Reading Wrap Up

After a particularly brutish work weekend, I am for once sort of out of words. In person, I have been pretty much reduced to blink once for yes and twice for no, so I am not going to dawdle on the reading wrap up, either. Maybe.

craveI did tackle the second book in J.R. Ward‘s Fallen Angels series, Crave. And like the first one, I find it quite decent. A solid, middle-of-the-road book for me. Nothing I didn’t like, but honestly nothing that made me rabid to start the next one, either. Interesting premise, decent characters, and no guarantee that the good guys will always win is in its favor, but it doesn’t have that something-something to suck me in. I plan on keeping on with the series for sure, but it might take a while before I get it finished.

And then there was Shadow Reaper. It was vintage shadow-reaperChristine Feehan, and she seems pretty much back on track after the issues of a couple of years ago. Love it or hate it, she has a style that either works for you or doesn’t, and this one is no exception. I find myself quite liking this newest series, but the only thing that pulled my enjoyment down was the Shibari side story. Honestly, I am not that exciting, but even I found that part dull. I mean, how much do I really need to know about rope? So, I skimmed those parts to get back into the story, and that worked for me. Decent, non Feehan Female Formula lead (Blonde! Never cooked! Don’t think she said honey even once!) was a really nice change, too.

portrait in deathI also pulled a re-read of Moonshadow by Thea Harrison, which I mentioned a bit in a post below, so not going to go on about it. I think the highlight of this bunch, though is my continued trek through the In Death series from J.D. Robb. I finished up Portrait in Death (Roarke backstory. Niiiiice), and am almost through Imitation in Death. Still loving them, and I show no signs of getting tired of them at all. Honestly, I get excited when it is time for the next one (I space them out a bit), and I already have the next one ready.

Your turn. What have you been loving the last couple of weeks? Did you find anything to fill the days between last month’s White Hot from Ilona Andrews and this weeks’ Silver Silence from Nalini Singh?

17 thoughts on “Reading Wrap Up

  1. library addict says:

    I’ve been reading mainly plain contemporary and romantic suspense.

    I am curious if you were spoiled about Roarke coming late to the series? I can still remember reading Portrait on its release day and being surprised. This book is one of the main reasons I tell people I recommend the series to to read in order and don’t look at spoilers. It just wouldn’t have the impact it does knowing beforehand.

    • kaleigha says:

      I have been a bit spoiled over tidbits here and there, but nothing much for Roarke. He is still a bit of a mystery to me, but I do hope we get to know more about his backstory in future books.

  2. pals20 says:

    I have found J.R. Wardβ€˜s Fallen Angels series very slow going. It just does not compare to her BDB series and unfortunately because I keep comparing, it always falls short.

    I’ve been on a historical kick lately. Julia Quinn (funny as always) Madeline Hunter (intense yet humorous) and Sarah Maclean (her Scandal & Scoundrel series is bawl-out-loud heartwrenching) and Anne Gracie (meh). I think I’m continuing with historicals for now.. I’m a little bit burnt out on contemporaries and there are just not enough good PNRs lately.

    Do you have any good PNR recommendations – maybe some not-so-famous names? I would definitely be interested….

    • kaleigha says:

      Yeah, the Fallen Angels is a bit slow so far. I know I am only two books in, but for some reason I was expecting way more BDB crossovers. Not sure why, since it isn’t really a spin-off so much as set in the same world, but I keep waiting for a brother to show up and that has only happened once so far. Oh, and some Trez and a Fritz mention, too.

      Hm, I have been mostly chugging along on the traditional bigger, established series lately (trying to get caught up with what I think I “should’ve read” as a fan). I tried a couple of completely random new-to-me authors lately because I liked the covers on their books, but while neither of them were bad I didn’t get excited enough to finish the books, either. My only other adventure into someone I haven’t read before was Keri Arthur. I read Blood Kissed, which is the first book of her Lizzie Grace series, and enjoyed it quite a lot. It was my first book set in Australia, which was fun, too.

    • Abra Sonnanstine says:

      I like Susan Illene’s Sensor series and Debra Dunbar’s Imp series. Both have complex world building and slow burn romances. Neither of them have the new couple per book format, instead they follow the same couple throughout the series. The early books of the Imp series are very funny. Both books fall slightly on the UF side of the UF/PNR line. I don’t know if these are good qualities for you or bad, but I enjoyed both series very much.

      • pals20 says:

        Thanks all. Silver Silence just downloaded to my Kindle so I’ll be on radio silence for a day or two. πŸ˜€

        @Kaleigha, I will definitely check out Keri Arthur, I keep seeing her name but haven’t felt the urge to get into any of her series.

        @ABRA SONNANSTINE – both Susan Illene and Debra Dunbar are new authors to me. The IMP series definitely sounds like something I will check out.

