The TBR-OD Bucket List

After years of nearly drowning under a TBR pile that got as high as almost 400 books at one point, I am very careful about not letting myself go down the rabbit hole again. I am not a fan of being disorganized, so after my switch to e-books I made a vow to not let things get out of control again. That said, though, I do have some series that are on my “To Be Read – One Day” bucket list.

I have checked a couple of them off already – Sherrilyn Kenyon‘s Dark-Hunter series (which didn’t work out so well), and J.R. Ward‘s Fallen Angels books (which did). I am still plugging away on J.D. Robb‘s In Death monster, which is an absolute favorite, and just getting into Faith Hunter‘s Jane Yellowrock world…again. But my bucket list doesn’t end there.

As it stands now, my immediate list would look something like this:

  • Diana Gabaldon‘s Outlander – I haven’t seen the show, but I am circling that, too. I would love another really good book/show adaptation to get into.
  • George R.R. Martin‘s A Song of Ice and Fire – Love the show, and I think it would be great to pick up the books, too. Plus at this point I actually know who is who, which is a bonus.
  • Stacia Kane‘s Downside Ghosts – This has been a target for a long time now, but what is holding me back is the complete lack of info about the state of the series. The last book came out over five years ago, and finding any info about the next one is like trying to track down bigfoot. Apparently the new predicted release date for Unholy Luck is December 1st, 2018. Eh, we’ll see.
  • Jennifer Estep‘s Elemental Assassin – Another one that has been on the radar for a long time now. Mostly, I am attracted to the pretty covers, but it seems like a good, solid series that shows no signs of stopping anytime soon. And I did like all of the young adult series of hers that I read.
  • Kim Harrison‘s The Hollows – Honestly, I have been meaning to get into this one for years. YEARS. And somehow I just keep skipping over it. Not sure why, but it will be nice to pick up a new series that has already ended its run – no painful cliffhangers that way.

A few others would be Eileen WilksWorld of the Lupi, the Sookie Stackhouse series from Charlaine Harris, and the October Daye and InCryptid series from Seanan McGuire have been tempting me, too. Oh, and any of the Elizabeth Hunter series are up there, as well. Sigh.

What are your bucket list series? If you have read any of mine, what did you think of them? Any favorites?

 

43 thoughts on “The TBR-OD Bucket List

  1. Larissa says:

    OMG!
    World of Lupi, October Daye and The Hollows are some of my face séries EVER!!!! They are ABSOLUTELY Worth it!
    As is ANYTHING by Elizabeth Hunter… I’ve read it all and Every series she Writes is Awesome!
    The downside Ghosts series is great, but I understand being a little scared of starting it since we don’t know when the new one is coming out. However, this series latest does not and in the cliffhanger so that’s a bonus.
    I really liked the sookie stackhouse series… though, I do prefer A couple of her cozy mystery series…
    The elemental assassin Series is OK… it became a bit repetitive by book seven, I stopped, expecting to return but never did.
    I gave up on Outlander mid way through and I also plan on reading A Song of Ice and Fire…
    I could recommend a few more, but I don’t want to overwhelm you lol

    • Marina says:

      I felt the same way about Elemental Assassin. Absolutely loved the first three or four books. But Mags got killed, it got kinda boring. Same premise but different villain each time. 😦

      A few people have said that they have drifted away from the Elemental Assassin series after a bit, too. Seems like it is pretty common.

    • kaleigha says:

      I have heard only good things about all of those series, except I did read a few reviews that said the first October Daye book was a bit on the dull side, but then things picked up after that. Hell, the first Kate Daniels book was hard to get into, too, and we all know how that turned out.

  2. Aletia says:

    I absolutely LOVE Eileen Wilks Lupi series!!! Faith Hunter is also on my AutoBuy list ❤ I've been meaning to read Harrison, and McGuire, as well. I too know all about the HUGE TBR pile/list 😀 Move Eileen up it. You won't be sorry. Her newest should be out in January, so you have time to catch up!

    • kaleigha says:

      It surprises me that there isn’t more buzz around the Lupi books, since it seems like such a solid series. Good to know I am not the only one with a few big series in their sights, too.

  3. Marina says:

    I absolutely Love October Daye series. Fun, fun, fun! I tried Elemental Assasin series, it started out so awesome, but got stale by book 6 or so, same premise, different villain each book. I lost interest. Going To start Hallows soon.

  4. cheryl says:

    I love Eileen Wilks she is an auto buy as well as Faith Hunter.
    I gave up on Hollows because the main character movement was slower than a glacier. I loved the lead but she makes the same mistakes over and over and annoying is how it got. I think it was book 9 when I gave up.
    The INCRYPTID series is very very good but I gave up on the October Daye after 5? books.
    Jennifer Estep is a good series but does get repetitive and I am behind on the last 4 books.

