Don’t Do It!

noI might’ve been cruising around Amazon.com today, and I might’ve noticed that Nalini Singh‘s upcoming Silver Silence is showing up with a blue cover I haven’t seen before. And I might’ve clicked on that cover for some reason – AND IT MIGHT’VE TAKEN ME TO THE LOOK INSIDE FEATURE. Holy hell, if you are absolutely, positively desperate to get a monstrous “sneak peek” – aka a crap ton of the entire book, it is there in all its glory. I hope you are stronger than I am, because I so accidentally spoiled myself on a bit of the plot while I was stupidly trying to figure out if I was really seeing what I thought I was. I have done my job…you have been warned. Let’s see who has way more control than I did.

Do you like to be spoiled on a much-anticipated book, or do you want to go in completely blank? I fall somewhere painfully in the middle, usually wanted to go in clueless but too weak to avoid snippets and advanced reviews. And if it is a particularly huge nail-biter, I will sometimes jump ahead just to make sure everything works out ok. But it never fails – I will usually randomly open to a page and the first thing I see is “I can’t believe so-and-so died!” or some game-changing piece of info like that. I am a weak, weak woman.

15 thoughts on “Don’t Do It!

  1. Kim says:

    Many years ago in my teens, so perhaps many, many, many years ago, I borrowed a book from my local library and the last several pages had been torn/cut out. I was devastated…..and so traumatised I’ve always had to check they are actually there in every library or used book ever since!

    • library addict says:

      Oh, I don’t blame you one bit. That’s horrible.

      Were you able to finish the book at the time or was that the library’s only copy?

      • Kim says:

        It was a really old book in our provincial library so that was the only copy. The book was out of print too. I can’t actually remember the book (so it can’t have been that good!) but I still remember that feeling of “No!…..But……No!”

        • kaleigha says:

          That’s just mean. I had something similar happen – can’t remember the book, either, but there was a whole section missing. Made me nuts.

  2. library addict says:

    I don’t mind tiny spoilers, but for the most part I don’t want to know.

    I told Nalini about the blue cover. She said they are trying to get it fixed.

    As an aside, I should say I don’t want to know if it’s an author I trust. I have been known to end read new-to-me authors after having been betrayed by a used-to-be-an-autoread author who pulled a bait-and-switch in a long running series. It took me a few years to get back to a point where I didn’t automatically end read all new-to-me authors. But for the most part I like to discover things in a book myself the first time I read it. I think that’s also why I am a read-in-order type 99% of the time when starting a new series.

    • kaleigha says:

      I had to end read the last Fever book from Karen Marie Moning. I just had to be sure that my main characters survived, because it wasn’t looking good. I did, of course, open up to the death scene of the one character who did die, but I was ok with that.

  3. Monika Wernli says:

    I can’t resist either (with some authors). I just re-read Burn For Me and then went on Ilona Andrews’ website to read the very long excerpt from White Hot (which has been expanded since the last time I read it) and now I don’t know how I am going to survive the next 36 hours even though I’ve already survived 2 1/2 years…

    • kaleigha says:

      At least you know the author excerpts are relatively spoiler free, so you are pretty safe-ish. Even though I have the ARC, I also pre-ordered my shiny Kindle version. Four hours to go….

  4. pals20 says:

    Definitely go in completely blank. I always read author-shared teasers because I know it will not be spoiler-y.

    Heck, I don’t even read reviews of my favourite series until I have finished the book-in-question. But after I have read the book, I go back and read all the reviews to see if the reviewers felt what I felt.

    I had spoiled myself once when I read the blurb of an upcoming book before reading the most recent release of that series and it was a HUGE spoiler. I don’t remember the series now but a favourite character died and the upcoming blurb said something like “the H&H are in recovery mode after so-and-so’s death” and it completely ruined my reading experience. I hated it and swore never to do that again.

    • kaleigha says:

      That is what happens to me! I for some reason will always stumble across the most epic spoiler in one glance. Then I could kick myself.

  5. saidahgilbert says:

    Wow! I just looked at it and scrolled to the end. It looks like practically the whole book is there. I never really click that look inside feature. It’s too annoying for me to read. After all, I never know how much of the book will be available plus, my Internet connection is not the best so at any point, I could get cut off from reading. I prefer to wait for the release date or until the whole book is available in my region. I avidly read the author-released excerpts, though.

Leave a Reply

