Much Appreciated

Thanks to everyone who took the time to answer my young adult question below. I am so glad it was unanimous that no one would miss the young adult stuff, because I am just over it. And I probably would’ve felt guilty if there were a bunch of people who said they did like it.

Since I won’t have to bother with that whole section anymore, I am going to try and see if I can maybe branch out and try and add more self-pubbed and new authors. They are trickier to keep track of because of the usually short pre-order time and lack of info – like Lara Adrian’s next Midnight Breed book, Claimed in Shadows, which isn’t listed on Amazon yet even though it is due out in a couple of weeks. And I haven’t been able to find any blurb yet, either. Sigh.

If you have any hidden jem authors you would like me to keep an eye out for, give me a shout in the comments section. I have a “master list” of writers that I try and keep tabs on, but sometimes they still slip one by me, though.

22 thoughts on “Much Appreciated

  1. Book Twins Reviews says:

    I’m reading YA now and then, it’s maybe 10% of what I read. I don’t necessarily go looking for it, but when I see one that sounds interesting I’ll try it. But often they are just to drama lama for me and rather boring. I don’t think you’ll have trouble finding books to read. 😀 I’m looking forward to your reviews.

  2. battleborn82 says:

    Is there a blog you could recommend that updates different YA. I’m an occasional YA reader if it has an interesting sounding story. Thanks !

    • kaleigha says:

      I wish I did know a good ya-based site, since I could of used one to stay in the know about what was what and what was worth listing. I haven’t seen anything like that around, unfortunately, but it doesn’t hurt to check out YouTube and some of the YA book reviewers. I did find some good books through them back when.

  3. Kirsty says:

    Hello , I’ve been reading Helen Harper for a couple of years now and think she’s brilliant her books are wonderful the world she creates could be so true as there are so many layers. They are usually based in England which is epic as most books of this genre is based in the states, so of us who devote are time consuming this genre it’s great to go somewhere different, her character are also different there more real of course they could fae, vampire,dragon or witch. Her new series which has come out recently started with Slouch witch ( lazy girls guide to magic).
    From the blurb – hard work will pay off later, laziness will pay off now.
    Ivy Wilde is the main character and the point is made she is not a heroine she lazy , Ivy ends up as a victim of mistaken identity, she’s pulled backinto the world of the Hallowed order of magical enlightenment and is magically bound to Raphael Winter, something is stolen they have to find the objet Raphael makes her go to the gym and there’s a taking cat called Brutus. I loved Ivy from page one you’ll laugh out loud and cringe a bit to, this is a fantastic book and if you could you should give it a go (the third book comes out end of Aug uk)

  4. lemonamour says:

    What about YA books by authors who also write adult series —such as Chronicles of Nick by Sherrilyn Kenyon or White Rabbit Chronicles by Gena Showalter— will you skip those as well??

    • kaleigha says:

      I am thinking that I will still include a few, like the Kenyon stuff that ties into her adult series, but maybe just make a notation that it is young adult somewhere in the listing. Not sure, but I might see how that goes.

  5. Jill says:

    Keeping track of Ruby Dixon’s books would be great. She is a relatively new author so there isn’t a huge backlog. Also, she’s just branching out into a new series featuring dragon shifters!

  6. Abra Sonnanstine says:

    The Ivy Granger series by E.J. Stevens is very good. Ivy is a strong character and her boyfriend, the king of the kelpies, fights by her side, but she is in charge. The Imp series by Debra Dunbar is also good. Sam is an Imp and as such is not the most trustworthy or non-violent person in the world. She has a growth character arc without losing her charm. The Sensor series by Susan Illene is very good. It is full of all types of supernationals: werewolves, vampires, demons, angels, nephelium, and many different kinds of fae. These stories are fairly gritty, particularly as the series moves forward. I also love how each type of supernatural has it’s own personality and can’t be confused with the others.

    All three series have strong female leads and they are all slow burn romances.

    • kaleigha says:

      That sounds good, too. I do recognize a couple of those names, but I don’t think I ever checked any of their stuff out. Thanks.

  7. Alex says:

    Irrelevant to your post, but I haven’t been by in a while and just wanted to tell you I love the new banner and theme!

    • kaleigha says:

      Thanks! I just whipped it up quickly this afternoon, since I wanted to get rid of the angel picture and go more text-based.

  8. cc says:

    Hi, I read some independent authors. Lindsay Buroker, her dragon series is good, liked it a lot. Her most popular series seems to be the Emperor’s Edge books. Ann Charles, Deadwood series is good though I really enjoyed her Jackrabbit Junction books. And all of Grace Draven books are good. A new one for me is Marie Andreas, just finished Warrior Wench it was non stop action along with some humor. I now reading the second book Victorious Dead.

Leave a Reply