    Now after all that … I will gladly state that Eileen Wilks and Faith Hunter keep their stories fresh and they have a multi-layer universe with plenty of action. I never get bored or feel the stories are recycled.

  5. library addict says:

    I have some paranormal, but most of the new-to-me series in my TBR are contemp. I have a bad habit of buying an entire series because I’ll see a blurb, think “I want to read that”, discover it’s book 5 of a series, buy them all since I’m a read-in-order type person, and then get overwhelmed about starting yet another new series so they just sit there. I’ve been trying very hard not to that this year and only buy books I want to read right away unless there’s a great sale.

    That’s one reason I’ve been trying to make an annual goal of reading at least one new-to-me series I already own. This year I’ve read all of Veronica Scott’s Sectors series as well as Meljean Brook’s Iron Seas (well not quite done as I have one more book to go, The Kraken King). I have greatly enjoyed both series.

    I’ve never been a fan of Outlander (gave up after the first book and from what I’ve read about the series I am very happy that I did).

    I’ve got Elizabeth Hunter’s Cambio Springs series in my TBR so hoping to tackle that next year. Also Caitlyn McFarland’s Dragonsworn trilogy. I’ve read the first few of Anna Hackett’s Phoenix Adventures so want to finish up that series as well.

    I have also been trying to read other books in between so I don’t burn out on a series or author. So I find it helps to plan ahead, hence the annual goals.

    • kaleigha says:

      Holy hell – I was the same. I had the ENTIRE Dark-Hunter series, in hardcover wherever possible, before I had ever read a word of it. And I ended up tapping out just before Acheron’s book. I am being really strict about what I add to the TBR, and how many, and I am only buying one book from a series to see if I like it. It can be hard to change the habits, but I am doing better now. Most of the time, anyways. Now if I could just stop the random impulse buying of blu-ray and streamed tv shows, I would be set.

      • library addict says:

        I bought Jeffe Kennedy’s The Pages of the Mind as it was book 1 in her Uncharted Realms series only to discover there’s an earlier series and this one is a sequel. *Sob* I can’t win even when I am trying to be good.

        Thankfully the library has the 3 full length books for the earlier series. But the novellas are rather pricey. I may just read the full-length books though now I know there are novellas too…grr!

  6. Ju says:

    I always say this: is a shame more people don’t know Eileen Wilks!!
    And another amazing author who reserve more recognition is D.B. Reynolds. Put Vampires in America on your TBR list and you’ll not regret!!!

    • kaleigha says:

      Damn, Vampires in America is another one that people have told me is a must-read, but it flies under the radar and I don’t think of it. Must grab the first book now so I don’t spaz out again.

  7. Dawn Bettin says:

    Definitely get into the Jennifer Estep’s Spider series. Love these. They catch your attention right away and keep it engaged throughout all the books.

  8. Monika says:

    On my TBR pile:
    Elizabeth Hunter’s Cambio series: I have put off reading this series for the strangest reason: in one of the books the romantic couple are called Alli and Olli, which really bothers me a great deal, because as irrational as it sounds it somehow has strange (incestuous) connotations for me, like couples that dress in the same clothes…
    J. R. Ward’s Black Dagger: I don’t really know what’s keeping me from tackling this series, especially as everybody seems to have read it and loved it…
    I really would like to get back into Feehan, especially the Carpathian and Ghost Walkers… and also finally tackle Sea Haven and I’ll probably check out her new MC series (since that seems to have become a “thing” for me recently)
    I have read some books by Anna Hackett I think liked the Hell Squad one (post-apocalyptic) best, so I’ll be checking that one out…
    A Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas: after avoiding reading her because the books are labeled YA (and I hate YA) I finally tried a Court of Thornes and Roses and absolutely loved! it. I think I finished the three monster books in about 5 days, but afterwards I needed something else.

    Recommendations:
    Elizabeth Hunter: Both the Elemental series (though the first book is a bit slow-moving, but you have to persevere, it’s really worth it) and Irin Chronicles (Fallen Angels, really unique and distinctive world building) are great…
    Eileen Wilks’ World of Lupi: I love the mixture of paranormal, magical and police procedural/mystery elements of this series, but I am still upset the last book ended on a cliffhanger and the story was cut off in the middle…(note: in this series the novellas are important)
    Allyson James (aka Jennifer Ashley): out of all her series Stormwalker is my favorite, even more so than Shifters Unbound. Her Ashley Gardner Historical Mysteries are pretty decent, too.
    Dianna Love’s Belador series, great UF set in Atlanta, distinct world-building, in my opinion still under-rated…

    I recently bought the complete True Blood series on DVD (I am old-fashioned that way): I love me some Alex Skarsgard… I have also been watching the first two seasons of Outlander (and had to join the “My next husband Jamie Frazer” self-help group 😉 ) and GoT (which I also love)… but somehow once I have watched the TV series (or film) I don’t feel the need to read the book…

    • kaleigha says:

      Eh, I have my issues that can stop me from trying out a series, too. My major irrational turn-off is a female reporter as a lead character. Nope. Not gonna happen.

