Pick of the Week

It feels like the countdown to this week has been going on forever. White Hot, the second book in the Hidden Legacy series from Ilona Andrews, was a weird obsession of mine for the last couple of years. I would even go so far as to say that it was my most anticipated release since I first read Burn For Me back in 2014, and it was completely worth the wait. But to mix things up, I am going to pick the other title I was looking forward to as my pick of the week, just to mix things up, and that comes from Christine Feehan. Shadow Reaper is the second book of her newest The Shadows series, and while I might snicker and mock a bit, I still haven’t missed a book yet.

shadow-reaperSynopsis…

Billionaire playboy Ricco Ferraro knows no other life. Being a shadow rider is in his blood – but so is a haunting desperation stemming from the secrets of his dark past. His recklessness puts not only his life at risk, but also the future of his entire family. To save them all, he must find a woman who can meet his every desire with a heat all her own…

Just when Ricco has given up hope, he meets her – a mysterious woman whose shadow connects with his. She’s someone looking for a safe haven from the danger that has stalked her over the last several months. In Ricco’s embrace, she finds one. But the darkness in which they so often find sanctuary can also consume them…

I am about half-way through this puppy, and it is decent so far. I don’t find the whole Shibari thing a huge turn on, but to each his or her own. There is a lot going on, decent action, and the heroine strays a little bit from the Feehan Female Formula, which is nice. She has blonde hair, hasn’t said “honey” once yet, and hasn’t yearned to cook anyone supper, either. Ricco hasn’t bought her any ruffled boots yet, but there is still time. Oh, he does move “like a great jungle cat”, but at this point I think if that wasn’t mentioned at least once in a book I would feel like there was something missing.

So there you have it. My heart belongs to White Hot, but I am not minding Shadow Reaper, either. I am sure most of you have tackled one or the other of these two by now, so how are you liking them?

14 thoughts on “Pick of the Week

  1. Tray says:

    White Hot was fantastic! A book to be totally consumed by. The only bad thing about White Hot is that i now want more and have to wait. Ilona Andrews has swiftly become one of my favourite go-to authors, right along with Patricia Briggs and Kelley Armstrong.

    • kaleigha says:

      I agree, and I can pretty much guarantee that you won’t be disappointed in Wildfire, either. But when I got to the end of Wildfire, I was in complete disbelief that it could be the end of the series. I broke down and emailed Ilona to beg for more, and she said that the series will continue in some form, either traditionally or self-pubbed. Thank god.

  2. cheryl says:

    Half way through White Hot… loving the humor in it.
    I am waiting for my library copy of Shadow Reaper because I have been bummed by her writing too much lately. If i like it … then I will buy a copy.

  3. library addict says:

    I still haven’t read book 1 yet, though I have both. I am also way behind on her Leopard series. Sigh, too many books and not enough reading time.

    • kaleigha says:

      Yep, I know what you mean. I was so discouraged when I had hundreds of TBR books, it was almost like there was pressure to get caught up. Now, I have no TBR books at all, and it feels so good.

  4. Kim says:

    I’ve been disappointed by the latest ones, although the Dark series is still a must read, the Game series latest addition was better than the last few and I ditched the Leopard series. I might have to revisit if these are better?

    • kaleigha says:

      I can’t really say they are better, honestly, but there was a period a couple of years ago when the Ghostwalker and Leopard books didn’t read like a Feehan story. I don’t want to say written by someone else like many thought, but they had a totally different style and vibe to them. I found that the more recent ones are back to “classic Feehan” style, though.

  5. Jan says:

    I’ve just started White Hot and loving it. I haven’t really got attached to Feehans books though I’ve read several years ago. If I do read them I usually go through my library’s Overdrive system.

    • kaleigha says:

      White Hot does grab you right from the start, doesn’t it? Not to sound bitchy, but at this point if you have read one Feehan book, you have read them all. They are pretty interchangeable, but I guess I am still a sucker for that. Sigh.

  6. pals20 says:

    White Hot was white hot… It is such a well written book that I raced through it, losing sleep . And I loved the snarky humour so much. Plus the way it ended, set up the third book perfectly. Now to start the waiting game.again.

    • kaleigha says:

      I was greedy, too. I wanted to savor it, but I ended up ripping through it like a psycho. Then I did a re-read, and loved it even more the second time around.

  7. Monika Wernli says:

    You don’t exactly put forward a ringing endorsement for Shadow Reaper. I fear at this point I have mostly abandoned Christine Feehan, although I like the last Leopard book (or was it the one before that; in any case the one with the icy Russian Mafia guy and the heroine with the bakery).
    With regard to White Hot I’ve got it really bad. I’m on the same page as you: ever since Burn For Me came out I couldn’t wait to read it. I’ve already read it twice, because the first time around I just couldn’t stop and went so fast that I felt I missed some things. I also posted an embarrassingly gushing review on Amazon. It’s even better than the first book which I already loved. I loved the thing with the quarters that Rogan did, so hot! The sex was from another star, and I loved the emotional feedback loop they had (though it wasn’t completely new, I’ve seen it employed in another book, but can’t at the moment remember in which one, which is driving me crazy!) I am also trying to guess what Arabella’s magic is exactly. I don’t know how I will survive the next to month waiting for Wildfire, though it seems such a short time compared with the wait for White Hot, still I feel jittery, almost like Bug…

    • kaleigha says:

      Shadow Reaper turned out to be decent, but the Shibari thing got old. It didn’t interest me to begin with, but there was a lot of it. It might interest some people, but each “session” ended up being several pages of knots and ties and ropes and colors and design. She did her research on it, but for me those parts were like reading an instruction manual. I ended up skimming most of those and tuned back in when the story picked up.

      Luckily, after I got my fix for White Hot, I settled down a bit. I was still greedy for Wildfire, but it was that weird obsessive thing I had for White Hot. And Wildfire is just as good, by the way.

Leave a Reply

