Reading Wrap Up

envyIt has been a while since one of these posts, and I have a few decent books to talk about. I am up to the third book in J.R. Ward‘s Fallen Angels series, Envy. I find myself liking these books more as I go on, and I am trying my best to avoid spoilers even though I have heard things here or there. I wasn’t really planning on liking Envy for some reason, but I found this one hard to put down. Let me say straight off the bat that Davina is one creepy but oddly entertaining piece of work, and if the rumors I hear are true about her making an appearance in the Black Dagger Brotherhood, things will be getting interesting.

Oh, I also did re-re (meh, probably re again) reads of both White Hot and Wildfire from Ilona Andrews. Honestly, I think they get better the more you read them. I can’t say much I haven’t already gushed about before, but there is a reason that they were both the books of their respective months by such a huge margin.

imitation in deathNo matter how many In Death books from J.D. Robb I read, I don’t get bored. Those suckers are like crack – you can’t put them down. Even though I am nearing 20 books in, I am still excited to get back into the world, see what the characters are up to, and just get involved in the mystery. This go round I tackled Imitation in Death, number 17, which not only had a good solid storyline, but lots of development for some of the secondary characters. I do try and pace myself, but it is sometimes hard to not just pull a monster marathon and blow through a bunch of them. I like having them to look forward to.

the red lilyAnd I ended up liking the “blind buy” purchase I made last week, which was The Black Lily from Juliette Cross. In fact, once I finished that one, I dove straight into the second book, . I have been hit or miss with fairytale retellings, but so far so good. The first one is loosely based on Cinderella, and the second one on Little Red Riding Hood. It does make me wonder what’s next, though. Maybe Sleeping Beauty (or Rapunzel) based on Mina, or maybe Beauty and the Beast for Riker? Who knows, but I will be keeping an eye out for it.

That wraps things up for me. How about you? What have you been reading lately? Any big hits or misses? Any books from favorite series you have treated yourself to?

4 thoughts on “Reading Wrap Up

  1. Jan says:

    What have you been reading lately?
    I’ve just done a re-read of Kelley Armstrong’s Women of the Otherworld series. It’s been years since I first read it. I still enjoyed it.

    Any big hits or misses?
    I tried the first in a new series by Dannika Dark’s Crossbreed series – Keystone and liked it so I’m going to pick up the next in that series called Ravenheart. I’ve also purchased The Sweetest Burn by Jeaniene Frost but haven’t read it yet.

    Any books from favorite series you have treated yourself to?
    I’m a big fan of Nalini Singh and Ilona Andrews so I’ve of course read Silver Silence and White Hot. Great books.

Leave a Reply

