Blind Buy Spotlight

Every couple of weeks or so, I hope to randomly do a “One Click” buy on a completely new-to-me author, one that I probably wouldn’t have thought to order in print format. But since I have fully embraced the e-book love like a psycho, I figured it might be a good time to expand my horizons a bit, too. I no longer have a monster TBR pile guilting me into not starting anything new, either. I did do a couple of out-of-the-blue buys last week, but unfortunately they didn’t grab my attention enough for me to finish the books (or remember the author’s names, sadly). But let’s take a look at this week’s blind buy, which is The Black Lily from Juliette Cross.

the black lilySynopsis…

Cinderella like you’ve never seen before…

With the threat of the vampire monarchy becoming stronger every day, the Black Lily must take drastic measures. As the leader of the underground resistance, Arabelle concocts the perfect idea to gain the attention of the Glass Tower. Her plan? Attend the vampire prince’s blood ball and kill him. Fortunately for Prince Marius, her assassination goes awry, and Arabelle flees, leaving behind only her dagger.

Marius is desperate to find the woman whose kiss turned into attempted murder, hunting for the mysterious assassin he can’t push out of his mind. But what he uncovers could change the course of his life forever…

Most of my last few fairy tale re-tellings have been more on the young adult side of things, but since I can’t seem to stomach YA anymore this might work out better for me. Have you had any blind buys from new authors lately? Which ones worked and which ones not so much? I haven’t actually heard of Juliette Cross before – are there any fans of hers around?

4 thoughts on “Blind Buy Spotlight

  1. Jill says:

    I did a bargain bin buy of an author I had never heard of recently and thoroughly enjoyed it and am now tracking down the rest of the series. It was the Rylee Adamson series by Shannon Mayer. A pleasant surprise.

    • kaleigha says:

      I’ve seen her stuff around, but never heard much about her. And she has a ton to choose from, too. I think there is a spin-of series or two, as well.

  2. Barbara says:

    I took a chance on Isabel Jordan’s Harper Hall Investigations series and it was really good. It was mentioned on a list for funny paranormal romance books along with a few others I already knew so I decided to give her a try and I was glad I did.

    • kaleigha says:

      I haven’t heard of her, either, but I should check it out. I like a bit of humor in a book now and then. I just finished The Darkest Promise by Gena Showalter, and I know that it was supposed to be funny but the humor fell way flat for me in that one.

Leave a Reply

