Reading Wrap Up

Sorry for the hit-and-run posting lately, but I am in the middle of a monster stretch of long, long work days. But, since it has been almost three weeks since my last reading wrap up post, I thought we could take a look at what we all have been indulging in lately.

big jackHonestly, there just hasn’t been time to read much at all. I did devour Big Jack from J.D. Robb, which is a novella from the In Death series. It was a fun read, and it really made me toy with the idea of picking up the Nora Roberts story that it is connected to. I did jump right into the next full book, Divided in Death, but this is the first one of the series that just hasn’t grabbed me that much. I’m not saying it is bad or anything, but I did put it down over a week ago and haven’t had any burning drive to pick it up again. Bur really, I’m not complaining. At this many stories in, it was more than time.

fury of surrenderOther than that, I am about half-way through Fury of Surrender by Coreene Callahan. I am only getting a few minutes here and there to read, so I am having a hard time getting into the flow of things. And once again, my selective amnesia seems to have kicked in and I don’t remember some details from the previous books. Like there is this dude, Nian, who is now part of the Nightfuries, and I have absolutely no recollection of him. None. It’s weird and a little frustrating, and happening more and more when series have long gaps between books. I am so going to have to start doing refresher reads.

That wraps me up, sadly. What have you been reading recently? Anything exciting?

5 thoughts on “Reading Wrap Up

  1. saidahgilbert says:

    I finally read Richelle Mead’s Midnight Jewel this week. It was surprisingly good. However, you need to have read the first book to understand the world of the book. I also read Jennifer Fallon’s Retribution which is the second book in her new Hythrun Chronicles trilogy. I liked it much better than the first one. And the piece de resistance for me was Moonshadow by Thea Harrison. It was frustrating to read in the beginning but I soon got into it and by the end, I was loving it.

  2. library addict says:

    The “Big Jack” story definitely worked better when it was Part II of Remember When. That said, it is not one of my favorites either.

    I don’t know if you’ve been reading the novellas up to this point or not. The only one which really impacts the overall series plot (to this point) was Interlude in Death (set between Betrayal and Seduction), though events in Midnight in Death (set between Holiday and Conspiracy) are also mentioned later.

    I have been enjoying Veronica Scott’s Sectors series which I started earlier in the year. Only one more book to go and I will be caught up…at least until she published the next book sometime this month and then another novella in October. Most of the other books I’ve been reading have been contemporaries.

    Oh, I also enjoyed Robyn Bachar’s Contingency Plan (The Galactic Cold War #2).

  3. cheryl says:

    debating whether to do a quick passover of Burn For Me … anxiously waiting for Wild Fire on Tuesday.
    Fun Fun Fun
    Just got Just for a Treason by Dana Stabenow and since she left the lead character at Deaths Door a couple of years ago…. finally a resolution book. Looking forward to that, of course, and I will drop it in a heartbeat on Tuesday.

Leave a Reply

