To Read or Not To Read?

question markSince I have finished up one of my target series, J.R. Ward‘s Fallen Angels, I have decided to tackle another one – Faith Hunter‘s Jane Yellowrock series. I think I was at maybe book three when I stepped away, but my love of the Soulwood spin-off has made me really want to go back and finish it. I have decided that a complete start-over is called for, but I have a question – are the many, many novellas a must-read?

I usually don’t mind novellas, but honestly, there are just so darn many collections and companions and side stories that it throws me off. And when I bought Cat Tales from Amazon? There is no cover image, so I will have to edit and add a cover and then send to my ipad as a document so my OCD doesn’t slap me around. Unless I skip them altogether?

Did any of you tackle all of the many side stories, or have you stuck to the main book releases?

12 thoughts on “To Read or Not To Read?

  1. Judy says:

    My opinion only, skip the novellas, if you read about a character you would like to know better
    then probably maybe to think about the novella, but totally up to you.

  2. dougmeeks says:

    I stick to the main books in any series BUT I can say that I have read more of the side stories and novellas from the Jane Yellowrock series than any other series I can think of and some are important (think the Soulwood series started with a Jane Yellowrock novella or short story (correct me if I got that wrong) . There are at least 2 books/novellas that are crossover to other series and I read those and they are awesome and also don’t require a lot of prior knowledge)

  3. Sanam Khangura says:

    I have never been able to get into the Jane Yellowrock series. I tried to read and listen to the book three times already. I don’t see any romance that I would like to see develop such as I did for Kate Daniels. Let me know what you think of the series. I always read Ilona Andrews novellas, usually not others.

  4. deborahkehoe says:

    I’m so glad you wrote this! I too love the new series and hadn’t read the original Jane Yellowrock series. I’ve now read three, they are good, but the number of them are kind of daunting. I usually skip novellas because I get annoyed with the lack of depth, however some authors do a great job with them (Ilona Andrews as mentioned above) so I may try one and see if I like her style.

  5. Jean says:

    I didn’t read the Jane Yellowrock novellas. In fact, I started in the middle of the series and haven’t gone back for the ones I missed. I would skip the novellas until you are sure you like the series, you can always go back.

  6. kaleigha says:

    I took the plunge and picked up the two novella collections I was missing (and changed the damned cover to match), and I copied the correct reading list from Goodreads. I have already read the first few books way back when, and I found that the novellas (when read in the correct order) did answer some questions I had, so so far they have been handy.

    I don’t think I would start the series with the novellas, but going back after having a couple of books under your belt seems to work. I don’t think you would absolutely need to read them, but they have kept me entertained so far.

  7. cheryl says:

    You can skip the novella’s … they give a backstory to some of the characters and a little more depth as to the why… on some of the stories.
    However, the main books will do the job with the novella’s.
    I have to admit I have them all but I just love the series and it seems ( impatient much) like forever for the next book in the series to come out. Faith Hunter puts out one a year like a lot of authors and it feels like eons.

  8. gallifreyan1218 says:

    You know you can get all but the most recent shorties from within the last 9-12 months in the anthology Blood in Her Veins? I’d read them. Most of them aren’t necessary, but the one called Blood, Fangs, and Going Furry will probably help ease some confusion that occurs if you don’t read it and feel like you missed something. Golden Delicious is a good one to read, as it introduces a major player. Cajun with Fangs and Cat Fight provide some backstory of one of the magical artifacts Jane currently still holds, and Off the Grid is the story of how Jane and Nell met (and introduces Nell to the world of Jane Yellowrock).

    They’re fun stories, regardless of the fact that most aren’t necessary to the main story line.

    I’d say read them for more fleshing out of an awesome world! 🙂

Leave a Reply

