Reading Wrap Up

skinwalkerMy reading has been all over the place since my last wrap up post, and the vast majority of it has been a success. After I finished up J.R. Ward‘s Fallen Angels series, I decided to tackle another one of my “should read” series. Or in the case of the Jane Yellowrock books, it was a matter of giving it another try. I read a few books a couple of years back, but honestly I had a hard time getting into it. But my real enjoyment of Faith Hunter‘s spin off Soulwood books featuring Nell Ingram made me really want to give Jane another shot. And so far, so good. I have checked out a lot of the early novellas, and gone back and read the first book, Skinwalker, and for some reason it seems to be clicking for me this time around.

I also picked up the latest Dragon Kin book from G.A. Aiken, Bring the Heat. It was another solid installment of the series, and it was so good to see some long-standing issues get resolved so well. I have always enjoyed both Branwen and Aidan, but for me their romance took a backseat to everything else going on. And there was a LOT going on, that’s for sure.

feversongI did a couple of re-reads for the character guides, tackling Thea Harrison’s Spellbinder and Karen Marie Moning‘s Feversong, supposedly the end of the Mac and Barrons part of the Fever series. I ended up enjoying Spellbinder much more the second time around, and I have gone from being a bit “meh” on the UK Elder Races spin off to quite liking it. I would be happy to see it continue past the currently-planned trilogy. And Feversong? I read it so fast the first time around that I didn’t do it or myself any favors, and I am getting much more out of it with the re-read. As much as I do like the Fever books, though, I am so very ready to be done with Mac’s POV. She has had her time, and then some, and now it is time for the rest of the characters to get their turn. After Dani (and Ryodan), there is supposed to be a couple of books focusing on The Nine (I think), and I can’t wait.

And for something a little different, I stepped outside my comfort zone and tried a few different things. I picked up the British mystery/thriller Now You See Me from Sharon Bolton after seeing some really good reviews around, and I did quite like it. I quite liked it, more than I thought I would, but I didn’t feel the need to immediately go and pick up the rest of the books in the series. At least not yet, anyways. I also finally broke down and bought The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson. Yeah, that didn’t work out nearly so well. I tried maybe 5 or 6 times to get into it, but it just didn’t happen. I haven’t seen the movie yet, so maybe that will spur me on, but as of right now it is a DNF after about 6 chapters. Sigh.

paper princessHave you ever decided to randomly just try a book, knowing going in that it is completely not what you usually like, and you end up loving it? That happened to me with Paper Princess by Erin Watt. I don’t do contemporary romance, and I don’t do young adult, so a contemporary young adult romance is an automatic miss, right? Nope. I Loved it. I bought it completely on a lark, and I think I even rolled my eyes when I decided to “just give the first chapter a quick look”. Well, that first chapter browse turned into me finishing the book in one sitting, immediately ordering the rest, and getting almost a third of the way through the second one before I finally made myself go to bed at 7:00 this morning. I can’t even tell you why I like it so much, I just do. What a pleasant surprise.

Over to you. Any great reads (or re-reads) lately? Any popular series you couldn’t get into, or any surprise favorites? Ever given a series a second chance and ended up liking it more the next time around?

19 thoughts on “Reading Wrap Up

  1. Lidy says:

    Paper Princess is so good! The second one, Broken Prince, isn’t bad, but the third felt rushed. Still, it was satisfying read for a person who doesn’t enjoy YA. The only problem I had was with how sexualized the characters were; with time, reading how hot the Royals were began grating on my nerves.

    The authors are posting a short story focused on Gideon on Wattpad; I haven’t read it yet. And there’s an Easton book coming. I kind of hope Callum gets a little loving too.

    • kaleigha says:

      I really liked the first one, and enjoyed the second one, too. I am on #3, and still enjoying it. I am going to finish up the first arc, then take a break before I head into Easton’s story.

  2. Jessica says:

    I just did a reread of The Lord’s of the Underworld. And I made a character guide that I’ll try to send you if you want. I want to do a reread of Nalini Singh psychangling or start another series.

  3. Ashley says:

    I know you don’t read YA too much anymore but I highly recommend the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas. It is probably one of, if not the most well thought out series I have ever read, with one seemingly insignificant line in book one foreshadowing the biggest plotline four books later. I will admit books one and two seem almost juvenile, like a very typical teen read. But I cannot stress how this book grows with the character. As she ages the book becomes mature enough that it shouldn’t be found in teen, but on top of that the plotlines and worldbuilding grow too. I just finished the newest released book today and honestly don’t know how I can wait a year for the finale. Sarah J. Maas is tied for my favourite author with Ilona Andrews. I know it’s a commitment to ask someone to try a series and promise it gets really good by book three, but I’ll throw the idea out there for whoever will listen, this series deserves it!

    • kaleigha says:

      I have heard so, so many people say how much they love the Throne of Glass books. Actually, I can’t remember anyone saying that they didn’t like them. I am going to put it on the list, I think. I did like the first book of the Court of Thorns and Roses series, but I for some reason got rid of it in one of my un-hauls. Not sure why.

      I actually headed over to Amazon.ca, and picked up the first books of both of her series really cheap. Throne of Glass was 2.99, which is great.

