Check One Off Of The Bucket List

check24 novellas. 13 books. Spread over 2 series…read from start to finish without stopping. And I can officially check Jane Yellowrock off of my TBR Bucket List. Yes!

As I have whined about in other posts, I had tried to tackle Faith Hunter‘s Jane Yellowrock series a couple of years back with not much success. It wasn’t that I didn’t like it, it was just that for whatever reason I couldn’t get myself interested. It checked off all of the boxes of what I enjoy in a series – except a set love interest. I think it was the whole “maybe it will be him? Or him? Maybe him?” that went on in my head between Rick, Leo and Bruiser, but it really took me out of the series. But all of that changed when I dove into the Nell Ingram spin-off…and completely loved it. That gave me a renewed interest in Jane’s side of things (along with all of you telling me that Jane does, indeed, get true love interest). And wow, did things change.

I can’t tell you why, but my second try at Jane just…worked. Maybe worked too well, since I honestly just couldn’t stop. I marathoned one after the other (after the other), read every novella and short story, and still wanted more. Even anticipated new releases were put firmly into my TBR collection to enjoy at a later date. Post-Jane later date. I do still think I am more of a Nell-series fan, but it isn’t by much. And I got so much more out of Nell’s books after I got up-to-date on the world as a whole that it was worth it for that alone.

For me, too, it is rare to find a series that seems to get better with every book. I seemed to like each Jane book more than the one before it, with Cold Reign (Jane Yellowrock #11) being my favorite one yet. So much happened…and so much was set up to happen in Dark Queen and beyond. Now my countdown begins for Nell #3, Flame in Dark.

Your turn. What is your longest uninterrupted complete series marathon? How often do you get so sucked into a world you just don’t come up for air until the whole darn thing is finished? Have you ever given up on a series only to find love on the second try?

5 thoughts on “Check One Off Of The Bucket List

  1. Jessica says:

    For me Nalini Singh’ s Psy changeling series was a little hard for me the first time I read it. Part was the very depth word building and the fact that I didn’t read the first book in the series and was a little confused but after I have it a second try I fell in love.

  2. cheryl says:

    I think I found the J.D. Robb In Death series about 12 bks in and read out of sequence and then went back and got book one and didn’t finish with it until I got up to the latest release.
    Now I can’t even imagine starting at the beginning since it is up to what book 45?
    Still that is one series that you can read any one book and never be lost… you just don’t have the backstory or love story of Rourke and Eve at the start.
    I think another one that wasn’t PNR was Patricia Cornwell and I was hooked and read her backlist of dozens of books and then bam I was totally burnt out and the fact there was no growth in the main character and that repetition of doing the same stupid stuff. Arghh.
    Kim Harrison and The Hollows was one I started on book 3 went back to book one and continued until there was only 3 or 4 books left in the series and I gave up. I found I was more irritated than entertained.
    I would have to recommend Eileen Wilks World of Lupi series but you can’t skip around on this series but I swear each book was better than the last. She doesn’t do more than one book a year but I assume it is research or something because her books get better with each one released.
    I have to say that Jeanine Frost and her Night Huntress series is one I just couldn’t get into. Everyone was saying how great it was and I just couldn’t get past the halfway mark of the first book. Would you believe I tried it in Audible format and fell in love with it and then I went on to reading the rest of the series. My one grump is I didn’t like the last book… but some do.

  3. bfmason50 says:

    Wow you must be tired if you did not stop to sleep or pee!!! Seriously I think the longest one would be all the Kate Daniel books including the Novellas, side characters PoV’s, and the Gordon Curran PoV snippets. Then it would be the Mercy Thompson series with the novellas, and Alpha and Omega.

  4. saidahgilbert says:

    For the longest series I’ve ever binge-read, it’s a toss-up between the Valdemar series and the Discworld series. I read The Colour of Magic twice. The first time, I didn’t find it funny when I was expecting it to be because I’d heard that the Discworld was a humorous series. The second time, I went on to read the later books and discovered the humour that I was anticipating.

    Oh, I just remembered that I also binge-read the Honor Harrington series minus all the side short stories and prequel trilogies by other authors. I started that because I got tired of binge-reading The Dragonriders of Pern.

    The last series I binge-read though, was Seanan McGuire’s October Daye series in September. Binge-reading is my preferred method of reading. I like the feeling of being immersed in a different world.

  5. gallifreyan1218 says:

    I’m so glad you loved the series! I absolutely adore them!!! And as much as I love Jane (and have for a while now), I think her Nell series just happens to be her masterpiece. Flame in the Dark was no exception either (I have an ARC from Netgalley and it was FANTASTIC).

Leave a Reply