        @DOUGMEEKS – I agree 100% re: Nalini Singh. You can imagine the effort I’m having to make at work just to make it to the end of the day so I can start reading SS. I discovered Grace Draven with her Wraith King series and definitely liked her writing and world building. Thanks a ton for your other recommendations as well.

  3. dougmeeks says:

    I am just going to add the “In Death” series to my bucket list, I read the first 3, love them and then got overwhelmed and never got back to them sadly.

    I have read several books between but only 2 are worth mentioning:

    The Alabaster Hip is the final book in a trilogy historical romance (with humor) that many of us thought the author had abandoned but she finished it off 2 years after the last one

    http://www.amazon.com/gp/review/R12VH9F630UF8F

    The other one is from my addition of 2017 – The Kurtherian Gambit Universe – (There are about 7-8 now writing in this universe but most pale in comparison to the original series 16 books and still going strong WARNING: This is a truly addictive series but the first few books needed a better editor, seems like he got one after he sold a few thousand of these and they are FREE on KindleUnlimited http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B06XYQ3HVC , you have been warned ) but this one Revolution: Age Of Magic – A Kurtherian Gambit Series (The Rise of Magic Book 4) is the ONLY one that requires no prior knowledge of the others since this takes place hundreds of years in the future and only vague references are used http://www.amazon.com/gp/review/R2PMLJ5DA8MCB0

    • kaleigha says:

      Well hell, when there is closing-in on 50 stories on a series, it is a pretty big pile to tackle. Especially where you read so many already, it is like a neverending challenge (in a good way, though). Maybe your new recommendations will help out for Pals20, too.

        • dougmeeks says:

          I can never remember what I have recommended here but in case I have not posted it here, this is a historical romance series (not my favorite genre) but I consider it one of the best things I have read in years (which means it is REALLY good) and I listed book 2 “The Hunter” in my Top Books of 2016. The Victorian Rebels by Kerrigan Byrne is for anyone who just loves a great story, just a note, she sometimes starts her books in brutal fashion with her heroes or heroines in a horrible situation but if these were not books that end with you hating it ended at all I would not be giving them this kind of praise πŸ™‚

          http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B06XKZG4YR/

  4. Redbutterfly says:

    Hey K. can you or someone else tell me where the Fallen Angels books fall in the BDB series? I haven’t read the FA series yet and I’ve been wanting to do a BDB re-read and also read the FA books, but I want to read the series in Chronological Order so I need to know where the FA books fit in (before/after which BDB book). I have serious OCD when reading series, I need to read then in order or I won’t be able to *roll eyes*.

    • Redbutterfly says:

      Oh and I’ve been in a slow burn romance kick lately. I’ve been reading Mariana Zapata, read one of her books I haven’t read before (Rhythm, Chord & Malykhin) and her new one released a few days ago (Dear Aaron). I’ve read all her books and I totally recommend her, she’s is the queen of slow burn romance. Her books are so good, my favorites: 1st: Kulti; 2nd: The Wall Of Winnipeg and Me

      I’ve also been SLOWLY re-reading the Kate Daniels series (3rd book now) and the In Death series (6th book now).

      • kaleigha says:

        Yeah, like RedButterfly said, there really isn’t much crossover (at least that I have seen so far), so you can pick it up at any time. Trez is a secondary character in the first book, since it is set in part as his club, but that is about it.

    • pals20 says:

      I don’t think they necessarily overlap. Reading one series will not spoil the other or vice versa. My understanding is that they’re both set in Caldwell and that’s it. The only crossover that stood out for me was of Butch’s ex-partner at CPD (Det. Cruz, I think… sorry, I don’t remember his name). But you can read the series on their respective reading orders and not worry about which FA book should be read which BDB book.

  5. bfmason50 says:

    Sorry for the spam but wanted to make sure people saw this for a chance to vote.
    http://vampirebookclub.net/alpha-showdown-2017-finale-mercy-thompson-vs-kate-daniels/
    Has the Vampire Book Club annual Alpha Showdown featuring two of my favorite characters. Kate Daniels vs. Mercy Thompson to determine who will be the Alpha Champion for 2017.
    Mercy had to battle already Son of Satan Reyes (Jones), her husband Adam (Briggs), Vlad (Frost).
    Kate faced Archangel Raphael (Singsh), Curran (Andrews) the god killer and Kates husband/mate, then Mad Rogan the Butcher himself (Andrews). Their is about 11 hours left of voting.

  6. Anthea (RSA) says:

    I have just finished reading My Defender of Alanea Alder (Bewitched and Bewildered). I am still enjoying the series. Meryn, with her quirkiness still my favourite character.
    As for the J.D. Robb books, I totally know how you feel. I always tend to re-read her books no matter the mood that I am in

Leave a Reply

