Cover Lover – The Thief

For a while, I found that J.R. Ward‘s Black Dagger Brotherhood hit a bit of a lull for me – it wasn’t like I started hating them or anything, but they just got to be a bit of a chore to read. There were so many plot lines and side stories and set ups for future books that it was just overwhelming. It was almost chaotic trying to keep track of what was going on. Anyways, I find that the last couple of stories have gone back to the style that made me like them in the first place – there is still a lot going on, but it doesn’t make you feel like you need a spreadsheet to keep everything straight. I hope that the next release, The Thief, keeps things moving in the right direction. I guess we will see when it comes out on April 3rd.

the thief.jpgHaving allied themselves with the Band of Bastards, the Brotherhood is committed now more than ever to eradicating the Lessening Society. Recovering from a most recent battle against the last of the lessers, the Brotherhood comes to realize their fight against enemies is far from over. Throe, Xcor’s former second in command, is using an ancient tome to summon a new army engineered by a force more dangerous and evil than the Omega. With an army rising from the shadows, brothers of the Black Dagger Brotherhood will be tested both at home and on the battlefield.

12 thoughts on “Cover Lover – The Thief

  1. lalabristow says:

    Weird How this being a book that’s supposed to be about Assail and “I forgot her name”, and they are not even mentioned…
    Also, I expected the new pattern to be: new-couple book, revisited-couple book…
    Since we got a new couple last time I was expecting V to get a book…
    The cover seems generic to me…
    But I do agree that the most recent books went back to form… i especially loved The Beast 🙂

    • kaleigha says:

      Yeah, I thought the lack of mention of the main couple a bit glaring, too. If it wasn’t called The Thief, you wouldn’t have any clue who it was even about. I would’ve thought that V was next, too, what with his and Jane’s issues that came out in the previous book. Hopefully it will be the next book and not the “side story” in the Black Dagger Legacy series entry. V didn’t get the best HEA in his first book, so hopefully that can be fixed in the next one.

      • Larissa Piva Benoliel Diogenes Carvalho says:

        exactly! i know she has a hard relationship with V, but coe on… after V and Jane the last book… crazy! Jane was so clueless lol
        I actually have doubts as to Ward doing another V book… but time will tell…

  2. Lidy says:

    Wait, the book is about Assail and Sola (I hate, hate, hate, hate, hate, hate her nickname!)… and the blurb focuses on Throe? O_o

    I agree that the last couple of books were a return to the golden times, but I’m no longer interested in the series. I’m going to read The Thief and call it quits. I guess they just aren’t my cup of tea anymore.

    As for the old couples, I think JRW is going to write the new stories in the order they were released; meaning next one’s Bella and Z (whom she loves), then new couple, then Butch and Marissa, new couple, then V and Jane, but odds I’m wrong. LOL

    • kaleigha says:

      Yep, no mention at all. Hopefully there will be a more official blurb as the release date gets closer. At least you have drawn your line in the sand – I have dropped a few series in my time, but I usually let it drag on way too long.

      • Lidy says:

        Oh, it’s going to be released next year. I thought it’d be released in December/January, but that’s the spin-off. LOL

        My line in the sand… I’ve given up several authors this year. My mother says I’m on a spree. At least I’ve started reading new authors (Ilona Andrews, anyone?).

        • kaleigha says:

          Yeah, the spin-off. The “old school” PNR paperbacks that lasted one book then became hardcover (just to mess with me, I swear). I bought the second one in both print and hardcover, but not having the first one in print is making me nuts.

          Good for you for dropping some. I went through that with all of my book purges over the years. It is hard to justify branching out with new authors when you are still trying to slog through so many old ones.

          • Lidy says:

            Most of my fiction reading is made on Kindle (because most authors I enjoy aren’t published here, and the butchering the books suffer at the hands of the national publishing houses make me mad), unless it’s a book my mother wants to read (she doesn’t speak English). But the asymmetric covers/types in my non-fiction irks me, so I feel your pain.

            Oh and since I didn’t comment on the cover: underwhelming. That guy isn’t Assail; the model looks like Ryan Gosling, whom I can’t really picture as a scary drug-dealer of a vampire.

            The breakup hurt, even more because I’m now wondering if should keep some books or say my farewells to all of them. *sobs*

  3. bfmason50 says:

    I am so sick of V, he is such a brooding idiot. I actually like Jane I don’t know why she gets so much hate. As far as I am concerned V and that jerk with Blaylock (can’t think of name) are dead to me. I would rather skip the pages or the time on audiotape when they are mentioned.

    • kaleigha says:

      I can go either way on V…the last book, I sided with him way more than Jane. Neither were ever my favorite characters, but their distance in the last book didn’t do either of them any favors. And…crap…what the hell was his name? Qhuinn! I couldn’t remember either, I actually had to look it up. Qhuinn was an asshole for 75% of the last book, and he completely turned me off. Going to be hard to come back from that one, if he ever can. He was just short of kicking a puppy vile.

    • kaleigha says:

      I was surprised that there wasn’t more of Assail’s situation mentioned in the last book. He wasn’t in a good place, sure, but it wasn’t spotlighted enough to make me think his story would be next. I figured the build-up was leaning way more towards V.

Leave a Reply

