Pick of the Week

A couple of years ago, my pick of the week would’ve been Dark Legacy. No question. Christine Feehan‘s Carpathians books were the top of the top for me, but over time they have become more of a “habit” read. I don’t anticipate getting my hands on the latest release, I don’t count down the days – hell, I am getting to the point that I don’t even remember who the characters are anymore. But I still can’t walk away. It is an addiction, I swear.

It might be a while until I actually get to my real pick of the week, but I will get there. Someday. The book I am talking about is J.D. Robb‘s 45th In Death book, Secrets in Death. I say it every time, but it amazes me that a series can be nearly 50 books in, and still going strong. Not only still selling well, but it seems like it is more popular then ever.

secrets in deathSynopsis…

The chic Manhattan nightspot Du Vin is not the kind of place Eve Dallas would usually patronize, and it’s not the kind of bar where a lot of blood gets spilled. But that’s exactly what happens one cold February evening.

The mortally wounded woman is Larinda Mars, a self-described “social information reporter,” or as most people would call it, a professional gossip. As it turns out, she was keeping the most shocking stories quiet, for profitable use in her side business as a blackmailer. Setting her sights on rich, prominent marks, she’d find out what they most wanted to keep hidden and then bleed them dry. Now someone’s done the same to her, literally—with a knife to the brachial artery.

Eve didn’t like Larinda Mars. But she likes murder even less. To find justice for this victim, she’ll have to plunge into the dirty little secrets of all the people Larinda Mars victimized herself. But along the way, she may be exposed to some information she really didn’t want to know…

Who all is up-to-date with the In Death series? I am on…18? Maybe 19? But I spread them out (even though I could probably pull a decent sized marathon and not get tired of them at all). They are a treat for me, honestly – it is like re-visiting old friends at this point.

23 thoughts on “Pick of the Week

  1. cheryl says:

    I wont confess to my age but I have read J.D. Robb since book 7? was out and read from book one to seven and have devoured them ever since.
    Sometimes I think I should do a re-read and I go back to my favorites because square one .. that would make it difficult to read anything else for a couple of months.
    I still read her Nora Roberts stuff: of her recent stuff my high fives would go to:
    The Obsession
    Whiskey Beach
    The Witness
    The Collector

    • kaleigha says:

      And you get so much more with a second read, too. I don’t know if I would be brave enough to stare down that many books a second time, but it does sound like fun.

  2. Grey Dove (@GreyDoveCottage) says:

    I only found the series about six years ago but I’ve read every full length book in it, most of them several times. (I read A LOT!) There was a bit of a lapse in the series (some two or three books weren’t up to the usual high standard we’ve come to expect), but they have recovered beautifully and this one sounds like one of the best in a bit. I won’t be able to get it until beginning of next week, but I’m looking forward to it!

  3. library addict says:

    I’ll be up-to-date as soon as I finish Secrets (had tons of real life drama to deal with yesterday so didn’t get much reading time in).

    But I’ve been reading the books since the second book was released way back when. I actually used to reread all the books every time there was a new release (but that ended around the time the series jumped to hardcover). So I’ve reread the early books in the series a number of times. I keep thinking I should do a reread of the later books as some of them I’ve only read once or twice.

    And it is like visiting old friends. Even a “bad” In Death books is better than a lot of what’s out there.

  4. azteclady says:

    I came to the In Death books on the fifth or sixth book, and I have been a fan ever since, though not always a “rush to get them on release day” level fan. Which means that currently I’m two behind–I haven’t even bought Echoes or Secret. While not all of them hold up to the same level, I don’t think there are any truly ~bad~ and even the so-so ones (Fantasy, for me) are highly readable, mostly for the relationships in the universe.

    • kaleigha says:

      They are one of the few series that I still buy in physical form, so my next two to read are the only two TBR books I have. I just finished Divided in Death, which was the first book I had a bit of trouble getting interested in. At first. Then things took off and I was hooked again.

  5. Monika says:

    I guess I’m “old” too, but I have been on board since book one :-). I also used to read lots of her Nora Roberts stuff, but have abandoned most of them since…

  6. Charleen says:

    I’m up to date on all of them and I’ve re-read them twice within the last 4 years. I’m a huge fan and definitely not slowing down on the series. I think its because Eve has evolved from the loner locked down person she was in the first two books, to the still locked down person; who had become a part of a huge family, that she is now. Sometimes her observations are so funny, especially the “marriage rules” Eve and Roark are what everyone wants to be as a couple. Love them!

  7. library addict says:

    I really enjoyed Secrets. It’s not quite an instant favorite, but there are some wonderful character moments.

    Also a loose thread I’ve been waiting 14 years for was finally addressed. (less than 2 years in book time, but 14 years in real time).

  8. snapdragon says:

    I have re-read the series a few times and I have them in Audio format and because Susan Erickson is just that awesome of a narrator. There have been a few not quite as good ones but the personal growth and relationships are huge motivators in this series for me. I am waiting patiently for this from the library.

  9. Maria says:

    I’m up to date, still very much in love with the series and about to dive into the last one… Will not re read them though, the number of them is too much. But I love your character guide!!!

  10. MJ Hunter says:

    I just finished Secrets in Death (JD Robb) today and I am always waiting for the next one. I have listened to this series multiple times as I own all of them in audiobook format. I favor some over others, but overall I love this series as it’s one of my favorites.

Leave a Reply