      • Ashley says:

        Thanks so much for putting it on the TBR list! I really do hope you love them as much as I do, and I’m so glad they were a great price too! A Court of Thorns and Roses was an amazing series as well, but I did also find that the first book was not as good as the other two that followed.

  4. Monika says:

    Either WordPress or my laptop is screwing with me again and won’t let me post my comment… ARGH!!

    I never read The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (though naturally I have the books on my bookshelf). I really, really liked the original Swedish movie version, though. I love Daniel Craig, but the remake can’t quite compare with the gritty, melancholy, raw feel of the orginal, there’s too much Hollywood gloss. So if you can get your hands on a dubbed or subtitled version, you really should go with the Swedish original: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1132620/videoplayer/vi2735866905
    As to second chance reads; for me it was Reaper’s Property by Joanna Wylde. I discovered it while browsing Ellora’s Cave a while back, read it and really liked it, but because at the time it was the only book of the series out, I just read that one and didn’t feel the need to hunt down any sequels. For some reason I came across it again early this summer. And re-read it. I liked it a whole lot more the second time around and saw that there were several more books in the series, so I bought the second book and than the third and so on. I really liked how different the characters and their stories were: from different walks of life, some old (fortyish), some young (falling into the category of YA) with different issues and problems and I just couldn’t stop reading until the last book. They also sort of got me hooked on MC Romance (something I would never have thought I’d enjoy). Then somebody recommended Susan Fanetti’s Horde series to me and I loved it (they are so emotionally draining and well written) and I hated it (because – spoiler warning – she killed off one of her greatest characters in the most gruesome way imaginably (and I say that as someone who has suffered with all of Kenyon’s heroes and Kaleb and countless others). In the beginning of his own book I really hated the guy: bald, bearded, tattood biker, a misogynistic son-of-bitch. But then we learn what made him the way he is and it is tragic. Despite the fact that he never experienced love before, he slowly opens up to the heroine and her son and he does all these kind and selfless things and they sort of get a happy ending to their own story (short term). Then comes the next installment, and boom, he is tortured to death. It took me days to get thru the scene and afterwards I couldn’t read anything for a week. I still haven’t recovered completely… but because of these two author’s I have fallen in love with MC Romance… I also liked Jordan Marie’s Devil’s Blaze MC, even though I sometimes wanted to slap her heroines for behaving so stupidly… haven’t tried any others yet, although there are some on my TBR pile…

    • kaleigha says:

      Eh, blame WordPress. They are always making “improvements” – which usually blow. It just gets more convoluted and twisted and harder to make work smoothly.

      It is so much fun to find something outside the norm that just works for you, isn’t it? I haven’t tried much in the way of motorcycle club stories (Torpedo Ink will be my first, I’m pretty sure), but I have branched out a tiny bit recently into romantic suspense. I loved Alexandra Ivy’s ARES books, and some of Cynthia Eden’s too.

      Not sure I could handle the whole killing a main character off thing, though. I get weirded out when I am not 100% sure a favorite will survive. I had to jump ahead to the end of the last Fever book just to make sure Ryodan lived (uh, spoiler? Yeah). I could read in peace after that.

      • Monika says:

        Hadn’t seen Torpedo Ink yet; this means I might have to get back into Feehan, just to see what she does with MC.
        Before I came to the dark side (i.e. PNR/UF/Fantasy/Dark Romance) I used to read lots and lots of Romantic Suspense. Some of my favorite authors (including favorite standalone books) were Elizabeth Lowell’s Tell Me No Lies, Anne Stuart’s Moonrise (also loved her “Ice” series) she does anti-heroes really well, Sandra Brown’s Slow Heat in Heaven (not Romantic Suspense in the strict sense, although there is a mystery) and Linda Howard’s Cry No More… these are some of my all-time favorites that I enjoy re-reading even after all this time!
        I am glad Ryodan is not going to die… at this point I feel I have to do a complete re-read as I have forgotten so much.
        To be fair, Susan Fanetti did put in a warning about the aweful events in that book; problem is, it was book 6 in the series and I loved the first 5 books and was so invested in the characters that I couldn’t stop reading even though I knew somthing terrible was going to take place.

  5. Nori says:

    I think you will like the audio version on the Girl with the Dragon Tattoo trilogy, the narrator is wonderful. It is one of my favorite re-listen.

  6. tan22 says:

    **Warning long post*** + a spoiler
    Hi, recently stumbled across this site and love it. I had stopped really reading PNR/UF apart from a couple of authors (e.g. Nalini Singh, Christine Feehan (only one or two series of hers though), Jeannine Frost etc). So reading through your posts reminded me of the series/authors that I have read and either stopped because they weren’t capturing me anymore or I wasn’t interested. However my main point is about Kim Harrisons Hollow series; which is that one of the characters that become semi main **Spoiler** dies! Which from what I read the majority of fans hated (me included) and asked why. Just felt you should know. Thanks for this blog and it has gotten me thinking about all the PNR that is on my book case that I have read, and have stopped reading.

    • kaleigha says:

      Ew, that’s a hard one. I don’t deal with that well, honestly. Unless it is one of those characters that I loathe, then I am all for the croaking.

Leave a Reply