      The BDB is rather polarizing. Early books were awesome, then they hit a lull where it seemed like they couldn’t decide if they wanted to be a PNR or a UF with a million lead characters, then they seemed to find a happy medium which worked (but it took a while). I have to be in the right mood to tackle one of them, though – they aren’t always an easy read.

      I can’t quite categorize Feehan anymore. The Carpathians and Ghostwalkers got me back into reading again after giving up books for a few years, and they started my love of the whole genre, but it seems like maybe my tastes evolved and her writing stayed the same? I can’t five them up, but as I am reading them I keep noticing all of the things that don’t work for me anymore. I annoy myself, but can’t seem to stop. The Sea Haven books were the only series that I still enjoy as much as I did at the start – they went from my least to most favorite of all of her series.

      I like Jennifer Ashley, but weirdly never thought to try her Allyson James stuff. I will keep her and Dianna Love in mind, too.

      Oooh, I did True Blood back in the day but drifted off in season 5, so I recently went back and started a re-watch right back from the beginning. I am about half-way through season 6 now, and it is completely because of my long-time Skarsgard love. It was re-triggered by my picking up Big Little Lies, and I have been stalkerish ever since. I am going to try and finish up True Blood, then Sons of Anarchy, Fear the Walking Dead and the last season of The Walking Dead, then tackle Outlander. Too little time, honestly.

  9. bfmason50 says:

    I really enjoyed the 8 or so books of Jennifer Estep’s Spider series then like others said they got a bit repetitive.
    I tried to “read” not listen to the Game of Thrones books by Martin but I only lasted about 15 pages. So I turned to listening to the books and that was a lot better for me. The problem with Martin’s books is he can go on for like 20 pages or 30 mins of audio on the most insane tangents of background story. In one of the books there was like 20 minutes on the Heraldry of different clans of one of the empires.

    • kaleigha says:

      Eh, that would get old and make me start skimming, and once I start to skim I have a hard time getting back into the swing of things. I like detail, but not all the details, if that makes sense.

      • bfmason50 says:

        That is why I recommend the audio books for this series. If you daydream during those times you don’t lose much of the overall story.

    • kaleigha says:

      I haven’t done much outside of PNR or UF for years, but I have dipped a toe outside of those lately. I liked Alexandra Ivy’s ARES books, and a lot of Cynthia Eden’s stuff, too (which reminds me that I need to get back into her books too). And Kelley Armstrong’s Casey Duncan series became a new favorite.

      • Larissa Benoliel says:

        oh, and I remember you are reading the In Death series…
        There are some Thriller series I read where romance isn’t really the focus, but it’s there… and the story is awesome!
        I haven’t read those… I don’t look for much romantic thriller, though I read a few, I like more thriller about serial killers, detectives, FBI (Criminal Minds style) with some roance mixed it…
        Lisa Gardner is AMAZING at that!!!!

  10. gallifreyan1218 says:

    The Hollows was a great series, and Jenks is one of my absolute favorite characters ever!!!

    READ SEANAN MCGUIRE! OCTOBER DAYE IS AMAZING and INCRYPTID IS AWESOME!!!

    Sookie Stackhouse is a strong series up until the last four or so, and then it’s clear she was over writing it and just finishing a contract. 😦

    Song of Ice and Fire? Stick with the show. The books are Stephen King-rivaling in their tangent-following, overly descriptive, needed an editor badly lengths, plus book 6 is seemingly never going to be released, much less the “final” book number seven.

    Elemental Assassin is a fun series, mostly fluffy (though it covers some dark subjects) and fun… a little repetitive but I like most of the characters. I believe she has an end goal, book 19. I wish she’d up that to 20 for those of us who have some issues with OCD-like symptoms when it comes to stuff like that LOL.

    • kaleigha says:

      Honestly, I really enjoyed most of True Blood, but my shallow side just wants the print books for the pretty, multi-colored UK covers. Shallow but true, so I hope I like them. I couldn’t get into Midnight, Texas at all, but I have higher hopes for the Sookie books. Maybe.

