The Furball Has Returned…Almost

cat pawYou were all very kind when I vented last week and whined about having one cat put to sleep and having the other one go missing the next day, and I wanted to say thank you. I have never, ever lost or gotten rid of a pet – it is a commitment I make to have them for the duration of their lives, no matter what, so to have one choose to run away from me was hard. Not knowing if he was dead, or trapped somewhere, or lost is something I hope to never have to experience again. Plus the disbelief that he actually ran away FROM ME didn’t help. I have spent the last week either at work or out hunting for him, or staring out the window and hoping to see him…and last night I did. He was on our back porch, but when I went to let him in he ran away again. The same thing happened tonight, too – he was sitting on the porch looking up at the door like he wanted to come in, but when the door opened he took off. Sigh.

And then the guilt hit. Maybe he has been trying to get in for days and I didn’t see him? Maybe he is upset because the door is shut (not logical, but again, guilt). I can’t leave the door open, because when I open the connecting door he will just take off again. So now we have a live-catch animal trap set up on the porch loaded with a can of tuna, so hopefully he shows up and this ends tonight. Sitting outside in the bugs and the rain until six this morning calling for him was the pits. If the trap doesn’t work, I am seriously thinking of propping the door open and hiding in the car (for hours). When he goes in, I will sneak up behind him from the outside and close it. That is plan B. Please let the trap work, ’cause I really don’t want to sit in the car all night.

*Edit…the little turd will sit beside the trap, but not go in. Damn.

8 thoughts on “The Furball Has Returned…Almost

  1. Jan says:

    Glad your little furball has returned. Hope you can get him back inside. He’s probably just freaked from his experience in the outside world. Poor thing.

  2. library addict says:

    Oh my. Well at least you know he is alive. Maybe the next time you see him set out a trail of treats from the porch to inside the house?

  3. kaleigha says:

    Well, the cage finally worked when I led a trail of chicken into it. He is back inside, and so excited to be back it is kinda sad. He rubs against everyone then drops and sleeps for 10 minutes, then wakes up and rubs all over everyone again. Did I mention that the cage had a little bit of a skunk smell which is now on everything? I am so grateful he is back, but now is stage three – cleanup, flea treatments and keeping an eye on his health.

    • azteclady says:

      I am so glad he’s back home! He’s probably more than a bit traumatized by the experience.

      It’s good that you are keeping an eye on his behaviour, food intake, etc; the one time a visitor let one of my cat out, she ended up very sick. She got well, and lived many healthy years after that, but it was harrowing for a while.

      Best wishes for you all.

  4. Lidy says:

    Great news! I can only guess at the agony you must’ve been in. My sister locked my dog out today and I almost went crazy from it.

    Have you seen the video of a Yorkshire loose in Mexico City? As my furry baby is a Yorkie, I think I’d kill her with worry and love if she tried that with me.

  5. cheryl says:

    weirdly. I just read a blog about skunk odor.
    for the pet:
    1 Qt 3% hydrogen peroxide
    1/4 cup baking soda
    1 tsp. liquid soap
    for skunk smell in the house: put apple cider vinegar in pan and boil to take smell out.. don’t know if that works but the pet one works … just don’t get in eyes mouth or ears.
    Critters are pretty hardy they come back and recover with hugs aplenty.

  6. Grey Dove says:

    I’m thrilled he is back, and inside! My sympathies on getting him back in. You’ve made my evening, please give him a hug for me next time he comes for a rub! He has got to be so happy to be home!

  7. Shira says:

    I’m really happy for you that he’s back.
    A little bit of washing and cleaning wouldn’t hurt as long as he’s back and safe, right?

Leave a Reply

