September’s Book of the Month

I know this was pretty much a formality, but Nalini Singh‘s Archangel’s Viper is September’s book of the month. I read this one a couple of months back, but I am ready for a re-read, too. I think the bigger story is that J.D. Robb‘s Secrets in Death came in at #2 – it is the 45th freakin’ book in the series. Forty. Fifth. And more popular than ever. Blows my mind.

archangel's viperSynopsis…

Once a broken girl known as Sorrow, Holly Chang now prowls the shadowy gray underground of the city for the angels. But it’s not her winged allies who make her a wanted woman—it’s the unknown power coursing through her veins. Brutalized by an insane archangel, she was left with the bloodlust of a vampire, the ability to mesmerize her prey, and a poisonous bite.

Now, someone has put a bounty on her head…

Venom is one of the Seven, Archangel Raphael’s private guard, and he’s as infuriating as he is seductive. A centuries-old vampire, his fangs dispense a poison deadlier than Holly’s. But even if Venom can protect Holly from those hunting her, he might not be able to save himself—because the strange, violent power inside Holly is awakening…

No one is safe.

I was surprised by how much I liked Holly. I mean, of course I expected to love the book, but I am really bitchy when it comes to female leads. It isn’t rare for me to like a story in spite of the heroine rather than because of her, but Holly made this book for me. I am still getting a Bluebell/Sparkle vibe, maybe not as strong as before, but it is still there – and I am still hoping I am wrong. I haven’t read many M/m stories – maybe two? One for Blay and Qhuinn (BDB), one for Caspion and Mirceo (IAD). I ended up enjoying them both, but I wasn’t as invested in their characters as I am Illium and Aodhan, either. We shall see, I guess.

2 thoughts on “September’s Book of the Month

  1. Lidy says:

    The Aodhan/Illium pairing isn’t something I care for or despise; I’m pretty indifferent to it. But I’m afraid it’ll be fan service (like I think Blay & Qhuinn was because of the tease-that-led-to-nowhere that was Butch and V), which will end up not making them justice. I’m open to the idea of Aodhan and Illium staying together or with different people. As long as it’s the real deal and not fetishsizing.

    Glad to hear you enjoyed Archangel’s Viper. I have to say I don’t really care about Venom; I hope he’s grown out of his childish behavior regarding Elena. And that we find out if Michaela was pregnant and, if so, Uram giving her his blood did something to the poor kid.

    • kaleigha says:

      Venom was never a big favorite of mine, either – I didn’t dislike him, he just sort of got lost in the shuffle with characters I liked better.

Leave a Reply