      I’m not a huge historical fantasy lover, which makes me think ASoIaF will be way, way down the list – if ever. I would like to expand my reading interests, but not with something that might never be finished. Ugh.

      The Elemental Assassin books sound like they could be a good fit for me – I like a lighter book here and there to break up the darker stories I usually end up with, and I like it when an author knows when it is time to wrap things up. Working towards an end is so much better than drifting along forever and not getting anywhere.

  11. pals20 says:

    Sherrilyn Kenyon‘s Dark-Hunter series –dropped it after she started the Nick chronicles. I just couldn’t correlate YA Nick with the NA Nick who we first met in the Dark Hunter series and I was like nope, I’m done. Went back for Styxx, IMHO I just couldn’t buy his side of the story or justify why he behaved with Acheron the way he did so DNF’d it and am now permenantly done with this series.
    I recently got into Faith Hunter‘s Jane Yellowrock and read straight through till book 8. Now on book 9 and few twists still shocked me and I love the direction the book is taking..
    Diana Gabaldon‘s Outlander – nope to the books and tv. Sometimes too much hype turns me off.
    Stacia Kane‘s Downside Ghosts – I think this is the one where the heroine has a drug problem. Even though I have read great reviews about the depiction, I still hesitate to pick it up.
    Kim Harrison‘s The Hollows – I’m intimidated by the sheer count of books in this series. At some point, I will dive in like I did with Faith Hunter’s Jane Yellowrock series and do a non-stop run of the entire series.

    My recommendations are
    D B Reynolds (two series) – Vampires in America and Shifter Planet. Adding my recommendation to everyone’s. ViA is now 10 books +novellas +vignettes and it remains a strong series. I absolutely ADORE the heroines that Ms. Reynolds creates. Every single one is a strong, unapologetic, take-no-prisoner type. Only 1 book in Shifter Planet so far but I’m really hoping she writes more in this series.
    Elizabeth Hunter – Irin Chronicles. Adding my recommendation to everyone’s. I love this series, I discovered book 4 by accident and went back and bought the first 3 books.
    Shannon Mayer’s Rylee Adamson series -even though this series is interwoven with her Elemental series, they can still be read alone, I lost track after book 8 though
    J C Daniels’s Kit Colbana series -If you haven’t read this series, you absolutely should. Such a fast-paced, well written series. Unfortunately, I have no idea when or even if book 6 will come out.
    Shannon K. Butcher’s Sentinel Wars is another favourite of mine even though the series was cancelled by the publisher after 9 books. Interesting world and though formulaic, the stories was still well written and kept me engaged.

    • kaleigha says:

      I started Kenyon with the Nick books, and liked them. Then, like you, I couldn’t reconcile Dark-Hunter adult a-hole Nick with sweet and charming YA Nick. Threw me off big time. I got tired of how every character suffered every sort of abuse you could imagine. I get it that they all came from troubled pasts, but they didn’t all have to be tortured in every way possible from the moment of their births. I liked Acheron throughout all the books, and as much as I would’ve liked to read his story, I didn’t want to read about him being debased and abused for hundreds of pages, so I dropped the series. It just got to be too darn much.

      Good lord, my father watches one particular tv channel all the freakin’ time, and there is a promo for the new season of Outlander every set of commercials for the last few days. Every set. It is making me nuts, and making me NOT want to read the books or watch the show. Or turn the damn tv off.

      I haven’t heard of Shifter Planet – didn’t even know that was a thing. I do have Shannon Mayer on my radar, though – I try and keep track of her for the new releases, and it amazes me as to how many books she has out.

      The sixth Kit Colbana book from J.C. Daniels is due out on October 1st – at least according to Amazon. Goodreads has it down for September 30th, though.

      I wondered what happened to the Sentinel Wars series. I followed it up to about book 7, but I loved the first three or four. It was so different.

  12. Isabel D. Fridge says:

    I loved the Downside Ghost series and am still hoping for it to continue. It was worth to read anyway (in my opinion) and very special in many ways as the protagonist was a real antihero on so many levels.
    I dropped Kenyon after Acherons book (which was kind of a bummer for me cause I didn’t really like the female counterpart), and was never interested in the YA books about Nick.
    I tackled book 1 and 2 of GoT but got stuck in book 3. The switching of viewpoints that I got to like in the show (a read the books beforehand) got annoying really fast in the books. I’m not sure I’m going to pick them up again before the last book isn’t released.
    I’ve read the Outlander books long before they were made into a series and I can recommend them (haven’t watched the show yet)
    The Elemental Assasins I stuck through until book 4 or 5 but from book to book I liked Gin less and stopped reading them.
    Read some of the Lupi series too, and they few I read were solid.

Leave a Reply

