authors?

2 thoughts on “Cover Lover – This Fallen Prey

  1. library addict says:

    I read a lot of contemporary and sci-fi/romance that isn’t considered paranormal.

    Cross-over authors:
    I like Nalini Singh’s Rock Kiss series which will be getting a “spin-off” with the brothers of the hero in Rock Hard.

    Jayne Castle writes the World of Harmony/Rainshadow/Arcane series, but I also enjoy her non-paranormal contemporaries as Jayne Ann Krentz and her historicals as Amanda Quick (though for a while she was writing the Arcane series under all 3).

    I’ve also enjoyed many of Nora Roberts’ contemporaries and suspense single titles. It’s her trilogies that tend to have paranormal elements. And of course the In Death series (as JD Robb) which I wouldn’t classify as UF or paranormal either. It’s more a futuristic procedural to me.

    I’ve been enjoying Veronica Scott’s Sectors series which I started reading this year. I would classify it as SciFi romance.

    I also started Meljean Brook’s Iron Seas series this year. I think it’s considered Steampunk.

    For non-crossover author favorites:
    I would recommend Julie James FBI/US Attorneys series for anyone looking for contemporary romance. (I didn’t like one of the books, but for the most part have enjoyed the series a lot). The first book is Something About You.

    Also Shannon Stacey, particularly her Kowalski series (book one is Exclusively Yours). Currently there are 10 books and a novella in the series, but all can be read as stand-alones.

    Carla Neggers’ Sharpe & Donovan series. The series follows one main couple with several secondary romances. The main heroine is an ex-nun turned FBI agent who works in art crimes and the main hero is an undercover FBI agent. Book 7 will be out in August. (Book 1 is Saint’s Gate. I would highly recommend starting with it and reading the so-called “prequel novella” in the order it was published, so after the second full-length book).

    Piper J Drake’s True Heroes series about a group who train service dogs. There’s 3 books and a novella so far with more coming next year. (book one is Extreme Honor).

  2. Barbara says:

    Cross-over authors I enjoy:
    Cecy Robson (Shattered past and The O’Brien family series are pretty good: intense, heart wrenching and funny, too)
    Jennifer Ashley (Mackenzie series is great: unusual characters and stories)
    Molly Harper (Blue grass series is her usual hilariuos romp)
    Lynsay Sands ( I don’t like her vampires’ series but I love her historicals: sweet and funny)

Leave a Reply

