Young Adult or Not?

question-markA while back, I decided that I just wasn’t into young adult books anymore. I had a huge pile of them waiting for me on what was formerly Mount TBR, but I had absolutely no interest in reading any of them. I’m not sure what the trigger was, but my love affair with YA died a fast death.

The problem is that since I have been out of the young adult game for a while, I honestly have no clue what is going on in terms of new releases. None. I find myself listing fewer and fewer of them in the New Release pages just because I am not in the know anymore. My question is, how much do you use the young adult listings? If I skipped a dedicated “young adult new releases” section, would you miss it?

19 thoughts on “Young Adult or Not?

  1. Marina says:

    I would not miss it at all since I am not a big fan of YA either. I tried reading them but could not get into it.

  2. Lisa says:

    You are doing fine. I personally rarely read YA myself so no guilt from me. Just delighted you like J D Robb as I have been with that series since the beginning.

  3. Maria says:

    Hi! I left YA back too a while ago. I’ve since then tried once again, because everybody was recommending that book in particular, but it took me 5 days to finish it. Not doing it again! So, no problem for me if you want to focus on the adult books.

  4. Charleen says:

    I don’t use it at all; I don’t normally read it, I’m like you, it just didn’t work for me. If I read them at all its something like The Hunger Games or an author that I love. Take it out, you have enough to do!

    P.S. I’m so glad you like The In Death Series, I just love it!

  5. cheryl says:

    I know there are people out there that have to like the YA but I am with your previous posters. I just stop looking once it get to the YA section.
    I have tried a few but the TSTL moments just left me shaking my head and wonder if teens even do that in this day and age.
    So less work for you… and maybe a section once in a while of authors that others like that doesn’t seem to get a lot of attention

  6. bfmason50 says:

    Only authors I read that are YA are Sarah Maas with her Class Throne Series, and Court of Thrones and Roses, but the last few books of those series has been more NA (New Adult). I also liked Richelle Meade’s Vampire Academy series but I think she is done with that series at the moment. Just make sure to let us know if you hear anything about the long awaited Host books.

Leave a Reply

