Some Days Just Kick You In The Ass

I have to apologize for the silence around here for the last week or so, but I had much crap going on. I have never been what anyone would call a “people person”, but I have always been firmly in the animal lover category. To keep a long story short, I have three stray/rescue cats that are like my kids, and my little girl had to be put to sleep on Friday after three weeks of back-and-forth to the vet’s. It was horrible and heartbreaking, and to really add a special twist, the next day my little boy accidentally got outside…and ran away. So, one is gone, one has been missing for three days, and I am what you might call testy.

So, if you have any good news, drop it in the comments section. Please?

 

18 thoughts on “Some Days Just Kick You In The Ass

  1. Charlotte Holla says:

    I’m sorry to hear about the passing of one kitty and the loss of another one. I hope that you will soon be reunited with the lost one. Cuddle the one still at home. You can give each other comfort.

  2. Grey Dove says:

    I lost my best friend, my companion, the one who stayed close and got me through all the other pains and losses of the last several years in April, so my heart simply aches for you! It was no replacement but to stop myself going mad I adopted a new little one two days later. I still miss my friend, cry for him so often, but this little ball of love and energy has managed to make me smile. Please give your remaining blessing a hug or pat for me (whatever he/she likes best) and if I can help circulate info for your missing darling on twitter please let me know. The agony of one missing is something I can’t imagine! You are in my prayers!

  3. Deb says:

    So sorry to hear about your fur babies. One is waiting at the Rainbow Bridge and praying the other finds its way home. 😿😿

  4. Shira says:

    I’m really sorry about your babies. In Japan, they say male cats go on a journey. Maybe your boy wanted to go on his? Nevertheless, I hope he’s okay and will come back soon.

  5. cheryl says:

    Condolences on your loss… not an easy thing to go through… may it get easier.
    I hope your boy gets hungry and comes back home. Pets can surprise you with their antics and abilities. If you have close neighbors maybe they have seen your baby.

    • cheryl says:

      Good News:

      In the strange but true category was driving at night for work and come around a blind curve in the road… a side road -speed 20mph and 2 Raccoons in road … slammed on brakes and Mama went left and baby about the size of large softball froze and stayed on the road directly in front of the grill of my right headlight.
      WHEW…. missed them both and waited for crossing.
      Silly Mama didn’t even come back across just stayed on the left and waited for the little one.

      I know the rule of thumb is don’t crash trying to miss critters but I felt better about not having any traffic around and felt I would try my best to not make contact.
      Wildlife can be fun… adrenaline rush for sure.
      So in the good news dept… hey no damage to wildlife or car!!

  6. Dee says:

    I am so sorry to hear about your cats. I feed and do the best I can for several feral cats that visit me daily. I have taken them to the vet and watch over them. I would be heartbroken if something wereto happen to them. I hope your cat comes back.

    For some good news, my Girl Scout troop was part of operation cookie drop. We dropped off 20 cases of Girl Scout cookies which were part of the thousands that were crated and shipped off to soldiers all over the world. We just got news that the cookies have made it to soldiers at several bases in US, Greenland and Afghanistan. They are still being distributed and I am so proud of all the hard work that the girls, leaders, and volunteers.

  7. LW says:

    I’m so sorry for your loss. I’ve experienced the loss of a beloved pet and know how hard it is. They fill places in your heart and mind that you didn’t know were there.

    On the “good” side, I am moving on Sunday. Blessedly away from below stairs tenants who have been making me miserable for nearly a year. On Moving Day, I plan on a nice big celebration which begin with a very loud rendition of Reveille, the traditional wake up call of armed services. It will be followed by very heavy footsteps, banging, use of my “outdoor” voice” and my guests will enjoy great music throughout the “party” 🙂

  8. Barb B (boxermommyreads) says:

    I’m sorry for your loss and I’m sending good thoughts your way. My pups are my children too and I know how hard it is to lose one.

    As far as good news, only 3 more days of work before my “stay”cation. Hope to gets lots read.

  9. saidahgilbert says:

    A tropical storm brushed by my country (Trinidad and Tobago) last week and we all survived. There were no deaths caused by the storm only intense flooding and some property damage on the coastal areas.

  10. Jan says:

    Kaleigh, so sorry for your loss. Sometimes life can just suck. I lost my dog a few years back and he was like my second kid. So I know how you feel.

    Okay…something good for you. How about this awesome person who selflessly takes time to give so many people enjoyment and a common connection by working tirelessly on an amazing website called Wicked Scribes? Yep she’s’ pretty incredible even though I’ve never met her I eagerly await any posts she puts out. They are always interesting and entertaining. She may not know how she touches people’s lives but for someone like me who has a chronic disease and can no longer work it’s a bright spot in my day. I’m sure many others feel the same way. Thank you.

    • cheryl says:

      Jan: that was an awesome post and you are totally on point.
      Wicked Scribes is one of the fun things I do during my day and our “host” does an amazing job.
      So kudos to all.

  11. library addict says:

    Sorry for your loss. It’s always tough when a furbaby makes the trip over the rainbow bridge.

    I hope you find your missing one soon.

  12. Monika Wernli says:

    So very sorry that you lost your girl. I am a cat-mom, too, and know how aweful it is to lose one of our furbabies. Keeping my fingers crossed that your escapee finds his way home soon!

  13. kaleigha says:

    Thanks, everyone. The hunt continues, but I think at this point it is up to him to come home, if he can. I have never had one go missing like this before, and I think it is worse than when they die since you just don’t know if they are ok or not.

  14. Lidy says:

    Oh Kaleigha, I’m so sorry! I hope your boy comes back soon. My neighbor’s dog disappeared with her puppy yesterday and everyone’s looking for them as well. Hope the three pets return to their homes safe and sound.

Leave a Reply

